We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelt of pledge”
Review of The Gunnery Brasserie - CLOSED

The Gunnery Brasserie
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a warm, welcoming, inviting bar and restaurant located in the scenic village of Tarvin in the heart of Cheshire. Our charming premises date back to the early 19th century and many of the original features remain, culminating in a rustic and traditional dining setting. Coupled with our enthusiastic and motivated team we hope to provide an experience not to be forgotten.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Popped in to have a bit of lunch, staff were unfriendly and were not very welcoming. Staff were cleaning shelves and place smelt of furniture polish. Food ok but pricier than Chester

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoMChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello Jo,
My sincerest apologies that you didn't enjoy your experience with us, and thank you for taking the time to let us know. Firstly, the staff- If you could contact me directly to let me know what day you came I can ascertain which staff were working and speak with them about this. It sounds very out of character for our team so I shall be investigating fully. Secondly,the polish. Our bar is a beautiful room comprised predominantly of listed woodwork. In order to preserve it in peak condition we have to treat the shelving regularly with non silicone wood polish. This usually doesn't have a strong odour at all which is why the staff will polish shelving whilst we're open, however they seem to have changed the formula of the polish as I've just checked it and it does smell quite potent! I've made sure the team know that this job now needs to be done outside of our opening hours. I apologise for the inconvenience caused, but I do hope you appreciate that we put a lot of work into maintaining the cleanliness of our building, which does sometimes mean doing bits and pieces whilst we're open. In terms of our pricing, for the quality of produce we use we're actually marginally cheaper than our direct competitors. We will be more expensive than some places in Chester and cheaper than others, dependant on what their food offering is and where they source their produce from. We do have a Market Menu available in the week, which at two courses for £10 offers exceptional value for money based on the quality, local produce and expert preparation which goes into it. Once again I apologise that we disappointed you, and can only hope that you return soon so we can change your mind.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Gunnery Bar and Restaurant is exactly what you'd expect of the best in the North West. The menu isn't nouvelle cuisine but that isn't what you's expect - it's all about good wholesome cooking with a reasonably priced wine list and a cheery atmosphere. the locals predominate and no one feels the need to dress up. Just right if you are used to stuffy London restaurants.

Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you Johnny!
One of our aims is to blend the best parts of fine dining with the warmth, hospitality, and rustic cooking you'd find in a country inn- and it looks like we're achieving it! Thank you again and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you want quality without pretentiousness!
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Went here mid June for a family meal, from the moment walking in it was a pleasant atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble. Will say their roast dinner is to die for, deserts just finished us all off! Lovely meal and a lovely evening. Would highly recommend to family friends, looking forward to visiting again soon.

1  Thank KarenJude72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hi Karen,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are well known for our Sunday Roasts, we personally think they're better than the ones your nan makes, so it's nice to hear such positive feedback on them. We'll look forward to seeing you soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we came to the gunnery for a friends leaving meal a few weekends ago now and the place and food is fantastic. we had a very friendly welcome by the staff then taken to are table, all four of us loved the decor and the feel of the place straight away. The service was brilliant and the food was absolutely delicious! the menu had a good range of dishes at a good price. we stopped the head chef on the way out of the restaurant, she was very friendly we couldn't miss the opportunity to tell the chef what a lovely meal we all had, fantastic serive what a yound talented team! we will be returning to the gunnery VERY soon!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi Claire,
Thank you very much! We'd love to take the credit for the decor, but we actually inherited this beautiful building last November. We'll definitely take the credit for the rest though! Our kitchen team take real pride in sourcing local ingredients and quality seasonal produce to turn into the delectable range of dishes on the menu. That's why they're not afraid to come up to the bar afterwards, although I suspect it's a crisp pint of cider that's the main motivation! Thank you once again, we'll look forward to seeing you soon!
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

After an excellent meal, scallops followed by steak, the taxi service was not answering and so the manageress gave us a lift back to the B and B. The service before this was friendly and informative, the team are obviously very proud of their restaurant. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linden111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Gunnery, General Manager at The Gunnery Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hello Linden,
Thank you very much! We're exceedingly proud of what we do here at Gunnery Towers, above and beyond is exactly what we aim for! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed you evening, and the lift wasn't a problem at all- Chester Races are a nightmare for public transportation! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warmest Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gunnery Brasserie also viewed

 
Tarvin, Chester
Tarvin, Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing