We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing point of viewWell done”
Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Refreshing point of viewWell done”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I and our two (large dogs) had a wonderful long weekend. The rooms are basic , which is ideal with dogs, but with all your essentials that a human needs.
Breakfast was huge ,even the dogs got sausage in a bowl from the very friendly staff
Staff can not do enough for you and always make a fuss of your four legged friend
The cove is a short walk away with many attractions allowing dogs and lots of lovely long walks.
We will all come again and I have recommended it to my friends who also have dogs
Well done

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    134
    72
    75
    69
See reviews for
95
286
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Coulsdon Surrey UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

What as shame this pub/hotel did not live up to our expectations. The idea is great that it is very doggie friendly, even able to take your dog into breakfast, and each one gets its on bowl of sausage. We can not fault the staff in the pub, very friendly and helpful. Sadly the accommodation was dreadful in every which way, a number of people were complaining. We decided it must be owned by a really old chap, who enjoys raking in the money but refused to reinvest any into the accommodation. I can't believe we had to pay £95.00 P/N for our stay.

Room Tip: There are not any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloppyandDobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lulworth hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This B&B makes for the perfect doggy holiday. The accommodation is clean and fresh and there is no pretention - this is a holiday for dogs and their humans and care is taken to make sure everyone is happy.
The breakfast menu is extensive and freshly prepared. Doggies get their own sausages and have the unique opportunity to sit with their humans and mix with the other canine guests. To experience this wonderful and unique situation is rare and truly appreciated by all.
Bar food is good. Plenty of parking available.
Doggy 'toilet' within easy reach of the accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Have just returned from the Castle Inn. Myself and my husband went with 4 friends and all our dogs (4 in total). We were told the pub is very dog friendly and we were not disappointed. It is a lovely old building with quirky nooks and crannies. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They all adore dogs. The breakfast was perfect, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Would thoroughly recommend the Castle Inn. Lulworth Cove is stunning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Looked for dog friendly accommodation on search engine - found The Castle Inn - so pleased I did. Accommodation was bedroom/bathroomon on first floor - not large but adequate, it was clean and comfortable. Room cleaned with fresh bath towels each day. Food was good - varied menu. fantastic full English breakfast - and the dog loved her sausages each morning. Very old Inn - it's great! Lovely garden. lots of walks to go on - Cove is beautiful, Great they are so dog friendly. Staff are helpful/friendly. Would recommend. Thanks Castle Inn - enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 was on first floor at back overlooking corner of garden - near to bar area below and I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynatww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a dog friendly hotel, so our dog could come away with us. We weren't disappointed as the hotel/b&b was extremely friendly dogs allowed everywhere. Room was a bit small, but was advised this when I called to book as it was the last room available. Food wasn't the best I've had. Breakfast was very filling and even the dog got his own sausage.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bilko1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

So quaint on the outside but what a disappointment! We visited in the evening for a meal but the food was very overpriced and poor quality. Bar area was uninviting and felt grubby. Would not go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craftl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
9.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel West Lulworth
The Castle Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing