We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I revisited after an initial disappointing visit & after being contacted by the hotel GM.
I decided to have our end of year company dinner & have to say both the service & the quality of food was excellent - a good decision to re-visit!!

The staff were accommodating & the GM has worked hard to ensure a professional team are in place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We are delighted that we managed to show you our true hospitality this time round. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed your company dinner and hope that we get to see you again soon.

Best Wishes Melissa Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 907 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had to write a review for this spectacular wedding venue, we had our wedding here on the 20th June 2013 and from the day we first met the wedding planner we were extremely impressed, she was friendly and just completely knew her stuff about everything, so thank you Melissa. The day ran absolutely smoothly and all the bar staff were great and the wedding co-ordinator on the day was so helpful and just made sure things ran smoothly and professionally so thank you very much Heidi! All of our guests said how impressed they were and some even said its the best wedding they've ever been to! So again thank you! If anyone is looking for the perfect wedding venue or even just a place to get away this is your place just fantastic! Thank you again so much! Love Steph and Matt!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephdawson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Steph and Matt

Thank you so much for your comments, the team are delighted that you enjoyed your fabulous day and are very proud of the service that they provide.

Heidi is totally made up for your comments and has been walking on a cloud eversince as she truly loves what she does.

I hope you enjoyed the honeymoon and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Melissa Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wow just got home from 2 amazing nights away one of which was spent at this beautiful place. On arrival we found it very easy to find, Parking was easy too.
Once we got to the reception the Lady who greeted us was so lovely and polite, I regret now not getting her name, she was so helpful and delightful to talk too. We got the keys to the love Jasmine Room, which took mine and my boyfriends breath away, we love Shabby Chic and this was everything we would want out of a room. After going crazy with pictures we took a walk around the grounds, we was very lucky the weather was rather beautiful and the grounds were just as beautiful. On the night we decided to eat at the restaurant, great service, amazing food and drink (all though a little pricey) all of it was worth it. He had more than a comfy night stay and come morning we didn't want to leave. Come morning we had the lovely breakfast and hung around to have a Spa treatment, both girls at the Spa were so lovely. Didn't want to leave or say bye to anyone. Me and my boyfriend will be coming back here for sure. Thank you for an amazing time we both wanted to leave this review because staff and the castle deserve this rating. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmi1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, the team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the spa and the staff and we would love to see you again very soon.

The team are proud of the job that they do and I am glad that this shines through.

Thank you again

Melissa Watson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The service from the hotel staff was shambolic at best, which was such a shame as the hotel/grounds and surroundings are spectacular....

Having stayed a numerous hotels I was shocked by the unprofessional manner of the staff, the servers were very young and not trained to a standard you would expect, not even knowing the basics i.e. which side to serve from. The wedding co-ordinator was slapping the young male servers bottoms in the reception room, which was just gobsmacking. The bar had only 1 server causing long waiting times to get drinks.

The room we stayed in was small and clean but did not have the little touches you would expect for the price. There is not air conditioning and the room was very warm and uncomfortable and being on the ground floor we could not have the window open.

We found breakfast very rushed we ordered a full English which arrived very quickly before we had even started our cereal.

On checking out of the hotel the receptionist was busy on the phone arranging her social life......which she made no attempt to put on hold while we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor, myself and the team are bitterly disappointed that there were elements that spolit your stay and for that we wish to sincerely apologise.

I have tried to contact you directly to speak to you about your comments so that I can discuss through your points with you personally, but this has been unsuccessful.

In the meantime I have spoken to the weddng co-ordinator who was hosting the wedding on that day about your comments and while she is young she conducts herself in a very professional manner and works with the staff to ensure that they are fully trained. I can't understand why on this occasion this was not portrayed.

All of the team have been shocked by the comments as they pride themselves for giving excellent customer service and being professional, We do have a young looking team but they all travel long distances to work here as they proud of the hotel and the job they do and the feedback made by the bridal parties are nothing but complimentary about the service that they provide.

At reception we have a roaming deck phone to contact the other departments/duty manager so I can only imagine that the receptionist was on that dealing with another guest's request and finished the conversation with 'see you later' as we have a complete ban on personal calls and use of mobiles in the building.


Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope I have the opportunity of speaking to you to personally so I can restore your faith in the team.

Melissa Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We held our wedding reception here last year and could not have picked a better place to celebrate our very special day. From the initial contact with the very helpful and friendly Melissa Hamer ( Our wedding co-ordinator/manager) she took all of our ideas on board and was so supportive and forthcoming with suggestions and help from the hotel team. From initial enquiry in February 2011 right through to our wedding day there was no stress, issue or concern at all. Upon the big day it was a seamless and fluid day in terms of arrangements and service and this mixed with the fantastic castle and amazing grounds with beautiful views made for an epic day all round. All of our guests ( most of whom stayed at the castle overnight) couldnt commend the venue and the Hazlewood team enough, even our friends from America were blown away by the venue. Thank you so much for everything you did to make our day stress free and enjoyable. We are really looking forward to returning on our first wedding anniversary this year for dinner and hope to have half as much enjoyment as last year!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaysewell79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day last August and can't believe how fast time has flown by and you will soon be back for your anniversary dinner!

Keep in touch

Melissa and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have just returned from our honeymoon and had to write a review on our wedding at Hazlewood Castle. We got married on 31st May this year and what a fantastic day it was. Hazlewood looked after us fantastically on the day, allowed us to have exactly what we wanted and everything ran smoothly on the day. A special thanks goes to Georgie for keeping me and the wife calm on the day and she kept checking everything was ok. Nothing was to much trouble for her and we really appreciated everything she did. The setting is fantastic and has all the right amenities to make a perfect wedding. The food and drink was fantastic. All our guests loved the day. If you are looking to get married definitely pay Hazlewood a visit and have a good look round at what they have to offer.

Some of the bedrooms look slightly dated and are possible a little overpriced if you are looking to stay.

If anyone would like to watch a short video of our wedding which shows various beautiful parts of Hazlewood Castle the link is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOgly2nntg8

The end result for the wife and me was a prefect day that ran smoothly in a beautiful setting. Thanks to everyone at Hazlewood for exceeding our expectations.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite (Honeysuckle) was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your wedding at Hazlewood. We are all delighted that you had a fantastic time and Georgie is made up that she made all your wedding dreams come true.

The staff truly enjoy giviing excellent customer service and are the first ones to see the new trip advisor responses. It is a refreshing change to see a young team fully engaged in giving good service with a smile and making the guest's day.

We hope that you will not be strangers to the hotel and we want to see you back before your 1st Anniversary.

Wishing you well in your new married life.

Best wishes

Melissa Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

i dont usually write on trip advisor but we attend a wedding on saturday and all i can say is.............fabulous from the minute we arrrived to our departure on sunday everything was perfect. it is perfect for a wedding venue. The grounds are a delight to walk around after a first class breakfast. The rooms were very clean. i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batten16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Hazlewood, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding celebrations of your friends. We enjoy hosting the weddings as much as you do attending.

We hope that you have the opportunity of returning in the near future.

Best Wishes

Melissa Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
1,076 reviews
7.6 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: $83 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing