We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walking for a good workout!”

Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.70*
and up
Portland and Jurassic Coast Day Trip from Dorset including Lulworth Cove and...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great walking for a good workout!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just got back from a two day stay at Lulworth Cove. Walked over to the abandonded village of Tyneham one day and past Durdle Door to Ringstead on the other. The coastal path in this area is a series of steep ups and downs. A lot of work has been done on the path and it is easy walking, but a good workout! My partner counted 331 steps on one of the hills! Lovely area. I recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewessue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,867
    537
    84
    39
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scenically Spectacular”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We returned to Lulworth Cove again just to look at the sea front and cliffs. There is a charge for the car park - necessary because there's nowhere to park in West Lulworth and unless you're on a coastal walk it's a long way from anywhere else. Lulworth Cove is always worth a visit in any weather(apart from fog)because of the view of the cove itself, and especially the view of the Jurassic rock formations from safe viewing platforms above the car park. We have walked to Durdle Door previously and this is an iconic Dorset landmark, but it's a bit of a slog up from Lulworth and one needs to be feeling energetic. There's a shop/visitors' centre next to the car park and various hostelries selling decent fare on the way down to the beach. Be aware that there are usually groups of students around on field study projects because of the area's geographical significance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Royful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fascinating”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Some challenging walks and fascinating geomorphology. A living geography lesson that we will return to again and again. THe army had the ranges closed when we were there so we will have to go back for the range walks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I last visited this area about 30 years ago and I hoped that it hasn't changed much. I'm delighted to say that it hadn't. The views are stunning and although the "beach" is made of stones it is well worth a visit. You've got to be fit to walk from Lulworth Cove to Durdle Door- the hill is steep and wouldn't be much fun if it was wet weather. My friends and I happily passed far younger people who were struggling. A great visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards Heath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Walks”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

So beautiful, and you can walk all the way down to the beach, although the stairs would not be suitable for the elderly. Watch out for dogs racing past you. Fantastic walk on the cliffs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 265Soph265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing