We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door

Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.19*
and up
Portland and Jurassic Coast Day Trip from Dorset including Lulworth Cove and...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redcliffe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I saw this place on the internet when planning the trip. It was really worth stopping off at and walking down to the rocks and beach. we love the outdoors and the kids loved getting out and about.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ab63Redcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,778
    503
    78
    37
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Even though Lulworth Cove is extremely busy during the summer, it is worth a short visit, as it's a good example of how the sea can force its way through soft rock to form, in this case, a cove accessed from the sea by a narrow passage guarded by outcrops of hard rock on either side. If you take a short circular walk from the car park of less than half a mile, you can see other dramatic features, such as the Lulworth Crumple and Stair Hole, both also the result of uncommon marine and geological forces. It is Durdle Door, however, that is the 5 star natural attraction. It is a short, but strenuous, walk from Lulworth Cove, or else you can park on the top road or drive to the public car park accessed from the top road through the holiday park / camping site. Durdle Door is an exceptionally beautiful coastal feature (a rock arch in the sea), jutting out from a spectacular chalk coastline, with terrific beaches on either side, safe for swimming.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A pretty place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited in the afternoon and walked up the steep coast path and was afforded some stunning views across Lulworth Cove, the steep climb up put son off walking any further to Durdle door but the views we had were lovely.

Walked back down, a better walk than the hike up the hill, and then took the coast path the other way and saw the cove from above and had some more lovely views, the roads to get there wee narrow and glad we had some good weather to see it in the sunshine, but i wouldnt like to visit it in the summer when there is lots of traffic, as i should imagine it would be very congested.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank flopsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to walk the dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We go regularly to walk our dog lovely place gets very busy in the summer months great places to have great ice cream too well worth a trip beatiful

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Parley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Idillic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Love this area. Great for a long walk, fresh air and a bit of peace and quiet. It can get busy in peak season but when you visit it is very easy to see why.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing