We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Danseys Pass Coach Inn
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$76
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Almond Court Motel(Alexandra)(Great Value!)
$90
$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naseby Lodge(Naseby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
56
41
9
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
41
9
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdanseys passopen fireother guestsvenisonold stylesecond to nonehidden gemgarlic breadlounge bargreat placeremote locationeating and drinkingowners and staffstayed one nightlike stepping back in timeoff the beaten trackotago rail trail
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 114 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

OMG! absolutely stunning location with an amazing history that truly makes you feel like you could step out the door and go gold panning right now! After a long and hot dusty ride on our motorbikes, a lovely icy cold beer was the first thing on our minds as we pulled up to this beautiful clearing with an old historical schist building, and boy did that beer feel good!! A warm welcome from staff who instantly made us feel right at home. Our room was very comfortable even though it only had one small window. Ensuite did the job. I liked their taste in refurbishing the place: original exposed beams and floors with rugs, large armchairs in front of a HUGE fireplace, plenty of room to sit and chat or just relax. Bar suitably located in the lounge, with a large open dining room nearby. Absolutely gorgeous dinners! (and breakfasts!) We really didn't need to eat much but it was soooo good we just had to hurt our poor pukus! Our hostess/manager/chef, Angela, was just brilliant! she was funny and cheerful, bright and intelligent, lovely manner and just downright KIWI!) So our overnighter turned into a 3-day hui! Didn't want to leave but the drive out to Duntroon on our motorbikes, with the sun warming the autumn air and the quartz gravel road with stunning drop-off roadsides and cliffs!! just wrapped it aaaalllllll up into one fantastic adventure ride!!!! Gotta get back there asap!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at Dansey's Pass Coach Inn a couple of weeks back. It was a bit odd to be allocated a double room that couldn't be locked because the room was the fire escape route! Nevermind the room was comfortable and the recent period refurbishment was in keeping with the historic flavour of the place. The meanness of the bathroom towels though was at odds with the rest of the accommodation.

The real disappointment was the meal. Clearly good quality ingredients had been abused by a cook who had no idea about either seasoning or time management - our scallop entrée arrived after our mains! and tasted as if it had just been biffed into the microwave. And our rare beef fillet was served tough and medium - oh dear. The wait staff were however brilliant and went some way towards rectifying the situation by not charging for the entrée.

With just a little more care and getting the basics right in the kitchen and Dansey's Pass Coach Inn could be fabulous - the drive out to Duntroon over a true alpine pass was stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: if you have a choice try to avoid booking Room 6 - its the fire exit route!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just had an amazing weekend celebrating with family and friends.From the food to the staff and the surroundings one couldn't ask for more.Some hotels could learn from this great crew on what hospitality is all about,nothing was a problem and they went out of their way to satisfy our every need.Thanks guys for such a great weekend you work long hours but always have a smile on your face.A very memorable weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My planned short visit here turned into an extended stay! The people are amazing, from the staff, to the owners, to the gold miners at the bar. It's a great escape: roaring fires, cushy couches, history, Scotch, and great food. At the bar, Kevin was great fun, even though he's a Canadian;)
During my stay, the food was absolutely gorgeous! The chef was a real gem. Amazing, really, but still humble. I think he was American. Great guy. Handsome too. Try the lamb.
This place was a great place to stumble across: you won't find anything like it in the South Island. I'll definitely be going back some day!

Room Tip: Don't expect a TV in your room; the noise box is confined to a dedicated room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyjojojuniorshabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have been enjoying the hospitality at this establishment for over 20 years and it never fails to impress. The remote peaceful country location provides an opportunity for a restful breakaway. The immaculately presented rooms are very comfortable and the menu & wine list delivers to expectation. Thank you to Angela and her team for another great break. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynejmatheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews