We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful.”

Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.33*
and up
Portland and Jurassic Coast Day Trip from Dorset including Lulworth Cove and...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Yes a beautiful place to visit, as every bit of the Dorset Coastline is a beautiful place to see Lulworth and Durdle extra special, Views, Walks, the Sun Set, worth waiting for, good pubs, yes perfect.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    518
    81
    38
    26
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coggeshall, Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best place in the world!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have been here many times and will be back many more times. If you like walking, there is nowhere better (walk beyond Durdle Door to lose the crowds!!) I will never tire of this stretch of coast.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank BarneyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Did some pub walks around the area and along the cliff tops. Fantastic geological structures and views!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab well worth the visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Well worth the walk to Durdle Door, great views, would recommend it to anyone

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lulworth Cove to Durdle Door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We went on a road trip along the Dorset coastline and this was on our route map. My friends and I bought some 99 flakes, which were not 99 pence, and meandered down to Lulworth Cove. I have since discovered that many people know old Lulworth Cove and it has many admirers for it's circular beauty. Just up from the cove you can see where the crust of the Earth has been pushed up at virtually a 90 degree angle! There is a house up here. I think the inhabitants must have a funny sense of balance.
Back down through the buzzing town centre and to the car park which is bigger than Lulworth itself. Beyond the car park rises a trail which seems in some strange way a bit Lord of the Ringsy... You'll just have to go and see for yourself.
We set off along this trail as a thunderstorm began above us. It didn't last long. A couple of miles on and we came to overlook another small cove which looked as though someone had shaped the beach with a ruler. Wallowing in its shallows were two long rock ledges that looked peculiarly submarine-like. We continued and just beyond the cove, on the other side of the spur of land that created it we met with the Durdle Door.
The thing is, it is very nice to look at, and once you've navigated your way down to the beach you can swim out to it (although we passed on this) but it must be just one of a hundred features to see along that coastline. We were on our way home. So, although I enjoyed it and I recommend it I also think you should give yourself a few days to see plenty more. That way you wouldn't be obligated to turn around and head back to Lulworth Car Park Village.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank followingthehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing