We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Doctor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 3 Naseby B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed with Jan & Grant for one night whislt cycling the central otago rail trail. Unfortunately we were not able to sample the wonderful dinner that others have enjoyed due to Jan & Grant having an engagement on the night we stayed, however, breakfast was wonderful and set us up for another day on the trail even though the amount we ate probably slowed us down a bit!!!!
We stayed in the Parkers Suite which was huge, with large sitting area, large bedroom and large bathroom. The only things missing were a bath, which would have been lovely after a day on the bikes, and a radio in the room.
Jan & Grant invited us to join them for a drink and some nibbles before we headed out to a nearby restaurant for dinner and it was a lovely chance to chat with them and another engaging couple who were staying at the same time.
The accommodation was of a great standard in a wonderful character building full of original features. Cleanliness and attention to detail were outstanding and it was a very enjoyable stay albeit brief.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying in the Old Doc's Residence, which is a very special place. The breakfast was really delicious and we enjoyed riding the old railroadtrack on our bicycles. Jan and Grant, thank you so much for your hospitality; you take the concept of B&B to the next level! Gerben and Peet, the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The Old Doctor's Residence is an authentic heritage home that has been renovated to a state of modern luxury inside. The best part of our stay was getting to know the hosts, who made us feel like long lost friends on a cozy visit. They shared wine and lovely conversation with us, and treated us to a multiple course gourmet breakfast extravaganza, including the best homemade bread I've ever tasted. We can't rave about this B&B enough!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelifeKBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed for one night while cycling the Otago Rail Trail. It was perhaps the best B&B we have stayed in in many years of overseas travel. The room was beautifully equiped with finest bedlinen and excellent bathroom facilities. The hosts were most attentive and the breakfast amazing - luckily we had a days cycling to work off the calories! Naseby is an interesting little town and we were given a short tour by Grant our host who picked us up and dropped us off from the Rail Trail.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yakolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had the priviledge of staying with Jan and Grant for 10 days in November 2008. What a fabulous experience! They went out of their way to make sure our time in Naseby was unforgettable. The meals were superb, and our room was so luxurious and comfortable. When we left (very reluctantly!) we felt like we were leaving old friends. If you are going to Naseby you must stay here, if you are not going to Naseby, why not????
Also, we recommend a visit to the curling club in Naseby, this little town has built a first class facility and will welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsacegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights whilst cycling the Otago rail trail the welcome was warm on arrival and it just got better. Jan & Grant go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The two rooms are well appointed with very comfy beds and nice bathrooms. Excellent selection of wines from grants cellar and Jan provides delicious home cooked food. The highlight was having dinner served in the guest lounge the night we were the only guests - very romantic. The breakfasts are great setting you up for the days cycling. If you are looking for a special weekend away with your partner this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimadeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We enjoyed two nights stay here, during our rail trail experience. We should have stayed longer, as we didn't have time to fully explore the area and would like to. Jan & Grant are wonderful hosts - Jan's cooking is divine. Grant's knowledge of the area and local wines great to listen to while we sat in the living room, sipping Pinot and relaxing after our day of riding. We took the option of a 4WD trip through the surrounding area and this was spectacular. The accommodation here is faultless, with every detail attended to with comfort and taste in mind. Gorgeous linen on the beds!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuzandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naseby hotels
0.2 mi away
Naseby Lodge
Naseby Lodge
#1 of 1 in Naseby
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ancient Briton Hotel
Ancient Briton Hotel
#2 of 3 in Naseby
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Danseys Pass Coach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Naseby
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Doctor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Doctor's Residence

Address: 58 Derwent St, Naseby 9396, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Naseby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Naseby
Price Range: $189 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Naseby, the ‘jewel’ of the dramatic Maniototo, The Old Doctor’s Residence will provide you with a peaceful retreat or a base for action-packed adventures. Our historic home started as a gold miner’s cottage in the 1870s before developing into the town’s Doctors home & surgery over the years, then sensitively restored into a luxury bed and breakfast located in the historic precinct of Naseby, Central Otago. The guest wing offers privacy, with two elegant and tastefully decorated suites, furnished with antique furniture & contemporary New Zealand works of art. There is a reading room & guest lounge with a log fire, for your comfort & relaxation. A short stroll takes you to many historic sites & eating places in and around the Naseby village. You receive homemade baking, Tia Ora teas & fresh plunger coffee. A generous hearty breakfast served from our country style kitchen. Take a relaxing break when cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail, explore this unique part of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Doctor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing