We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fab find for a perfect weekend”
Review of Bishops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishops
Ranked #9 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Honiton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Fab find for a perfect weekend”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Bishops Cottage is a fabulous place to stay in a lovely spot. We received a very warm welcome from Philip. Our accommodation was massive, clean lovely decorated, welcoming and homely. We sat in front of a lovely log burner enjoying a drink with our lunch. The food was exceptional and very reasonable. We had a great nights sleep and our visit was finished off in the morning with an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice to keep us going to spend the day exploring the cove. We will definitely come back to Bishops Cottage. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It makes my wife, myself and the staff very happy to know that we have achieved what we set out to do and that is for you to have a great stay. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    23
    19
    15
See reviews for
24
128
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very comfortable night's stay in the Cove room earlier in the month. We had a lovely welcome - tea on front of the fire - followed by an excellent dinner cooked by liesl. The bedroom, and bed, were enormous. A great night's sleep, and delicious breakfast cooked by Philip. Sadly it was a bit too cold for the pool in the garden, but that looked like a lovely spot in rhe summer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymagoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and hopefully next time you visit it will be warm enough to use the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We came across Bishops Cottage by pure chance, and what a discovery, we only dined there but what a magical night we had. The hosts could do no more to make you feel welcome. The food was delicious, the atmosphere enchanting. Superb location and superb value for money. We shall definitely be back and look forward to staying in the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ianjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hoping for warmer weather on your next visit... then we can get the BBQ out..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Absolute top marks for comfort, food, friendliness, and position. Liesl and Philip are wonderful hosts who spend time with their guests and offer help in every way.Nothing seems to be too much for them. The rooms are spacious and clean, with lovely views. Philip is a fine artist and Liesl is a brilliant cook and fantastic front of house manager, as well as having a perfect eye for detail. They work together as a wonderful couple. This b&b is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Cove Room looks out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky-Tim-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure this weekend.
Really pleased the wedding went well and weather held up...
Hope to see you both later on in the year.. Liesl & Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Bishops Cottage is just such a lovely place to spend a relaxing quiet weekend, the setting is perfect but what really made it was the lovely couple whom own it, Liesl and Philip were just great hosts, they welcomed us like friends and made us feel welcome in their beautiful house. Before you arrive, if you want to eat there which we would strongly advise you do, they will send you the menu to choose your meal. If you are vegetarian or have any dislikes then they will adapt the menu to your preferences, no issues at all. The food was cooked to perfection, home cooked fresh produce locally sourced and just scrumptious. Breakfast was no exception, I'm going to miss that as much as the village. The room was very clean, very spacious, very quiet and very peaceful. What more could you ask for?

The area is really beautiful and begs to be explored by foot, it's very hilly so good shoes and comfy clothes would be advisable. We walked from the cove across to Durdle Door then to Ringstead. You have to take water and snacks yourself as there is nothing around to buy these things from except from lulworth cove itself which is a long walk back! The heritage centre which is at the cove has lots of information about the area, walks ect and the staff are extremely knowledgeable.

We can't wait to go back and explore some more....particularly the rest of the menu at the bishops cottage and the dandelion bistro next door!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, it was lovely to meet you both, hope your walking feet have recovered Melissa..!!
Hope to see you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Bishops Cottage is an outstanding hotel, managing to mix both personal attention to detail with a relaxed atmosphere. Lissl and Philip are terrific hosts... right from the minute we walked in the door and were offered a glass of wine! All rooms are lovely... we stayed in the Cove room which has a huge bed, lots of space and a window looking out on the water. The breakfast is locally sourced, and outstanding quality of ingredients. All in all, this is a great place to stay and combined with the beautiful scenery of Lulworth Cove, you couldn't find a better place for a holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was great to meet you both and very pleased that you liked the Priory, just hope you liked the Indian???
See you both soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Phillip and Lissel gave us the warmest of welcomes and made us feel completely at home from start to finish- saying that, our home doesn't have quite the same standard of food, (Olympic sized breakfasts and particularly delicious egg's benedict!), a bed big enough to fit a whole family in or the benefit of being nestled into a picture book cove! We deliberately chose a quiet time of year to get the most out of this deservedly popular area, and the team did their best to smooth over the bumps in the road typical of the start of the season and cater to our individual needs. Spoilt for choice in terms of activities- the walk over to Durdle Door and back along near deserted beaches and spectacular head lands is not to be missed. If cosy coves, natural beauty and really personal service by people who clearly love what they do and do it well is for you- then this is a great place to book a special break away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben and Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip Bill A, Owner at Bishops, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was great meeting you both and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
450 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
447 reviews
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishops

Property: Bishops
Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishops 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishops, once the home of the Wordsworths (Bishops of Salisbury), stands on the edge of the Cove and is sheltered by Bindon Hill. Originally two cottages and dates back to 1650’s one of the oldest buildings in the village, the extensions and additions have been made with care and the building is one of the architectural features of Lulworth. The gardens overlook the beautiful Lulworth Cove and there is a large swimming pool for our guests. Bishops is on the cliff top of the world heritage Jurassic coastline at Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door. Close by the stunning Studland Bay and shores of Sandbanks and Poole harbour. The countryside is ideally placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Wessex, The Isle of Purbeck, Corfe Castle, Swanage and Wareham a Saxon town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishops West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing