We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Lulworth Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lulworth Cove Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the last weekend. They've just completed a £1M+ refurb and wow what a great job! Everything has been updated - bars, rooms, inside and out. The materials used are top quality. Our room had sea view and furniture/fittings and nick nacks were perfect. The food I'd say is very good pub food - they're not trying to do fine dining, but what they do they do very well. Staff are friendly and helpful - maybe a little overworked at the moment (they're recruiting) but they are coping and smiling :-). Weather this weekend made it also! Keep up the good work guys - we'll definitely be back to check on you! Thanks again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was very good - sea view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195DaveW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
There are newer reviews for Lulworth Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 846 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just got back from this lovely very old newly modernised (opens to public on 15/4) luxurious vintage style Hall and Woodhouse Inn.

The rooms are really well styled with old furniture and modern touches

Possibly a tad too many styling details - counted 18 in the bathroom! Wouldn't like to dust them! But the overall effect is stunning and very pleasing.

Nice touches like Scottish toiletries and wool rugs, interesting use of furniture - piles of vintage cases as a bedside table, pastel painted walls with modern prints and seas side related decorative items. there is too much detail to describe so why not go and try for yourself.

The food is the usual fare offered by Hall and Woodhouse and is very good. The ales according to my husband are excellent too.

Enjoy you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We had room 6 but they ALL lovely! Some have sea view directly down to the Cove and other have side...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely location. Rooms comfortable but need some redecoration. Bar area spacious and food reasonable for local chain pub. Room prices a little on high side for accommodation but you are paying for the location. Real ale also reasonably kept.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jez T, General Manager at Lulworth Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are are aware the the Lulworth Cove Inn is getting a little tired and I have pleasure in announcing that we shall be closing on 28th January 2013 for a major £1m refurbishment, where all rooms, bars & exterior will be getting a great new stylish look. This is expected to take approx 8 weeks to complete.Visit our website for all information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Inn looks quite upmarket from the outside, once inside though it is just a slight let down. The decor and furniture could do with a bit of an upgrade, just a bit too much wood everywhere and some rather distressed tables. The menu is a standard Hall and Woodhouse menu which you can get in a number of local pubs. This isn't meant to sound too downbeat, I'm just being honest. All that said, this place wins on it's location in this iconic village and we could see the sea from our table. The food was very good and special mention for the friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful. Would be hard to beat as a lunch venue after you've been to the Cove.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Hudwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here a couple of years ago and it was great. Good staff, great off season rate and location was superb. Had a really good walking holiday and the location enabled me to get to all the places I wanted to walk .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mingles1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The worst thing about the Lulworth Cove Inn was checking out, however we can and will return. We had a very relaxing few days here, good food and drink, excellent staff and a great menu from which to select our meals. Our room had a balcony with views of the Cove, warm and cosy even in a cool English November. The log fire in the bar also helped to warm us. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble for the staff to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go for the "posh peoples" room !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were booked into the Casstle Inn managed one night there but (unfortunately not for us), so we had a wonder down to Lulworth and ended up enquiring at Lulworth Cove Inn, so glad we did, we would like to thank Ben for letting us stay so we could enjoy the rest of our mini holiday, special thanks to Richard for looking after us of an evening and making us laugh, thanks to Jo for being so smiley and singing “Happy Birthday” to me on Friday great voice! And a lovely thanks to Katie for being just so lovely we wish you so much luck and happiness x and a big thanks to Evie who runs a very tight ship in the breakfast room and nothing was too much trouble!! Thanks to the Man behind the bar for remembering what we drank and how we liked it can’t remember your name because of too much wine and bubbly sorry but you know who you are!! It may only say I think it was a 2/3 star rating definitely 5 stars from Jude and Mirri xx

Room Tip: For a great view of the walkers room 8!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoriginalbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.4 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
470 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
7.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lulworth Lodge
Lulworth Lodge
#5 of 13 in West Lulworth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lulworth Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lulworth Cove Inn

Address: Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range: $135 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lulworth Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the doorstep of Lulworth Cove, boasting stunning coastal views and scenic Jurassic footpaths, the Lulworth Cove Inn is an idyllic location for paradise seekers. Offering award winning Badger cask ales, lagers from around the world and a menu full of fresh, unpretentious, seasonal dishes cooked by our team of talented chefs, using quality ingredients from our regional food partners.Our hospitable teams aim to make your day, whether it be a slight change to your meal, making a celebration extra special or simply providing you with a newspaper to read whilst sipping a refreshing drink in our garden or balcony.We take real pleasure in making your visit memorable and your retreat unforgettable. Lulworth Cove Inn offers 16 En-Suite rooms with WiFi access and stunning sea views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lulworth Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lulworth Cove Hotel West Lulworth
Lulworth Cove Inn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing