We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service - impression is to rush as many customers through as possible”
Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service - impression is to rush as many customers through as possible”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The service in the bar and restaurant could not be faulted, in fact the owners could make a fortune training in efficiency some of the hotel staff we've encountered! My husband had a choice of servers every time he went to the bar and all were very pleasant and helpful, but we had the distinct impression that this was done primarily to increase the turnover of customers. They do not reserve tables for residents (despite there being a room off the restaurant with a notice stating that this is for the use of residents only -we discovered this too late). However they do allow residents to find a table before the bar opens at 6pm!! This means one has to be in the bar -presumably drinking- and forgo a rest after a long day sightseeing, or return in the middle of the afternoon. After an earlier meal than wanted one either stays and carries on drinking or makes room for the next set of customers! I'll say this for them they've certainly got it sussed but unfortunately not for the comfort or relaxation of their customers. But with the rate of turnover they achieve I don't suppose they care, they must be laughing all the way to the bank!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibbie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    134
    72
    75
    69
See reviews for
95
286
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorking
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Am very glad i didnt read the reviews before staying at The Castle Inn as i may have cancelled and then would have missed out on this great place!
We spent 5 nights there and we very impressed on how friendly the staff were, nothing was too much trouble. They were all delightful.
The room was clean, plenty of room and as expected, the breakfast was large, very large and filled us up enough to keep us out walking most of the day without wanting lunch. We ate in the pub most nights, the salads were freshly prepared, plentiful and varied. All the meals we tried we of good quality, tasty and good value (though you may want to adjust the seasoning!)
It is a great place to base a walking holiday, even better as you can bring the dog....we would (and will) return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spongecake67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Don't know where to start. We travel alot around the world & this is the worst we have stayed in. We tryed to find another place to stay after we arrived & saw how bad it was but everywhere was full. 1st I must say we are big animal lovers & own dogs & cats but this was a step to far.as we opened the door of our room the smell of dogs was overpowering. Dear oh dear but this place needs a revamp big time. On the 1st evening we sat outside as it was a beautiful evening & ordered dinner. No menus ! Just 1 chalkboard inside & everyone trying to push past to read it. The menu said fresh & homemade food ! what a joke. I have never seen such grease on food in my life & breakfast was the same next morning. We decided not to have breakfast on the 2nd morning. Lucky I take a hairdryer everywhere with me as none in the room. No remote for the tv. Some roap in the bathroom would be nice. The shower was a joke. No wardrobe just a rail under the chimney. The best of all was on the morning we were leaving we got up early to have a walk & arrived back @ 8.45 am to find our clothes taken off the bed & the bed changed etc ready for the next people. Crying out for the hotel inspector. Could be such a beautiful hotel if run correct & revamped. Stay clear

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lulworth hotels

norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Really nice cosy pub that is really friendly to dogs which is great in the area. Couldn't fault the service etc. But the food was terrible. The first night we got MASSIVE portions which was unexpected but nice, but the more we ate night after night the more we realized the poor quality of food. I ordered fish and chips and was served two fish which I am sure was from some Value supermarket range. Really disappointed. It was expensive also, I paid £9.00 for a tuna jacket potato with salad. My advice it visit for the scrabble and atmosphere but eat somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keely027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We live locally in Dorset and were out for one of our Sunday Pub Walks. We started off at this pub, at about half one, the pub was packed and every table to front was full with everyone sitting have a beer/meal and enjoying the sunshine. We decided we would do our circular walk and return for a nice cold beer, prior to returning to the car to soak up the sunshine and rest from our walk with a well deserved cold beer, we checked with a waitress outside and she said although they would be open they wouldnt be doing food as this finished at 2 and started again at 6. That was fine as we knew that we only wanted a drink and not food. We walked for nearly 2 hours, a glorious walk along the coastal path in the underated purbecks and built up a real thirst. When we walked through the village, we nearly stopped at another place, but we decided that we would continue finish our walk and go to the pub, that we had first seen at the begining of the village. When we ventured up to the pub, people were walking out and the lady on the door said that they were closing. I couldnt believe it we had walked up through the village up the hill to go here, and then was turned away. There was no reason for this as far as we know - no emergency, according to the waitress. So Why ???
This is a Feehold Pub in a prime location, in a holiday village - The holiday season is very short and the winter very long, where most of this town shuts down.
This was a Sunday afternoon, very sunny and warm in August in the Summer Holidays and they decided to shut, mid afternoon. Very disapointing - Just cant understand it,` Lots of people like us, had walked up the hill, through the village to this pub, to eat and drink in the Sunshine, and were frustrated and very disapointed like us. The Landlady/Landlord must have literally turned away hundreds and hundreds of pounds if not thousands worth of custom throughout the afternoon - havnt they heard the saying `Make hay whilst the sun shines` - Obviously not !!!!!
Next time we will eat/drink in the centre of the village, as not to risk this one being closed when they feel like it.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stopped here for lunch Saturday; I say lunch, though it was actually 2pm when we got there, and they close from 3pm until 6pm. It makes a big thing of being dog friendly, there are dog biscuits on the bar, and water bowls outside. We chose to leave our elderly dalmation in the car, as he was knackered after clmbing back up from the beach at Durdle Door.

We didnt want a huge meal, as we'd planned to go out in the evening. So we had filled baguettes, and a couple of orders of chips. There doesn't seem to be much of a choice between a really light snack, and a main meal.

As you enter the pub, there is a big food chiller cabinet, with all the salad materials prepared, so what we had was prepared fresh. That said, it was part baked frozen bread that had been cooked. It's OK, but it doesn't have much taste to it. The prawns were plain and tasteless, husband had cheese which didn't come with any chutney or pickle. The chips were those nasty steak house ones, from a freezer, and were not cooked properly, all soggy. That said, other people in the garden had full meals, which looked good.

Being summer, the car park is full of picnic benches; there is also an "award winning garden" behind the pub, though this is up a lot of steps, so would be difficult for anyone not so nimble as us. And as to what award it had won, this was hard to tell, as the flower beds needed weeding, the borders needed pruning, and the grass needed cutting.

The pub does have a good selection of beers, and also cask ciders - they have their own "menu". I tried the Ruby Red, which was good, not too sweet, with some gas, but you had to drink it quick. Which was a bad thing, at 6.5% - not something to be drinking too fast!

I'd go back here, as long as someone else was driving!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I wish I had read more reviews before booking in to The Castle Inn for 6 nights - I would have been more prepared for the generally shabby state of the room. This inn is desperately in need of some tlc - our room was v. small with hardly any storage. The walls were very thin - we could hear our next door neighbour snoring so well he/she could have been in bed with us. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the pillows like concrete. We were only supplied with bath towels and these were frayed and hard and scratchy. The ensuite bathroom had a sealed skylight and no extractor fan and the sink was chipped in 6 places. On the day we checked out we had left our half packed suitcases on the bed to go down to breakfast and when we came back they had been put on the floor and the bed made up for next guests - we have never experienced this in any other of the many hotels we have stayed in - room staff usually wait until they know you have checked out. In addition, my mother experienced problems with the hot water tap in her ensuite - she either had none or it came through luke warm at the best. I complained to the owner who said she would look at it and then blithely advised my mother to run it for about 10 minutes and to turn on the bath hot water tap on the to help the water through and then went on to a long explanation about the antiquated plumbing.
We did mention a couple of things when checking out but didn't get any apology just that Stewart would be advised.

On the plus side our dog was made very welcome, the breakfast was well cooked and plentiful and the selection of ales and ciders is one of the best we have ever seen.However, we would not stay here again unless we had been advised it had been totally refurbished and staff attitudes to complaints had been changed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldiva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
9.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel West Lulworth
The Castle Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing