We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Witham
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

from the drive thru the woods leading up to the castle we were spellbound by the grounds and impressive buildings - even had its own chapel... All staff were extremely friendly and professional - and then there was our room.... amazing - we were given a suite which was sumptious and very clean. the feather duvets and extra touches made us feel pampered. Food was stunning and worth the extra price. Breakfast was spot on - and cooked beautifully--- we look forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_and_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    183
    91
    54
    32
See reviews for
167
374
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We had visited the castle on numerous occasions during the two year planning of our wedding and on the day of our wedding we were not disappointed by the excellent service, attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff. Everything went to plan which was assisted by the most glorious day of summer. Drinking Pym’s in the courtyard surrounded by so much history and atmosphere made our day complete. Amanda, Guy, Steve and all the staff delivered what they had promised the most memorable day of our life. Shane Hamill the MC was brilliant and really involved all our guests in our celebration. I wish we could do it all again

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doncaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at the castle for 2 nights, one before our wedding and also the night of the wedding...the venue and the staff made our wedding the most unbelievable day ever...completely beyond our expectations!!

Amanda was our wedding coordinator, and when she says she knows what she she is doing she most definitely does!! From the beginning she made us feel at ease and content that every part of the day would be planned to perfection, and it was! She had everything organised from the minute I woke up to the minute we went to bed, even the night before the wedding when we realised we were missing a cravatte she stayed behind after work to help keep me calm and sane! Amanda, thanks for everything!

All of the reception staff and kitchen staff, all hotel staff were fantastic, our rooms were beautiful and the food was also beyond our expectations! We have eaten at many michelin starred restaurants so our standards for food are pretty high, we were blown away with how fantsatic the food was for the wedding breakfast, especially when catering for such large numbers!

All in all I have no negative comments to say, I could not recommend a better venue for any romantic or special occasion!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlyweds18Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I have visited Hazlewood castle several times and it is always a pleasure. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, in particular Amanda whom I have dealt with several times. Nothing is too much trouble - what more can i I say! A big thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I have just seen the posting date 21 August 2009 and I have to say that I couldn't disagree more.
We have booked our wedding at Hazlewood Castle for the end of December and we have had nothing but fantastic service from the first time we have looked around. During our first consultation with Amanda we were made to feel incredibly welcome and listened to our ideas for how we would like our pefect day to run and gave many hints and suggestions for things that we wouldnt have considered. She has been great so much so that we haven't really felt that have needed to give a second thought to the reception as we know it to be under control. We have found her to be a very fun and friendly person.
We looked at perhaps 20 potential wedding venues in the North West, Yorkshire and Staffordshire before settling on Hazlewood as our perfect venue, and it was the welcoming hospitality of the staff that was one of the things that made us attracted to the place, very unlike other places who appeared to think that you were in some how not good enough to get married there unless you had unlimited funds. We have repeatedly gone to look around the Castle with various family members and each time we have receive a warm welcome and have been told we only need to ask if we need anything. Last week with met with Amanda to discuss final arrangements and she was as lovely and bubbly as ever. We recently went for our tasting at the Annise Resturant and tucked into course after course of lovely food. Guy, the hotel manager, came over and made us feel like superstars, pressing the importance of our special day and advising that they were happy to accomodate any suggestions that we may have.
For us, this is the perfect venue, and we have had a fantastic experience with Hazlewood, Amanda and all the other staff.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kmfh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I decided to book an overnight stay for our wedding anniversary.
The castle looks absolutely amazing and is very pictuesque, The majority of the staff were very friendly especially Steve (the cat man) who had lots of time to chat and answer our questions.
The rooms were nice, although a little disappointing compared to other castles we have stayed in previously.
The major let down was our breakfast experience in which we were ignored by the staff for at least 30 mins, even then my husband had to go and ask a member of staff for service.
Overall I thought the castle was beautiful but very expensive and the breakfast experience spoilt what would have been a nice weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetherby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My family & I stayed here for around fortnight whilst building work was underway at home. It's only fair to note the hotel was running a promotion and so some of our comments have to reflect the price we paid (hence 4/5 for value).

We stayed in suites in both the Courtyard and main castle building. Both suites were very spacious, well equipped and clean. Complementary wi-fi in the courtyard rooms is a nice touch when so many hotels fleece you for such a service.

Public rooms in the hotel are again well presented. The hotel is not large (20 or so rooms I think) and this is reflected in the staffing levels. On the busiest mornings, staff were stretched; however we were really impressed by the helpfulnes and friendliness of all the staff in the hotel - requests were always efficiently dealt with - the staff are a real asset to this hotel.

The quality of the breakfast was excellent and room service food good.

The hotel's appearance and location rightly make for a hugely popular wedding venue - where I suspect you'll be paying the steep rack rate if you're stopping over. The hotel is situated on the edge of woodland - which provides a great place for kids to explore. If you do stay here, it's hard to believe you're minutes from the motorway.

Travelling on business mid week, you might secure a deal and enjoy a peaceful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rengley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,534 reviews
10.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing