We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Danseys Pass Coach Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A very comfortable spot for our party of 10. Very relaxing by the fire for afternoon tea on arrival, drinks before a delightful meal and port afterwards. Pretty setting in amongst the Autumn colours. Bedrooms of the old style but with modern conveniences. Even provided with hotwater bottles on request. Beds very very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin_the_organist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Manager at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Danseys. We are really pleased to hear your time with us was relaxing and enjoyable and look forward seeing you in the future sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent a lovely afternoon stoking the fire.and drinking Mulled wine. Our evening meal was lovely as was the port after our dinner by the fire.Beds really comfy and nice and warm in our rooms.Really liked the authenticity of a old treasure. Not easy to do and keep up with mod-cons that everyone expects. We did suggest a piano might be a good idea and were asurred that is in the plan for the future. Liked that there was no TV.

Room Tip: As others have said arrive in the day light. We went for a pleasant walk in the reserve. Great stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Manager at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post the positive review comments about your stay here at Danseys. Your feedback is helpful to us and we will keep working on aquiring an appropriate piano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were travelling as a group of four and had booked prior to our trip at the Lodge expecting a fabulous night considering all the hype we had read as well as price charged. Staff lovely but on entering our rooms were somewhat disappointed. One of the rooms the toilet had not been cleaned after the previous occupant or had been used by an another patron due to the fact no doors are locked. The other room although bathroom clean and well equiped was badly let down by the terrible carpet, original colour of which I am not sure. So stained and not something you wish to step out of the comfortable bed onto. Supplied towels had threads pulled on them everywhere and had obviously not been renewed for sometime. The lounge with open fire was lovely to while away the afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance but dinner was a real let down. Not sure the chef knows the difference between lamb and two tooth as 3 members of our party had rack of lamb which on presentation was wonderful until they tried to eat, still bleating and the chops were so thick it could not have been lamb. They were taken back to the kitchen and reserved about 15 minutes later, browner on the outside but still raw on the inside. I was very lucky, I chose the pork and it was very tasty. Overall the lodge is relaxing, staff lovely and the open fire something to be enjoyed but a little bit of maintenance and tender loving care would make the world of difference and justify the not so cheap tariff. We put this one down to an adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Manager at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time at Danseys Pass Coach Inn. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We are currently redecorating the accommodation area and look foward to the rooms having a fresher look to them while retaining the historic character of the lodge.

We were surprised to hear the lamb was not to your liking. We review the menu regularly and your feedback is helpful to that process. We hope you will return sometime and enjoy something else from the menu. It is helpful for us to hear your feedback so thank you again for your positive comments and suggestions for improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went along for a wedding and had a blast! The staff were fantastic, the whisky was warming and the place so peaceful we could have stayed longer! Good food, great service a real pleasure. The big open fire, some good company and the time to relax and take in a remote but lovely part of the country is all you need here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveThorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Owner at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks very much for the generous comments. Wasn't it a fantastic wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Night 4 of the Rail Trail. We arrived after dark to a roaring fire and that great laid back southern hospitality. The rooms were small and could do with a spruce up, but they were warm. the bed was comfy and the bathrooms were authentic. The meal was great and it was nice relaxing in the lounge with a beer in front of the open fire. Had a brief look around early the next morning and the place is lovely. We were there as the leaves were falling from the trees

Room Tip: Get there in daylight as it is worth looking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica b, Manager at Danseys Pass Coach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments and suggests about the rooms. They are currently undergoing work to freshen them up. We are very pleased you were able to relax after the days biking and thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently spent a night at this property, We had charming welcoming Hosts, Good Food and a very comfortable bed it is worth the journey to visit this unspoilt piece of New Zealand where time has stood still !

Room Tip: Drive to this property during daylight hours to take in the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Possum61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night away with old friends who we don't get to see very often, living on different sides of the Planet, as we do. It was an ideal 'get away'. We were given a very warm welcome and had good friendly service throughout our stay. The weather was awful so we decided to veg in front of the roaring fire, sampling the beer for the afternoon. The food was really good and at dinner it was absolutely no trouble for us to have our starters and desserts back by the fire. It is a unique place in the middle of some fantastic scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naseby hotels
2.7 mi away
Naseby Lodge
Naseby Lodge
#1 of 1 in Naseby
63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Naseby
20 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ancient Briton Hotel
Ancient Briton Hotel
#2 of 3 in Naseby
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Old Doctor's Residence
Show Prices

Been to Danseys Pass Coach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danseys Pass Coach Inn

Address: Danseys Pass Road, Naseby 9354, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Naseby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Naseby
Price Range: $93 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danseys Pass Coach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danseys Pass is an historic lodge built in 1862 that has been tastefully and sensitively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Danseys Pass Coach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danseys Pass Coach Hotel Naseby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing