We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hosts and perfect tranquility”
Review of Applegrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applegrove
Ranked #13 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, hosts and perfect tranquility”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall a fantastic stay. Incredibly welcoming hosts and very nice room with a lovely balcony from which you can see the most perfect star-lit sky at night. Breakfast was round a table with the other guests which was actually quite a pleasant change. Very tasty food with a good selection of bits including home made jams. Shower was a little dodgy but certainly no show-stopper. Would definitely recommend Applegrove!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlingDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very comfortable room with an extra heated radiator which was a bonus for drying towels and wet clothing.Breakfast was excellent especially Johns homemade bread.Our hosts Jenny and John were great and made our stay very enjoyable.We would recommend this B and B.Very close to Lulworth cove and a steep but great walk to Durdle door.Other places we found of great interest were Corfe Castle(take the train ride),Hardys cottage and T E Lawrence`s house.We enjoyed Wareham - a good selection of eating places .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SportEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

A warm welcome by Jenny and tea and biscuits in the garden. Although we arrived early she had assured us we should park our car in their garden and walk down to the Cove, bless her. Home made bread and jam amongst other home-mades by Jenny, plus the wonderful breakfasts, and Jenny and John were so easy going they felt like old friends!

Our room was ample and everything was clean.

Breakfast was served around one large table. I found that good, some might not. Showers not brilliant, but once you were told what to do (ie let it run for several minutes before stepping in the shower) you were ok.

Room Tip: We asked for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightOwl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked at the last minute and we were not disapointed. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits in the garden and made to feel welcome all weekend. The owners really made the effort to ensure you had a good stay and we certainly did. Would use again. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenjamestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a lovely,spotlessly clean B and B. A five minute walk from Lulworth Cove which we found great as it can get very busy there. Great walks from the B and B and a nice little pub around the corner. The owners are lovely people. Everyone has breakfast at the same time around one big table which may not be everyones cup of tea but we didn't really mind. Great little place as a base for Lulworth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobanmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Went for a sunny long weekend to lulworth cove/durdle door and stayed at the Applegrove guest house, it was really nice and jenny and john were lovely - even gave me some radex to help my car get back home!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Two friends and I stayed at Applegrove for the Aug bank holiday weekend. The owners John and Jenny were absolutely lovely - welcoming, friendly and helpful. It is the kind of place you instantly feel comfortable and at home. Great location too.

Thanks for a great stay Jenny and John - and for the great cooked breakfast each day!

Kim, Deirdre and Nisha

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegrove

Property: Applegrove
Address: Applegrove West Road | (near Lulworth Cove), West Lulworth BH20 5RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in old vicarage orchard away from main road traffic our home providing comfortable en-suite accommodation. Safe off-road parking in our walled garden.Generous full English,Vegetarian or Vegan breakfast included -- with home produce and locally sourced ingredients where possible A perfect setting for exploring the Cove, Durdle Door, coast path and the Purbeck Hills, Corfe Castle, Monkey World, the Tank Museum are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applegrove West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing