We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This pub totally deserved its title "Best Rural Pub 2010", we noticed it as we drove through Lulworth and vowed to make sure we tried it out while we were in the area. I only wish we hadn't waited until the last evening of our break. The exterior of this chocolate box thatched roofed pub is really pretty with lots of blooming hanging baskets and plant pots. Inside there are low ceilings with alcoves, and nooks & crannies to sit in. There is a wide variety of very reasonably priced pub grub to chose from on the blackboard which does not disappoint when it arrives and there is also a plethora of ciders, ales and perry's to try out. They are a dog friendly pub with a bowl of dog biscuits on the side to give your dog a treat. Plus there are many games lying around such as chess, draughts, backgammon and my favourite Jenga to keep you amused!

Room Tip: Didn't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeypie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    127
    71
    73
    67
See reviews for
91
275
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Having experienced 4 different B&Bs over the past 12 months, I would rate the food and staff in the bar right there at the top. Lovely food, great value and delivered by really nice staff.
The room would rate 10th, as I suspect that there has to be at least 5 other B&Bs who could do better and we haven't even been there yet!
Room 8 was small, very tired and in need of a good redecoration / clean.
The weather did not help, although the lady we spoke to was quite right, it got better. Shame the room could not have improved as quickly.
However, having had a truly awful nights sleep. The walls are so thin, you can hear just about everything that's said, is happening or occuring either side up and and down. Problem was, the dog next door also heard this and responded accordingly. I felt as if I was in the kennel with the dog all night. In the morning, this was quite close to my actual state The TV had 1 channel that could actually be watched, the others were unwatchable. We wish we knew who had the remote for the good channel, as we got fed up with fishing and golf.
The table where we had our breakfast must have been cleaned with glue, as both our side plates were stuck. Breakfast was good though, as long as you kept your arms off the table (my Mum always told me off for doing it anyway)
I do hope that the owners spend some time and effort getting the place up to a decent standard. The location is stunning and generally, had the room been better, we would be back again.
The staff and the food plus a good accommodation experience would make the place a winner. Give a refurb a go and I am sure you would get the benefit from it.

Room Tip: Not sure what advise to give other than check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerboys186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

we stayed 6 nights, 23rd June until 30th. We had two young kids '8 & 10" & stayed in the family room # 5 located above the bar. first problem we had was the young lads sitting outside "just below our window" swearing very loudly, we had the window open as it was quite warm, the pub door was open & if i was the landlord i would have asked the group to lower their voices & stop the swearing. This happened on several nights during our stay.
2nd problem was the breakfast, we ordered fried eggs with our breakfast, they and several other items came out very over cooked, they did re-cook us new eggs but they were also over cooked. There was never any Maple syrup for the waffles, when i asked when would there be some i was told "we no longer have it" it is on the breakfast menu but i was told it was old and needed updating. There was no white bread from our 4th day onwards, on the morning we checked out they had no bread whatsoever!!! i asked why, was told no delivery, there is a shop 150yrds down the road where bread could have been purchased. Also run out of mushrooms, i guess i got the last as they were like lumps of dried leather.
The rooms are not cheap, just the going rate for the area, i thought the food from the bar was well below par from our last stay. " we ate elsewhere for the complete stay after one meal. i did try to order lunch for all of us but was told i had one min to order as the kitchen was closing, i left and we ate in Corfe @ the national trust tea room, it was great.

Sorry Wendy, i was very disappointed with the staff & the food. Rooms same as normal nothing special, only special about the Castle Inn now is its location.

i will not be back until food & service is corrected.

Room Tip: best rooms are the cottages attached to the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Lulworth hotels

Northumberland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Arriving in the afternoon, i have to say, we were initially disappointed at the air of overall shabbiness. However , after securing a table in the bar for an evening meal (no mean feat) i changed my mind. The food was good and varied and the list of ciders long and interesting. Personally i liked the dogs everywhere and the biscuit bowls left on counters - it gave a very homely feel but to revert to the start of the review, a good refurbishment would make this a really super place.

Room Tip: Don't go for 11. Small and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have recently been to The Castle Inn at West Lulworth and had a fabulous experience. The staff were efficient offering great customer service. Our room was clean and the food fantastic. Our little Westies Archie had a lovely stay. His every need catered for with bowls of dog biscuits dotted around the Inn and he really enjoyed his breakfast!!! I would strongly reccomend this place for couples and families wanting to take thier pampered pooch away with them. We will be booking again very soon. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay such a memorable one. Archies photograph can be found on the Inn's website. His stance says it all!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterMelon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Purposefully booked here as the hotel welcomes dogs...although I don't have one myself, the place sounded very friendly and was perfectly located. We had a lovely weekend and wished we had booked an extra night! Our room was very comfortable with an efficient hot shower and was really peaceful, perfect for a break away from work!

Can't comment on evenings meals as we had other plans on both evenings but the breakfasts were excellent - the dogs even got their own sausage breakfast provided! we will definitely stay again, thanks!

Room Tip: room 11 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We enjoyed our evening in the bar at the Castle Inn, my partner particularly liked the wide choice of ciders. Although we don't have a dog, the myriad of dogs around the place didn't bother us and gave the place a rather surreal quality.

The room was fine (we were in number 5 which is a triple, so we probably had one of the bigger rooms). We have two complaints, the first is that the slot allowed for breakfast was only 1 hour, this meant that the staff were run off their feet trying to serve all the guests in a very short space of time and we had to wait 20 minutes before our order was even taken. The second issue is that when we got upstairs maids were already in our room stripping the beds, we thought this extremely unusual if not a bit rude! We were only staying one night and assumed that they would wait till we had checked out to clean the room so it was ready for the next guests as in every other hotel I have stayed in in over 30 years of travelling. Hopefully they will read this review and take note.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank whetstone_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 14 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lulworth Lodge
Lulworth Lodge
#7 of 14 in West Lulworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel West Lulworth
The Castle Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing