We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely driving break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped here as a break point between south England and Scotland. Absolutely lovely location, room, staff and food. The grounds are stunning. The staff were all charming and very helpful. Breakfast was a cut above the usual. We'll be back for a proper break next time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tartanDMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short break with us and we do hope we will see you again very soon.

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 908 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend, and everything was quite pleasant, nothing to complain about. however it was very clear that the focus of the hotel is the wedding market, and it permiates everything. grounds landscaped to do good wedding photos and the like. also, be careful in the restaurant. there are some low lampshades made of thick glass. i hit my head every single time I stood up, to laughter from everyobe

Thank Loztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay and are sorry that you kept banging your head on the light shades, we will need to keep an eye out on them for future guests.

We do have the right location, building and grounds for weddings but we are delighted to cater for our individual guests and very much try to keep both in separate areas.

We hope to see you again

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hazlewood the weekend that reviewer Kate N had her wedding there. We used to come fairly frequently when it was still a privately owned hotel and were always extremely pleased. Now I'm sorry to say it has lost the wow factor.
In need of some decorating in places, with young and inexperienced staff that try hard, but don't always succeed. The rooms are really only average for the price and the service, too.
List of niggles: we were not told there was a wedding on (unexpected noise levels; screaming and running kids); we had booked a picnic that was not ready upon arrival making us late for attending our open air performance; ordered a merlot and were given a Rose - if there is a choice of Red or Rose, ask the customer, dont assume; poached eggs at breakfast were solid
Bring back the old days!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as much as before. We have owned the hotel now for 5 years and are currently going through a soft refurbishment programme to develop the rooms and public areas.

Due to the nature of the industry we do have a mixed age group working for us from 17 - 65 but they are all keen and very friendly. I have passed on these constructive comments to my Heads of Department to ensure we do not have a repeat of this simple errors.

We do hope that we have the chance to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here in November for a friends wedding and booked the family suite in the castle. We were with our 2 young children, aged 2 and 4 and although the room costs £250 for the night, we were appalled at how dirty and in kept it was (there were electrical wires showing in one area, and no heating - it was freezing!!!)

I complained to management upon check out and received an email shortly afterwards offering a complimentary stay including meal in the restaurant. WOW - 2nd time round it was amazing. We were given the honeymoon suite and although it was free, it would ordinarily cost £250 a night and without a doubt would be worth the money. It was beautiful. Our meal was amazing, some of the best food we have ever eaten and although it was December when we visited, our evening stroll around the grounds was superb. Very beautiful location.

All in all it is a beautiful place and we will definitely be going back shortly!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank megsnoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for returning to Hazlewood following a disappointing stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food.

I hope that this has restored your faith in the Hotel and we do see you again very soon.

Best Wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was part of a Honeymoon trip, the venue is very beautiful.

The staff make the place what it is, warm and friendly.

We had a court yard suite and stayed for a number of nights.
I have given this Hotel a rating of 4 as the suite we had was tired looking and in need of
a revamp.
Next visit I would ask for a main Hotel room.
Other than this we had a lovely time and were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: Look at the website and select the room you like the look of from there, as I would next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matilda_Horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your short break here at Hazlewood. I noted your comment about the tired looking room and we are on the case with our interior designer looking at all the rooms in the courtyard to revamp our more traditional rooms.

Please do come and see us again!

Best wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Me and my partner got married a week ago today at Hazlewood Castle Hotel and we couldn't have wished for a better day, not only is the venue and grounds exceptional but without the staff our wedding wouldn't have been what it was. The waiters and waitresses were very professional and polite and could not do enough for you.

Our wedding planner Kelly was always there via email or phone if we need anything during our planning. Also Heidi our toast master was there all day to guide us through our day and always on hand if we needed anything. All the guest commented on how lovely the venue and most importantly the food was. We don't know how anyone could not pick this venue for their wedding or other event.

This is a lovely traditional castle hotel and is everything you want it to be, absolutely sensational!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hello there Newly Weds

We hope that you had a fabulous honeymoon and getting excited to see all the pictures of the day again. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your Wedding Day, your comments have been passed on the team especially Heidi and Kelly and they are really made up that they carried out your wishes.

We hope that we will see you again and if not before on your anniversary.

Congratulations again

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been to the castle on a number of occasions, and convinced my son to have his wedding there.. I'm so glad he and his wife took my advice and we had the most amazing wedding there last Sunday.
Their wedding planner Kelly has been in constant contact with them and nothing was too much trouble for her, assisting with any question or query that they had and ensuring that their planning and preparation was perfect leading up to the big day.
The day itself was flawless. The rooms for the wedding ceremony and the wedding breakfast looked fantastic when they had been set up. The day went without a hitch, and special praise here to Heidi, the function manager/toastmaster, who was brilliant and so professional in running the day, confidently marshalling her young staff and always smiling and looked like she was enjoying the day as much as we all were.
The blessing in the chapel was serious and fun in equal measures, with Father Ian having us laughing throughout the procedures, just adding to making the day extra special.
The food and service during the day and evening, was all first class, thanks to the chef 'PJ' and his team, as was the quality of the champagne and wine !
We stayed over and the rooms are so spacious with beautiful views over the grounds and surrounding countryside.
The special touches continued the following morning, when the restaurant staff, lead by Susan, arranged tables on the patio area so all the family could eat together, complete with flower arrangement ..
No wonder the hotel has been voted as winner of 'Wedding Venue of the Year' . with the professionalism of all the staff, the stunning grounds which complement the castle, with manicured lawns and gardens, magnificent hanging baskets, making it perfect for so many photo opportunities and memories of a day that surpassed all our expectations.
Thank you to everyone who was involved in making the day absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsChris_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your heartfelt comments regarding your daughter's wedding day. We are delighted that you enjoyed the day from start to finish and I can assure you that Heidi and her team did too. They like nothing more than making sure that the whole wedding party enjoy the day!

Your comments have been passed on to the whole team and we hope that we will see you again very soon.

Best Wishes

Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,767 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
1,077 reviews
7.6 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: $91 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing