We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation for our family of three...”
other travelers have booked this property
Your dream house!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your dream house!
Exterior Landscape garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Your dream house!
Exterior
Landscape garden
Patio
Outdoor seating
Patio
Living area
Living area
Living area
Log burner
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
landing
Kitchen
Dining area
Views from the barn
Paddock
Sunset at Hillside!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Tarvin, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jackiep15...
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation for our family of three adults”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We found this Barn Conversion very clean and tidy. There was everything we needed for our two night stay. It is close to local shops and places to eat.

The outlook from the patio is pure country side which is lovely to look out to on any day regardless of the weather.

It is about 5 miles from Chester City Centre and not too far from Liverpool so ideally situated.

I would book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: kept hitting head on ceiling (I should have learnt after first time)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: fridge was only a cooler.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony_mc27
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I recently stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and found this accommodation perfect for us. There were 2 adults and 1 dog travelling and there was something for everyone in this accommodation.

I would definitely recommend this place for 2 adults or maybe a small family as there is only one bedroom upstairs and one bathroom which is located downstairs. The barn is furnished very well with good size TV and appliances and the location is perfect (15 mins to chester / cheshire oaks etc) and a short walk/drive into Tarvin where you will find a couple of pubs and an excellent chippy.

The barn is on the same site as the owners, but faces away from their lovely property so you still get to feel like you are on your own. The owners though are lovely and Bona couldn't do enough. We had a BBQ on the Saturday and he even came over to tidy up the BBQ once we finished. The grounds are lovely too and there is a big field by the patio so our dog was in his element.

Additional info: I booked the wrong dates in error and it clashed with a prior commitment and after contacting Bona by e-mail he quickly worked out possible options for us and was very understanding and changed our dates no questions asked - thank you Bona

We would love to return as it ticked all our boxes in what we look for when we book this type of accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Patio and BBQ was great
Liked least: Downstairs toilet at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil H
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent barn conversion, great location.”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week over Easter, 2 adults & 3 teenagers. We had great weather, which always helps, but nevertheless, this barn is in a great location. The patio overlooks a sweep of Cheshire countryside & being west facing is great for sitting in the afternoon/evening. The downstairs is open plan, and very spacious. The kitchen is small, but we found it sufficient to prepare evening meals without any problems.

There is a TV & WiFi downstairs. The lounge area has a wood burner & 3 storage heaters, which were more than sufficient to keep the place warm. The sofa folds out into a bed. The bedroom upstairs is a good size & accommodates a double & single bed, but there is limited head room.

The only criticisms are that the water heater under the sink is a small immersion & emptied quite rapidly. The shower room is very nice, however the shower is electric & therefore a bit feeble!

The owners live on site & couldn't have been more helpful, thanks for a great week!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jomacca83
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil break”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay in the barn for my husband's 30th birthday! Only booked our stay last minute but found the booking process fast and all of the email information provided by Bona very helpful. Self check-in a great idea!

On arrival at barn heat had been left on-a thoughtful touch as there were high winds and we were travelling with our 7 month old son! It is well equipped with everything you need for your stay-even a high chair which was very helpful. Everywhere was clean and well kept and it is so spacious, perfect for families, a real home away from home! Folder of information another thoughtful addition.

Barn is in a beautiful location, views out of patio doors are lovely and highlighted nicely by the log burner of an evening! So much outdoor space to enjoy! Perfect spot for a Chester break, 15 mins from centre, zoo and Cheshire Oaks.

Overall we had a lovely stay, would definitely go back in summer to take full advantage of views and outdoor patio area. Thanks Bona!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suejack10...
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely views and quiet location.”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Visited my son in Chester for Mothers day. Barn is very stylish and ideal for 2 people as only 1 bedroom. My son stayed over on sofa bed in lounge which was comfortable.
Outside seating area very pretty.
Good pub serving food in village

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Outside area and view
Liked least: Downstairs loo and one bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngfami...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place would love to stay agin”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect for our family of 4 plenty of room comfy beds. Ample supplies & easy self service check in. The stairs could do with a runner of carpet just to make them safer for young children but that's the only thing I'd add.
Would love to stay again in summer to make use of patio area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing