We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Gorgeous setting and very convenient for York and Leeds. Very historic and interesting! The church is fascinating and well worth looking round during your stay.
Staff are polite and helpful and the quality of the breakfast is excellent! L9vely gardens and great carpark.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit. We hope that you get the chance to see the blossoms in the Spring as they really are worth seeing.

Best wishes

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    170
    87
    53
    30
See reviews for
160
360
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for one nite at a cost of over two hundred pounds the room was tired looking chairs stained duvet had blood stains on it room windows full of wasps ants etc toilet didn't flush as one should do ordered some drinks while waiting for a taxi 30 mins later still no drinks at breakfast bowls etc not cleaned away from the table while the full English was served overall not very happy with my stay would not stay here again very poor

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay and the whole team and I are disappointed that we failed to live up to our excellent service and standards. We have taken the time to look into your feedback and rectified the areas where we are going wrong and hope that you will give us a chance to show you our trust Yorkshire welcome.

I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to deal with these issues whilst you were on site and I would be delighted to speak you further on this matter.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for her birthday and loved it! I booked it as a surprise and planned to propose here which went really well.. I had contacted the hotel previous and they gave me a really nice room as I requested. I also arrangedvthem to put flowers in the room for our arrival which were beautiful. We had spa treatments which were nice and a good offer (included afternoon tea) although spa facilities are a little basic. The restaurant is fantastic! Really nice food, the staff great and a really nice atmosphere. We sent the day walking around the grounds and relaxing, it's a very nice calm place. All the staff were really helpful and attentive and could not do enough for us. We were congratulated by everyone in the hotel after the proposal and given a glass of champagne.. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Congratulations to you both!

We are delighted that we were able to assist you in making your proposal stay a success. The staff are delighted with you comments and hope to see you again? maybe a wedding venue!.

Check out our new spa opening next month!

Best wishes for your future happiness

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night as we were very interested in having our wedding at Hazlewood and had arranged a meeting with the wedding coordinator, Kelly.

We had booked the best suite they had and immediately moved rooms. There was mould on the walls, bugs left squashed on the walls, the bed was 2 singles pushed together which were so worn and old it was uncomfortable to even sit on. And to top it all off, there was blood on the bedlinen.

After switching to a newer, basic room one third of the size, we had a walk around the castle to find broken glass and hundreds of cigarette butts on the grounds, not exactly the perfect wedding venue.

The wedding coordinator was worse than useless. We had travelled 100 miles to stay, with the intention of booking our wedding, hiring out the whole castle for our day and putting our deposit down. The answer to every question we asked was "I'm not sure, I will have to ask my GM" which is just not what we wanted to hear. We wanted to book for January in 2 1/2 years time on a specific date to which the response was "Oh we can look around that date" That's just not good enough.

The staff couldn't care less about you or your "special day" and no matter how low your standards are, Hazlewood just isn't good enough for a wedding venue.

Such an incredibly disappointing stay, which were still made to pay for. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferElizabeth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your response which we find after considerable analysis, unreasonable and not reflective of Hazlewood Castle or the coordinator you refer to. We are genuinely committed to exceeding our guest’s expectations and as our overall scores and feedback from Trip Advisor demonstrate.
From your original discussions and extensive show round with our Deputy Manager, during which you could not have been more praiseworthy to the subsequent extreme disgust of your next stay we are at a loss to understand what had happened.

Your requests with regards to the wedding package you specifically wanted were outside our flexible parameters by 50 people and naturally would require further consultation with the General Manager. Your wedding enquiry was for two and a half years ahead so it is reasonable for the coordinator to check with the Manager and confirm back in writing. As recent winners for the second year running of the North of England Wedding Guide Customer service award we do believe as do the wedding couples who voted for us that on the whole deliver an outstanding guest experience.
This was obviously not your view . We do however wish you well in finding the right venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Me and my partner stopped at hazelwood castle last week for one night. We had a package deal which included our room, 3 meals and a facial and massage in the spa. From start to finish it was a wonderful experience. The staff are highly trained and committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible. The atmosphere around the place is very relaxed and you get the sense that all the people involved enjoy their job. The food is of a very high standard. I had steak for my main course and can honestly say it was the best fillet i have ever tasted. My partner wants to get married at hazlewood which i was always sceptical about as it isnt exactly the cheapest place, but after visiting last week it is also clear that you get what you pay for! I would particularly like to thank the blonde haired lady on reception and the concierge who made our stay feel extremely personal and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the Spa. We pride ourselves at offering all guests a very personal service and I am glad that we ticked all the boxes.

We hope that you do look at Hazlewood as a possible wedding venue as being North of England Wedding Awards - Yorkshire for Customer Service for the second year running - we truly do love making our wedding couples day.

Hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this venue due to the stunning pics on the website. We were not disappointed. The courtyard on arrival was the picturesque precursor to the rest of the house. Spacious, warm and yet still oldie worldy. We stayed in Tansy suite and while the decor could.maybe do with a slight spruce up (its a hotel, of course there will be wear and tear) it was quirky and comfortable and with its quaint window, charming.

The restaurant food was gorgeous and as a friend was vegan, the effort they put into her menu was suburb. Saj and Stacey, the head waiter and waitress made us feel welcome and couldnt do.enough and deserve special mentions for their humour and patience - we were three women on a mission for fun after all.

My only quible would be no lift as we were on the top floor and one of us uses a walking stuck, but, quite rightly, there is a preservation order on the building.


We lived it so much we booked again for April next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainemartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. The team and I are glad that you all enjoyed your stay so much that you are returning.

See you again in April.

Best wishes

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hazlewood and it was a lovely relaxing break. The staff are helpful and friendly and the castle and its history is very interesting. The grounds are beautifully kept and the room we had (in the courtyard) was spacious, very clean and had a comfy bed! Breakfast which was served in the Vavasour Restaurant was very good and freshly cooked to order which is such a nice change from a buffet breakfast!

We spent one day at York which is very accessible and there are lots of nice walks in the area too. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after a recent stay at the hotel, we are delighted that you have the opportunity to relax and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
10.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
6.6 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa

Property: Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Address: & Spa, Bw Premier Collection Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing