We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay at Hazlewood Castle Once Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific Stay at Hazlewood Castle Once Again”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Hazlewood Castle as a special break for my birthday and our wedding anniversary. You cannot help being impressed by the building itself. We chose to stay in the main castle on both stays in Lavender and Honeysuckle. Both are very impressive master suites, that have been tastefully decorated and furnished. The hotel staff as usually were welcoming and could not be more helpful. Then there is the restuarant and its staff who were fantastic. Having had breakfast and our evening meal there for 3 nights it was gorgeous. Plenty of selection and good portions Sue our waitress was particularly helpful. But we must not forget the chef who produced all these excellent meals. Would recommend for special occasions and the impulsive romantic break. Will be back next year all being well. Thank you.

Room Tip: Have a room in the Castle these are lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks once again for your lovely comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit again.

I have passed these on to the team members who enjoyed having you both at the hotel.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    180
    91
    54
    31
See reviews for
166
372
12
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

this was booked as special birthday treat for me by my daughter and 2 friends. I had looked at reviews and on arrival we were immediately impressed by the setting and the building. from the moment we went into the building, the staff were brilliant, very polite and helpful.
We had cream tea in the library, which was delicious and fresh.
Treatments time had been booked and although not a traditional spa (no pool, sauna, steam room etc), the relaxation room was very comfortable and calming when waiting for our treatments.
Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, with (again) delicious 3 course meal, followed by drinks in the cosy bar.
Primrose room was very nice and luxurious, in keeping for a castle setting.
Breakfast again was very good, with a wide selection of cereals, toast and full English. the only negative was the coffee served was warm rather than hot, which was the case throughout our stay.
For a special occasion, I would highly recommend Hazelwood Castle. Not a "Spa" hotel as such, but the setting and ambience cannot be beaten.
thank you to all the staff for making our stay very welcome

Room Tip: individual rooms were very nice, we overlooked the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bird47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short break with us and took the opportunity of trying all the elements - including our spa facility.

We are developing the site all the time and maybe in the future we will get the plans passed so that we can build a pool - in the meantime the ponds look pretty!!

Hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely quiet bedrooms really good size , Food fab, setting amazing, staff wonderful (especially Jake and Rachel) would definitely recommend! Had some spa treatments, these were also good, thankyou to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidayer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments that have been passed on to the team especially Rachel and Jake.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on the 30th march for a Mother's Day treat with my wife and her family when we arrived we were shown to a lovely cosy bar and given a complementary glass of fizz which was an unexpected treat and was a great touch we were given a menu to have a peruse over the choices all sounded very tempting and all unique in their own way I opted for the prawn starter and belly pork main course the prawns were lovely and fragrant with a slight pan Asian twist others on the table had the asparagus soup and the goats cheese tart and all had great feedback from the people eating them. there was a slight issue with my wife's cousins soup was forgotten about but the issue was quickly resolved. the main courses all got the same great feedback as the starters the belly pork though not being as crisp as it could of been on top was still fantastic tender full of flavour and a great portion size too the Yorkshire puddings were fantastic in size and flavour. the desserts were if you excuse the pun the icing on the cake the sticky toffee pudding was light fluffy and had a rich toffee sauce with it I had the Bakewell tart with a cherry ripple ice cream and it was out of this world again though unfortunately my cousins cheesecake was forgotten about but again the issue was resolved quickly. All in all a fantastic day out with only minor issues that didn't hinder or spoil our day in any way my compliments to the chef and to the front of house team we look forward to returning soon.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review regarding our Vavasour Restaurant, the team are truly delighted with your comments and observations and are really striving to ensure 100% attention to detail. With a new manager in the restaurant, I do feel that we are building a strong team in there, but we do know we have a little way to go before perfection!

We do hope that we get to see you again as the Spring Menu was launched last Friday and the comments are extremely positive.

My new favourite is the baked Vanilla cheesecake with pistachio meringue, lemon curd and dried raspberries - not good for the diet though!!!

See you soon

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very disappointed. The staff were lovely but I think the management need to decide if they wNt to be a hotel or a wedding venue. This was a 60th birthday and wedding anniversary treat. As nice as the staff were, my husband and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted that you liked the staff, I have tried to contact you direct to discuss your disappointment with other aspects of your stay to no avail.

I can appreciate that as delightful as we are as a wedding venue this does not suit everyone, although we do spend the time to treat everyone as an individual and have the space to have more than the wedding going on, I understand that if you were looking for a tranquil escape and the run of the building with no groups of people this is not always the case.

We would be more than happy for you to return as our guests to experience the quieter times of Hazlewood and hope that you do get in contact.

With Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a pleasant venue for afternoon tea with friends, then look no further. Lovely sandwiches, fresh scones and a selection of cakes washed down with copious teas and coffees.... the glass of champagne was very nice (7.95 per glass). Service was excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendyhouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we are deligthed that you enjoyed your afternoon catching up with friends and I do hope that you return soon.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a day spa to relax and unwind and looked forward to a chill out day. On arrival we were met by two lovely young ladies, very helpful and polite and filled in record cards. We were then shown to the changing room to get robes and towels. Next we were shown to the relaxation room, a lovely little room with 3 chais longe and 2 chairs in it, unfortunately that is where the spa bit ends, the rest you have to imagine as their is no pool, no steam or sauna rooms. For an hour we sat on the chairs as the chais longs were occupied and we then realised we were paying to sit in this room and drink herbal tea at rather an inflated price compared to if we'd just met and had a pot if tea in the hotel. At 1:30, our therapist took us through to the library for our ore-ordered afternoon tea, once in the library we sat amongst dirty tea cups for 30 minutes before anyone came to us. When someone did come we asked what had happened to our afternoon tea and the male (duty manager?) made a joke about us obviously having drunk lots of tea as their still sat 6 cups in front of us from previous guests. We finally received our afternoon tea at 2:35 (1 hour and 5 minutes late after three complaints to staff). As we had treatments booked at 3pm in then meant rushing the food (which was lovely I must stress) and going for massages on a full stomach. My massage was ok but a bit lacking in how it was described in the treatment list, mine should have been an African sensation but it felt more like a back tickle, very disappointing. We then left at 5pm after paying a whopping £70 each for a rather lack lustre spa. Hazlewood castle itself is superb, very well maintained and a gorgeous venue and one I'd like to return to at some point for a weekend away, however the spa should certainly not be named a spa, as it is simply just treatments and no facilities whatsoever. Overall experience if the spa day was very disappointing and poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
10.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing