We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Meeting and overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great venue and location. Huge room. WiFi and all normal facilities. Fantastic lunch and evening meal. Friendly and helpful staff. Drank in the Library and Heineken was spot on. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBarlow65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Delighted that we met your expectations and you had a great stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 860 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent one night spa, dinner bed and breakfast at Hazlewood Castle. On arrival receptionist extremely helpful, Lily room was exceptionally clean, warm and comfortable. Time spent in the Imagine Spa having a variety of very relaxing spa treatments in the capable and professional hands of Hannah and Harriet. Dinner and breakfast was served in the luxurious surroundings of the Vavasour Restaurant, food at dinner exceptional and Yorkshire breakfast fantastic, the waiter and waitresses were extremely attentive, friendly and delivered a top class service. A tour of the castle by Susan was very interesting.
I would recommend Hazlewood Castle for a relaxing break in sumptuous surroundings with attentive friendly staff even the family of cats. We look forward to staying in the future.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Great to hear that your spa break hit all the right spots.I will make sure the individual team members you mentioned are aware of your comments as this is a great reward for their hard work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed here on a few occasions now and are never disappointed. From the moment we reach the hotel driveway the feelings of tranquility and relaxation begin. The welcome at the reception desk is always friendly and the rooms are just fantastic. (They've recently opened some new ones too). Dinner is always a delight and the service exemplary. It's a great little bolthole away from the pressures of work and family and a chance to have a bit of luxury and pampering - we cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HINFS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We love welcoming back our " regulars" and thrilled that you had a great time. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As you travel up the long long drive you know it will be a special destination....and you are NOT disappointed. This is the most history packed place i have ever stay in: fantastic.
The staff are a dedicated hard working group..... and they need to be: extra extra special mention must be given to Susan Hunter.....note to owner: whatever that lady gets paid is NOT enough for the time, effort and sheer enthusiasm she puts into Hazelwood Castle.....she was everywhere, doing whatever was needed, for as long as it needed doing ...... very good teller of tales :-)))))
We stayed in Rose room and it was fab. Huge and spacious with beautiful 4 poster bed: we had a GREAT nights sleep..... No ghostly children crying !!!!
Food in restaurant was very very good: puds extra yummy..... and breakfast too
Lovely lovely place: just wish we saw it in Spring......as it snowed lots as we arrived :-(((
U must visit this place - thank you

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NorthernGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. Sue is a great asset to us and delighted that she looked after you so well.We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Two weekends ago we visited a jewel in Yorkshire's Crown, Hazlewood Castle. We were there for a girls weekend to have a taste of Yorkshire's finest - we were not disappointed. From being checked in by Heidi, who looked after a group of 8 girls so well, nothing to much trouble. Our rooms were amazing, Large, comfortable and everything that we needed. We were served a fabulous buffet in the breathtaking Victoria Room, to celebrate one of the girls birthdays and it was truly wonderful. Saj looked after us so well - a true professional . We then took a 15 minute drive into Leeds for an amazing night out. We all had a wonderful nights sleep - so peaceful and comfortable. We all went down too breakfast and were met again by Saj and Heidi. So much choice, a wonderful buffet followed by a freshly cooked Full English breakfast. Again you guessed it nothing to much trouble - tea, coffee and hot toast served without us even having to ask. A wonderful walk around the hotel grounds followed breakfast, well we needed to walk off all the fabulous food - as we were then booked in for Sunday Lunch, but not before we were taken on an amazing tour of the Castle. We were taken back in time with a wonderful guide - Steve - a huge thank you too Steve for telling us an amazing story - the history of a truly special place. You must ask to see the chapel - again breathtaking. We then finished our amazing stay with Sunday Lunch. The lunch was the same as the rest of our stay= fabulous. The choice, the presentation, the quality - we truly had found a special place that we all agreed we couldn't wait to return too. Thank you to the team at Hazlewood we really were treat like Royalty in your castle.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tansy - in the main Castle it was a lovely large room and bathroom - the pillows were f...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

It was our pleasure to look after such a fun group of ladies. Thank you for your comments and I will share them with all the individuals you have mentioned. It will make their day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed at this beautiful castle late last year and it was brilliant great size room clean tidy and all stunning then we ate in the restaurant and what can I say other than perfect I had the fillet followed by cheese board and my fiancé had pork belly both wher delicious !!!!!! We complemented our meal with a bottle of Chablis which was also very very good all in all a great weekend away and we are on our way back this weekend :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked Hazlewood Castle as a last minute birthday getaway for my boyfriend. On Saturday 2nd Feb, we were internet searching and stumbled upon Hazlewood Castle. We searched different sites who were offering rooms here and even called the hotel itself. All sites, including the hotels receptionist were offering standard, superior or suite rooms.
We decided to book through booking.com as it was the chepest option for a suite with bed and breakfast - £110.

We arrived about 6.30pm and upon arrival the castle looked impressive and we were very much looking forward to our stay. However, upon being greeted by a very dismissive and unhelpful receptionist our opinions began to change. She practically demanded our credit card and did not explain what we were being charged for. When asked where dinner would be served, she pointed her finger and said "down there"
We managed to find the room ourselves after no further direction was given as she seemed more intent to get back to her iPhone!

Once in our room (Carmelite) I have to admit we were very diappointed. It was small and very boxish. The bathroom was tiny, although spotlessly clean and modern. The wardrobe again was very small and with only two coathangers! My boyfriend could sense that I was unhappy so he returned to reception, only to be told that we were in fact not in a suite as we had booked and not even a superior but a standard room. Although when we checked in only 15mins before, the receptionist had allowed us to check in and pay for a suite!!
Her explanation was that she was confused and wasn't sure how we had managed to book a suite (on the phone she thought one was still available, so that's strange!) she promised that the extra money would be deducted when we checked out the following morning.

Dinner we had booked at the onsite restaurant and what looked like a promising venue, unfortunately was extremely disappointing also.
Saj was very friendly and took our drink orders when he showed us to the table, but they then took 15mins to return to the table with drinks and menus. 10 more minutes passed until they came to take our order and we had to request bread and butter to be brought to the table as did the other tables too.
When the food arrived, it was promptly dropped onto the table as I believe the plates were too hot for the waitress to carry and she wasn't using a napkin. I enquired if mine was the medium steak to which she replied "yeah" but it wasn't. The order had been mixed up. All of the other tables which were in close proximity to us had their orders mixed up too and a lot of food was returned to the table that night.

We decided not to stay in the restuarant for a drink but to have a drink in the library or bar. To our surprise they were both closed and in complete darkness. Other couples were also walking around, looking a little bit lost too. Perhaps it was self-service as all the alcohol was left out on the bar?! Another couple enquired at reception and they were told to "take a seat and someone would get to them"

By this point, we had, had enough and thankfully brought some drinks with us. With the use of some glasses from the bar, we retired to our room.

The bed was comfy and it was a shame that we could not watch the tv as on most channels; a picture would come through but no sound. Thankfully we did not go to watch the TV or use the free wi-fi which could not be connected to in our room either.

Our room was nice and quiet so we had a good nights sleep, apart from the heating being on very full. The room was so hot and oppresive and there was no temperature dial on the radiator or thermostat on the wall to alter the temperature of the room. Very uncomfortable!

Breakfast too was as disorganised as dinner, no instruction given to attend the buffet when ready. It was presumed that everything was ordered from the menu which was not the case.
Again, all tables had to ask for tea/coffee/butter/toast etc. Some tables received it and some didn't.
What I really didn't understand was when the tables had been reset from the evening before they all had been reset for dinner with dessert silverware/appetiser silverware etc. It was not a smooth breakfast service as they had to remove the extra cutlery, remove the wine glasses and bring cups/saucers and make room on the alraedy very full tables.

Surely they should be aware of which service the restaurant will be used for next and reset accordingly? It made a lot of extra work for the already overstretched, limited staff.
Perhaps this was the reason that there were 8 tables not being used, but yet they tried to sit everyone very close together and within arms reach of the next table?

I know that this is a very negative review but we were just so disappointed as we walked around the hotel and grounds before we left and it is such a beautiful location and so promising but is not being used to its full potential! Some organisation, training and polite staff could transform this place!

Unsuprsingly when we left, we were checked out by the same receptionist and was our bill amended and corrected? You decide........

Room Tip: If you have booked a suite, ensure that is what you are receiving when you check in.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MermaidMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelieCastlehotel, General Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We genuinely care about our guests, so disappointed we were not given the opportunity to resolve some of your issues whilst you were with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
10.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,622 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
983 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hazlewood
Price Range: $101 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing