We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wedding venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had our wedding at Hazlewood Castle at the end of May and were amazed at the whole experience!

The food was brilliant and dinner service was impeccable. One waitress noticed we weren't drinking the wine on offer (neither of us really drink wine!) and offered us Pimms instead, free!

The way the day was managed by Heidi and her team was fantastic and there really is nothing we could criticise! Even when an issue arose, it was dealt with quickly and efficiently with no adverse effect to our day.

Our wedding coordinator Kelly was extremely good in helping us to organise our day and was able to answer all of our questions, no matter how silly they seemed to us!

Overall, a brilliant experience from start to finish, couldn't recommend the venue more!

Room Tip: The original castle rooms are amazing, with a separate lounge area and classic decor to suit the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbrady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Well congratulations to the two of you!!!

The team and I are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your wedding celebrations with us, Kelly, Heidi and her team truly love their jobs and get excited about every single aspect of the wedding day, they are an asset to Hazlewood.

After all that planning you probably need a rest, but don't be strangers as Hazlewood is always welcoming to Brides Old and new!!!!!!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 893 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

My partner and I received a gift for an afternoon cookery masterclass at Hazelwood castle, via Red Letter Days. As it was around 100 miles away from home, we decided to book a nights stay at the castle, so we could indulge in a few drinks, and make the experience more relaxing on a whole. We arrived at 12 and after coffee and biscuits, we were given a guided tour, along with the other 8 guests, from the bedrooms, to the grounds, to the onsite chapel(I think), whilst being informed of its history from our guide. That lasted an hour or so then it was lunch time which was a 2 course meal, tender steak for the main which went down a treat with the red wine we ordered. By the time we had finished lunch we were able to check in before attending the masterclass. The room was fine with a lovely view of the grounds. We were a bit unsure about the masterclass, whether we would be taking part or just watching. It was a bit of both to be honest, and even though the demonstrations were not super advanced In skill techniques, (risotto, fish, cheesecake and those caramelised sugar baskets) they were still enjoyable to watch, taste, and get involved with. Our chef Tim Hamer was a really nice guy. At around 5 the session was complete and we retired to our room, before enjoying a drink in the grounds, as there was not really anywhere else to explore as were in an unpopulated area. As we had eaten earlier in the day we opted for a light bite for dinner, and some more drinks, both were thoroughly enjoyed. After a good night's sleep we decided to go visit York as it was only 30 minutes up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinjones909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed both the mini break and masterclass.

The Masterclasses are now quarterly and are based on seasonal menus and are to suit all levels of cooking skills, for some its just great to watch someone else do the cooking and eating the profits of the class! And I appreciate that if you are an accomplished cook the skills may be lower level than expeccted - we will review this for the next set of classes to see if we need to increase the skill base or inform people what the level is likely to be.

We do hope that you fancy a mini break in the future and get to see the other sites in the local area.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We held a 50th birthday dinner party here for 9 people and the experience was disappointing to say the least, especially so in light of the cost. We wanted to make the evening special and were prepared to pay for it but instead our experience was marred by mediocre food and inexperienced staff.
The menu was very limited, especially for vegetarians, and the food when it did come, looked unappetising and only tasted ok. The marinated chicken breast was over cooked and therefore dry, as was the roasted cod dish. The chips that accompanied the steaks were so unappealing that no one ate them - 6 flabby, over-brown warmish things per plate, which considering some of our party were teenagers, is saying something. The only good thing about that meal were the onion rings which isn't much of a recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SallySRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your celebrationary meal in the Vavasour. The team are terribly upset that they did not pick up your disappointment whilst you were with us.

They are here to delight the guests, not disappoint. They remember your party very clearly being the first ones in the restaurant, the cocktails you were drinking and that they moved you to the bar for your desserts as the party who had been to the races were rather loud on the table close to yours.

My Restaurant Manager is keen to get in touch so he can gleen further information, as we do take all customer feedback seriously so that we can improve on our service and standards.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity to visit us again and we will ensure you of our Yorkshire welcome.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for one night in June.
The hotel is beautiful, staff very helpful, room was lovely and the restaurant food was gorgeous!!
The staff were an asset and recommendations in the restaurant were spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you for such delightful comments, we do hope we will see you again!!!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in Jasmine, in the castle itself. The room is a little dated and not as opulent as you would think a castle would be. TV did not work, many attempts to solve the problem failed. Free drinks were offered but we were billed for them so had to request them to be removed from the bill.But we stayed in a ccastle, in a 4 poster bed and super thick walls steeped in history, it was fab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piffpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that a few elements spoilt it.

We are continually upgrading the bedrooms and furnishings throughout the building and I thank you for your comments, the Televisions are a bane of my life as they still have both the pre-digital setting, that guests can accidentally - this will be changing with the new televisions that are already on order.

We do hope that we get the opportunity to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We chose Hazelwood Castle as our wedding venue having never visited anywhere else in our search and we could not be happier! It really was the dream location and was more than we could have ever asked for. From the second we saved our date and started planning with Kelly we learnt how flexible they were and how fantastic they were at tailoring their package to suit our needs making our wedding individual and personalised. Kelly was our our wedding planner and was so friendly and helpful throughout and went above and beyond at all stages in planning our wedding.

From the second I arrived at the castle the night before our wedding until we left the day after the team at the Castle were on hand, Nothing was a problem. The team on our day were fantastic at arranging all the little details and attending to our guests. We never saw an empty glass and the tailor made food menu we served was absolutely divine! Our guests commented no end on the impeccable service of each and every staff member! Our guests filled every hotel member and all commented on the beautiful rooms.

Amy co-ordinated our wedding day, she was amazing, so approachable and friendly and did the very difficult job of keeping our guests quiet during the speeches as toastmaster! Steve also such an amazing asset to the castle and did a great job at serving me and my bridal party on the morning of the wedding and keeping me ever so calm before the ceremony!

Aside from the fantastic staff the surroundings of the castle are unforgettably stunning and beautifully kept. We has such fun walking around with our photographers and finding lots of little spots we had never found on our previous visits...Lots of keepsakes for our wedding album!

We could not be happier we chose to have our wedding here....it was was the best day ever!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hazlewood!

What can we say but thank you for such kind comments, the team are chuffed to bits that they made your Wedding Day go without a hitch!

We do hope that you get the chance to visit Hazlewood again as Husband and Wife!

Congratualtions

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our honeymoon after having our wedding at the castle. It was a perfect day and the staff could not be more helpful. Even with the last minute dramas that come with weddings, the flexibility and approachability made them all non-issues.

Both melissa and hedi were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble to sort out.

We had nothing but compliments and good news from our guests who stayed the night too, it was brilliant to see everyone at breakfast the next day too!

Overall the value for money was excellent, the food was fantastic and much better than the normal chicken you get at weddings.

We just cannot recommend this venue enough to anyone considering it as a wedding venue and we are very much looking forward to come back for our anniversary! !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Firstly congratulations to you both!

Thank you for your comments, they are truly are appreciated, the team thoroughly enjoy the weddings and Heidi and Melissa are no exception. They are so delighted that you enjoyed the service and attention to detail that they provide and hope that you will continue visiting as you have all become friends!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
1,070 reviews
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,740 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: $82 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing