We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One nights stay in fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wonderful greeting on arrival by very friendly staff who could not do enough for you, lovely bedroom with fabulous view and excellent facilities and extremely comfortable bed with a very large bathroom, excellent meals and service in the restaurant, beautiful hotel in lovely grounds, well worth a visit would definitely return and have recommended to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dishyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 862 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Called by here to get some information on their wedding facility. Place looked really well, but the service was a joke. We arrived at reception to find know one around. After looking around for about 10 mins, a young girl appeared and asked us what we wanted. We asked her for details of wedding packages, and she said it wasn't her job, and didn't think the person who dealt with weddings was there! She did not suggest anything else, just said we should come back some other time ? After a discussion, she eventually found some details under the counter. Asked her if we could look at the rooms used for weddings, and she just said no! Didn't give a reason or anything. This sort of service is becoming more and more frequent these days, and do not understand how business expect to thrive, especially in these times. This may have been an off day, but we have since booked our wedding elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Leeds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Disappointed that this reviewer was not able to confirm day and time of visit. The reviews of the team at Hazlewood do not fit in with these comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at Hazlewood recently & must say it still has the exact charm I remembered from my wedding day. The staff were super friendly, our room was beautiful (we stayed in jasmine) & I couldn't fault anything. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Jasmine was a beautiful spacious room, giant bathtub & very quiet. I have previously stayed in q...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelletecis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your return. Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here last week. It was everything I wanted it to be....romantic, special and different. The accommodation was as described and almost as expected from pictures advertised on the site....maybe not so grand looking! The grounds are beautiful, especially this time of the year because of the bluebells. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the evening in the Victoria Room and not having to stay in our bedroom.

The only thing I would say that I felt a little disappointed about was the fact that I had ordered the Leisure Plus package and I sort of expected them to take charge over it but I had to remind them I'd booked it to get any results. Silly I know, but when I ordered robes and chocolates in the room I wanted to go to the room and find them laid out on the bed not be told "we'll there should be robes in your room already" (there was they were hanging up in the bathroom) and "the chocolates just come in a bowl". Still wanted the thrill of seeing them in me room! The waitress in the restaurant had to check about the bubbly that came with the meal....can't help feeling the staff should know what each package comes with. And then the bill came with all the things we'd had during our stay added on when they were supposed to all come under the package price. Disappointing.

Would this stop me recommending the hotel to other people? No! We loved it and I've missed being there and have hated coming back to the same old same old.

Room Tip: Ask about the Leisure Plus package...well worth the money - huge savings in the long run.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Delighted that you had a great anniversary. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I came here for the evening last week to have dinner together having seen it recommend on trip advisor
On arrival the man on the reception desk appeared totally disinterested and unfriendly- did not even greet us. As we walked through the door
We went through to the bar area which can only described as soulless !
The bar served only 1 brand of beer and when we asked for white wine the bar man replied saying ' we only have 1 bottle left and that's all we have! ". Really NOT the response you would expect from such a hotel of this class
There was no ambience here & given the unfriendly and inflexible staff we decided to cancel our dinner reservation out of utter disappointment - such a shame as it looks so beautiful here but customer service is clearly not a priority here!,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sais444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

As you mentioned we have great reviews on Trip Advisor and I am sorry you that you were unable to stay for dinner. We really do care and hope you will re visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

April 13th 14th We were invited to a christening at Hazelwood Castle. The setting is beautiful, the small church is pretty and roomy enough for 60 guests. Everything was arranged by the children's parents and it was a very pleasant weekend. We chose to stay in a courtyard room, it was quite spacious but disappointing. There were stains on the carpet and on the sofa, all could have done with cleaning. There was no refrigerator in the room and lack of moveable mirror in the bathroom, so hard to put on makeup. We paid £150 B&B,

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be similar
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Delighted to see you had an enjoyable weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had an overnight in this Hotel and it was beautiful.
The staff were superb and the food fantastic.
The room was comfortable and tasteful.
I would definately use this again as I am in this area at least once a month.
Highly reccomend use it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Delighted you had an enjoyable visit to the Casle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
987 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: $103 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing