We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best to stay in the summer.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarvin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best to stay in the summer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Three night break to visit Chester. On arrival we we were asked for accommodation payment and each evening all food etc had to be paid for.Room was clean and welcoming I fiddled with the controls on the radiator to get a little heat. As it was Sunday we went down stairs and ordered the Sunday lunch it was luke warm swimming in gravy. That was the low point as the food off the menu was cooked to order and was of an acceptable standard. The general temperature in the dining area was not very warm although on the second evening a nice fire was lit. The bedroom never got up to temperature and on one night I had a shower just to get warm. The shower itself was really good, lots of hot water and plenty of good quality towels. Breakfast is not served during the week but over the road a small cafe serves excellent coffee and they will cook any combination of quality breakfast items.

Room Tip: I think they are all quite similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamElswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Peter
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed for just one night whilst visiting Chester. The room was modern & clean, quite small but ok for one night and a bargain at £39.95! Location was great for Chester, about 15 mins away.
Only negative being the rooms are over the pub so some noise until closing time. We also had noisey people in the room next door! We were in room 4 which overlooked the front of the pub.
Overall great value for money & friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

On arrival, heating was was off in bedroom, was told it would be turned on (although May, it was quite bitter), never was turned on but fortunately found a heater in the wardrobe (the door fell off the wardrobe on being opened!!). The main light in the bedroom needed (I guess) a new bulb, was told this would be done - it never was). The shower was mouldy in the the corners (but it was a good shower), also nowhere to put soap etc when showering. Overall the room was however comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities less than generous.
At breakfast, the toast with the full English was only toasted on one side!! The unusual Continental breakfast had cheese and biscuits, a piece of ham and a croissant, no jam until requested and no toast. At the next table their jam when it was requested included a small packet which was already half used, their tea for two was not sufficient to fill two cups! Fruit juices arrive half filled with ice (cheaper than juice?) Overall the staff were very friendly but in need of some training - delivery is all!! Would I recommend this place to a friend, just about!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My son & partner stayed for one night . Confusion which room that had been allocated .The heating went off during a very cold night . Duvet inadequate . No staff available to contact. Although relatively new the ensuite shower already looks 'tired' and heated towel rail was leaking. A number of lamps in the corridors need replacing.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoweyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

We have just arrived back from 1 night stay here. We were given a very small but clean double room. All the usual room facilities with a free view tv. The bath room could do with some kind of shelving to put toilteries though. We had a meal in the hotel which was really nice and reasonable. My partner had a sizzler which in his opinion is the best he has had (he has had a few) The cheese board comes highly recomended and more than enough for 2 people. Tarvin is a small village with a busy fish and chip shop, 3 pubs and a few small local shops. We will definatly return soon but may be only stay for 1 night due to the small room size.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikka69
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

i found this to be a nice hotel, the food was lovely and a bargain for £10.95 per person for 2 courses. Very busy with friendly staff, however, after arriving back after a day out i noticed that the chair had been taken from the room, i found this to be strange and when i went and enquired with the staff I was told that sometimes the chairs were taken from the rooms if the restaurant was particularly busy!!! I had to ask for it to be put back to enable me to use my laptop. The chinese at the top of the road was also lovely and the staff very friendly. One other small complaint, we stayed for 2 nights and only got tea and coffee for the second day - no biscuits :(

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikka69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed on Valentines night -room was relatively small but clean and modern. Had a lovely Valentine three course meal in the restaurant including a fab vegitarian option for my partner. Tables done up with heart shaped balloons, candles and glitter.
Staff were nice and friendly and there was a nice ambience in the bar and lounge areas. Dress code appeard smart but casual. Not much to do in the small village of tarvin but a nice eaterie nextdoor but two to the hotel called The Gunnery. Also Delmere Forest and Chester within a handfull of miles.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarvin
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
6.5 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin

Property: George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
Address: 67 High Street, Tarvin, Chester CH3 8EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Tarvin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tarvin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George & Dragon has 5 well appointed double en-suite bedrooms and one twin en-suite. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, power shower, LCD televisions with freeview and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast is served in the newly refurbished George & Dragon pub. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, teas, coffees and cooked breakfasts. George & Dragon is located in Tarvin, a picturesque Cheshire village only eight minutes drive from the historic Chester City Center. Within a short driving distance is Cheshire Oaks, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Chester Racecourse, Oulton Park, Delamere Forest and Cheshire Gardens. The pub has its own car park and has a bus stop opposite with regular bus services for Chester and Crewe, making travel easy between local attractions. George & Dragon opens at 12.00Pm and serves home cooked meals 7 days a week 12.00Pm - 9.00Pm. The pub holds live music every Friday night and once a month, Take Two, the pubs resident Jazz Band performs live between, and the pub is always busy through out the weekend. You won't be short of things to do during your stay! The George & Dragon is an excellent place to stay for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing