We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, but expected more from the room...”
Review of Lulworth Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lulworth Cove Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The positives are that the venue and seaview from our room was lovely. The room however was a bit cramped. It didn't have a wardrobe, which is fine if you are only staying a day of two. They had a 'Smart' TV, which was just as well, as you couldn't watch normal TV as the picture kept breaking up (pixelating). In addition, the digital radio did not work!

It sounds like I am moaning, but don't get me wrong the place is nice, and the member of staff who took us to our room was very friendly. It's just when you pay this amount of money per night, you expect things to work. Like the toilet seat wouldn't stay up, and there is no shelf in the shower. Lastly it was nearly impossible to unlock the door to our room, (just really stiff and very hard to turn).

We would stay here again but would like to see the above things sorted.

The breakfast was lovely, and served by very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe C, Other at Lulworth Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments and bring attention to some issues.
The TV and DAB radio problem has now been rectified as we had a failure of our satellite equipment for a short period (no Freeview TV or Radio signal down in Lulworth!!)
The toilet, shelf and door items have been looked at and made good.
When we had our refurbishment last year we made a decision not to have wardrobes in the rooms as most of our guests only stay one or 2 nights. So, no wardrobe makes some of the smaller rooms less cramped and fits in with our retro seaside style of room. We do have comment cards in every room and ask for any feedback on departure if such issues that we are unaware of can be brought to our attention, so we can rectify them quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Lulworth Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 846 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely little Inn right next to the cove and sea. Me and my fiancé arrived quite late at night but Richard the bartender took our bags up to our room and got us a meal on before the kitchen closed, staff are extra welcoming and helpful. The bar and dining area has a really cosy feel; Food was good and drinks are very reasonably priced, we had a lovely evening. To then go to our room with a sea front view was a lovely surprise. There are lots of little things in the room to look at, and rocking chairs outside on the balcony. The bathroom was 10/10 super modern. I loved loved loved this place will definitely be going back. Especially as i got engaged the next day on the beach! The only little thing which i've read in someone else's review as well was that the TV didn't work properly but we didn't care as we were already entertained.

Room Tip: chose a room with a sea front view, definitely worth it
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a three night stay at this inn last month. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the decor of the inn was lovely...seaside theme, bright and cheerful. A lot of thought had gone into it. The food was excellent, the room beautiful and the view and location couldnt be faulted. We had two minor issues which we felt could be improved on, nowhere to put stuff away in the room and it wasnt cleaned in the time we were there. We sent a comment on their opinions card, received a generic head office response which was a bit disappointing. They say they pass this on to the hotel but we havent heard anything back from them. However, we would thoroughly recommend this inn and would love to go back, it was a fantastic place and we loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Yesterday morning I woke up in room 9 at the cove inn, to blissful sunshine and a delightful view. I can honestly say that for the money I haven't stayed anywhere as good. Friendly staff, perfect location, well appointed rooms. We had intended to go walking but enjoyed reading, drinking wine and taking in the wonderful view. Cannot wait to book a return visit, the food wasn't bad either :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I spent the night and was really pleased with the quirky room decoration. Wonderful. Staff were great and had I not been going to Poole to look at the motorbikes I would have had an evening meal. TV service basically not functioning due to intermittent signal but not a major problem. Breakfast choice was good ( I have never been anywhere where they have a comb of honey as a choice next to the jams.

Room Tip: Check the room décor details if you are fussy about view etc. otherwise I hope you get as nice a sur...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kremmen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Popped in for drinks & bar-snacks early evening before dinner service had fully started... After being rather begrudgingly led to a table by young and overly bright maître we were left for quite a while until we asked for service, hot choc took ages, as did wine which came over 5 mins later clearly having been forgotten. Ordered chips (soggy and not fresh - frozen maybe? Thankfully a minuscule portion) and breaded mushrooms (over cooked coating, unevenly cooked shrooms)... All served in retro paper and funky dishes (shame good didn't live up to ambience) lovely candle light throughout gorgeous setting with sea views made food bearable
When maitre enquired into our enjoyment, he didn't quite know what to say (inexperience mafe him unready ) to our truthful but kind return
Wine list excellent and Chablis perfectly chilled... Might go just for drinks or a meze board if here again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Travellingwithhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Have visited twice over the last 2 weeks, I live local so remember the Cove before it was taken on by Hall and Woodhouse. what a transformation it has had.
Lovely decor, redesigned throughout in line with the Granary in Wareham and St Peters Finger in Lytchett Minster.
Excellent service throughout from polite staff, tasty food, well cooked and presented.
very good cider too.
Very busy at weekends, now as the weather improves . I suggest booking on a weekend
.The rest Lulworth Cove should take a leaf out of Hall and Woodhouse's book and have a face lift as it is looking tired and sad, public toilets are disgusting.
Mr Weld could do with spending some of the proceeds from the overpriced car park on the rest of the Cove.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinWoolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
470 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lulworth Lodge
Lulworth Lodge
#5 of 13 in West Lulworth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Cove Inn

Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range: $135 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lulworth Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the doorstep of Lulworth Cove, boasting stunning coastal views and scenic Jurassic footpaths, the Lulworth Cove Inn is an idyllic location for paradise seekers. Offering award winning Badger cask ales, lagers from around the world and a menu full of fresh, unpretentious, seasonal dishes cooked by our team of talented chefs, using quality ingredients from our regional food partners.Our hospitable teams aim to make your day, whether it be a slight change to your meal, making a celebration extra special or simply providing you with a newspaper to read whilst sipping a refreshing drink in our garden or balcony.We take real pleasure in making your visit memorable and your retreat unforgettable. Lulworth Cove Inn offers 16 En-Suite rooms with WiFi access and stunning sea views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lulworth Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulworth Cove Hotel West Lulworth
Lulworth Cove Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing