We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishops
Ranked #8 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

There's not much to Lulworth Cove except relaxation! We stayed there for a wedding in Lulworth Castle in July. We were blessed with great weather which made this little hideaway very busy over the weekend.

The B&B was excellently presented. We felt they could of made more rooms out of the space available ... but were glad they didn't! Our room was a suite and was decorated incredibly. The bathroom being immaculate.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a lovely full English which makes me very happy!

I don't know Dorset well but when I come back to explore more, we'd spend more time here.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drchunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for a great review from a seasoned traveler. Going to a wedding means you dont sample the menu in the evening. However next time you come you will be able to. Thank you for your kind word. Philip and Liesl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    18
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
117
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We cam to Lulworth for a wedding and had a fantastic time staying at Bishops. Everything was really relaxed but the standard of service, accommodation and food were all excellent. We will definitely stay there again .Philp and Lisle really are great hosts and clearly enjoy what they do which makes all the difference.
Nicky Walker, Harrogate

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

last sunday we had lunch at Bishops. Lobster and salad for my wife -excellent - and fillet of sea bass with and scallops on a crayfish risotto. It was delicious- the best risotto I have ever had. The sun was shining from a clear blue sky and not wanting to leave or move very far,
they allowed us to stay the night as well. The cove room was fantastic with stunning views overlooking the headlands and sight of the sea and their beautiful garden with swimming pool.
very large room with a super huge bed and our only disappointment was that for the rest of the week they were fully booked as we would have definitely stayed another night. The evening meal was again a triumph - scallops in pancetta to start and my wife had the sea bass and I had spagetti with crab and prawns .-all followed by a delicious sweet.Philip and Liesl made us so welcome and their hospitality was so generous. The breakfast was another first class experience . I do applaud the fact that everything is freshly cooked and the care and concern that it not only looks good but tastes fantastic. The staff were friendly and smiling and helped reflect the magic of Bishops. We really enjoyed ourselves and our thanks to you all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal here for the in-laws ruby wedding anniversary. 23 of us and the food came out together and cooked to absolute perfection. We had a murder mystery day which finished off in the restaurant and one of the waitress's was in on the act! Only downside was a miserable couple of guests staying above the bar who were complaining it was too noisy at 10.15pm!! Get a life your on holiday and it is Saturday night maybe you should not stay at a bar/restaurant and book into a OAP home next time as all of our guests were over 60 and they had a fantastic time!! Would recommend to anyone the staff are great, the foods great and the setting is first class

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
It was great fun....It was also great to have one of the suspects as a waitress...she was good to. Thank you for the kind words and hope to see you lively lot very soon. Philip and Liesl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This really is a special place to stay; the location helps of course but the relaxed nature of the hotel and the attitude of the hosts were what made it special. Nothing was too much trouble for them, but in a very relaxed non-intrusive way. We stayed in the Bar Room which, being above the bar, is perhaps not the room to go for if you like an early night and absolute silence but we didn't find it to be a problem at all. The room itself is big enough to make a decent sized studio flat, with an enormous and very comfortable bed, sofa and large ensuite bathroom. The breakfasts were superb - lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt etc as well as the more traditional cooked breakfast (no need for lunch - just breakfast and dinner!). Highly recommended and we'll be back time and time again I hope.

Room Tip: The Bar Room is probably the noisier of the 3 rooms (being above the bar), but we didn't find it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It a great help to us and sets us up for the summer. Thank you once again. Philip and Liesl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend - the accommodation is very spacious and so comfortable and the food was fabulous - lovely fish for supper and best breakfasts ever. Philip & Lisle made us really welcome. Oh and the swimming pool is terrific if you are brave enough in this weather!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We keep the pool spotless (well almost) . However it is always a battle with the elements. It needs constant attention, like another child. When the sun shines there is no better spot on the South Coast. Summer in Dorset is a state of mind so very well done for diving in. Thank you for the kind words and we will see you again soon. Philip and Liesl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

From the moment we saw the interior of the building we knew that we wanted to book to stay for a second night. The hosts were tremendously affable and genuine making the stay effortless. Their drive an passion shows in all they do and i cannot wait to return.
What a place and what a stay!
Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. This is our life and we love what we do. We meet some great people and have a blast. We look forward to seeing you again...soon.. Philip and Liesl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
428 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
895 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
8.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
14.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops

Property: Bishops
Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishops 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops, once the home of the Wordsworths (Bishops of Salisbury), stands on the edge of the Cove and is sheltered by Bindon Hill. Originally two cottages and dates back to 1650’s one of the oldest buildings in the village, the extensions and additions have been made with care and the building is one of the architectural features of Lulworth. The gardens overlook the beautiful Lulworth Cove and there is a large swimming pool for our guests. Bishops is on the cliff top of the world heritage Jurassic coastline at Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door. Close by the stunning Studland Bay and shores of Sandbanks and Poole harbour. The countryside is ideally placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Wessex, The Isle of Purbeck, Corfe Castle, Swanage and Wareham a Saxon town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bishops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing