We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Gunnery Brasserie - CLOSED

The Gunnery Brasserie
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a warm, welcoming, inviting bar and restaurant located in the scenic village of Tarvin in the heart of Cheshire. Our charming premises date back to the early 19th century and many of the original features remain, culminating in a rustic and traditional dining setting. Coupled with our enthusiastic and motivated team we hope to provide an experience not to be forgotten.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place was very welcoming and we had the option to sit where we wanted. the decor was lovely country theme which was very nice. the menu was excellent choice. The barman and barmaid were very lovely and struck up great conversation. a lady who i assume was a senior or management position was very polite and well spoken. the steak was a fab choice... very enjoyable. the soup was great and it was definately home made. the price was acceptable and what my partner and i anticipated. anyone who says its over priced is not adventurous as the prices are fabulous and the food well worth it. I am for one a person who will spend however much for a decent me and that was a decent meal! best steak i have had in my 23 years of living. very nice. overall the place was excellent.. it is a shame we do not live closer. Very nice choice with lovely staff. definately recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NatashaShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hi Natasha,
What else can I say other than thank you so much for such positive feedback! We really do try our hardest to be the best so it's nice to hear when we achieve this! We'll look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had the two course lunch for £10, gorgeous fish pie topped with fresh fluffy mash followed by melt in the mouth sticky toffee pudding in a delicious sauce. This is what eating out should be like, perfect and can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mpkljp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello Mpkljp,
Thank you so much for your feedback! I've passed this onto our Sous Chef, whose recipe the fish pie was and he's delighted! I'm guessing we'll be seeing you again very soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Initial impression - Great location and friendly staff - a little bit warm upstairs.

very warm welcome even though we had a discount voucher, things clearly explained, but then shortly after another waitress approached, started explaining options, realised we were on a voucher and left us to it

Food and service following this were excellent and we couldn't fault anything - couldn't manage dessert though!

Only downside was that we were near the till/order point and so felt quite outnumbered by staff at times

Well worth a visit with a special offer, otherwise a treat meal as we felt prices were a little on the high side

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shenessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello Shenessa,
Thank you very much for your feedback; I'm not too sure why you had the voucher explained to yourselves twice, apologies about that as it seems my team are over-eager there! I'm pleased to hear you couldn't fault the food or service after that point, we work very hard at being the best we can so thank you for such lovely comments. I'm slightly confused at your comment about us being expensive and a 'treat' restaurant. We have main courses starting from £9.50 and our menu is very competitively priced in comparison to others in the area who offer the same quality we do. There are of course some 'splurge' options on our menu for those wishing to be decadent but even those are cheaper than the same dishes on our competitors menus. We do always have our market menu too which at two courses for £10 is definitely not on the high side! On that tempting note; we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The freshly made club sandwich i had today at lunchtime today was great, super tasty. And thank you for being so understanding when a drink was unfortunately spilt, you immediately came to help and offered fresh drinks. great service and with a smile .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claireoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hi Claire,
Thank you very much for such wonderful feedback! Our club sandwich has been an institution on our menu since we were at the Farmers Arms, it's the most popular choice by far for lunch, with good reason as you now know! Regarding the spillage, don't worry accidents happen! It's usually myself pouring coffee down my shirt so we're well practised at quick clean ups! We'll look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We bought a voucher from travel zoo for £25.00 for a two course meal with a glass of fizz
Upon arrival we were greeted and seated we were pleased by the choice of starters and main courses as the menu we could choose from was their resturant menu and not a "special cheap" menu for voucher holders
The food arrived well presented and tested deish
The traditional ales were a bonus
Decaf coffee some of the best I have ever tasted
Highly recommend
Will certainly eat here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathrynj572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hi Kathyrn,
Thank you very much for such lovely feedback. We would never dream of discriminating against our customers who dine on special offers! The whole idea behind our signing up to the Travelzoo deal was to showcase how good we are to a host of new faces, I'm pleased to see we've achieved our goal with yourself! I'm also delighted about your comment on the coffee, one of our mantras is 'the little things matter' so we take as much care in sourcing and preparing our coffee as we do in sourcing and preparing our steaks. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gunnery Brasserie also viewed

 
Tarvin, Chester
Tarvin, Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing