We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lulworth's hidden gem!”
Review of Limestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Limestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lulworth's hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable and relaxing six night stay at the Limestone Hotel.
The hotel is absolutely delightful, situated on the eastern slopes of the valley on the approach into Lulworth Cove. It enjoys an elevated position which affords great views of the idyllic Dorset countryside across the valley to the west. It has recently been re-opened having undergone an extensive refurbishment and is now owned by a young and vibrant couple who are uncompromising in their attention to detail and dedication to providing the highest level of customer service. The staff have obviously been carefully chosen and share the owner's passion for providing excellence in service, hygiene, quality of food, friendliness and professionalism. The restaurant has an excellent reputation both in and around the village serving fresh locally sourced produce and 'catch of the day' seafood, which is always superb, however it is always advisable to book as it is open, and well supported, by non-residents. The hotel is full of character and charm with each room being very tastefully decorated to a theme. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well presented, a credit to the 'housekeeping' staff who work tirelessly to maintain the high standards reflected throughout the hotel. Overall the experience has been totally enjoyable and definitely one to be repeated, we have already booked again for a week in 2014.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Writers Room' and the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    71
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
320
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had to depart the hotel we were staying in the previous night, as it was so bad. We got to Lulworth with nowhere to stay. Dasha the owner greeted us with open arms and we were lucky to get the last room. We stayed for 2 nights, ate in the restaurant both nights, food excellent. All the staff were friendly, particularly Philip, who was very charming. We were not planning to go back to Lulworth, but we might make an exception to stay at this wonderfull hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As the advance party in May only a matter of weeks after the hotel had reopened having been extensively refurbished we were able to recommend the hotel to four of our friends. We are now just home after a wonderful six day stay with them. The hotel excels in everything you would want, starting with a friendly welcome, lovely comfortable beds in individually furnished rooms and with exceptional food and attentive service. The hotel is perfectly located and from its elevated position has stunning views of the rolling hills and country around. But probably the strongest recommendation must centre on the team of people that the owners have brought together who obviously love working there and thrive on making their guests feel absolutely at home. No sooner had we eaten a sumptuous dinner of fresh local produce we were looking forward to our first class breakfast. Lastly my wife was a little overwhelmed by the wonderful birthday cake the chef had made and presented to her on our last evening. A lovely gesture and one she will remember for sometime. We have already booked for a week next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Boathouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We started off in the chocolate room as they were fully booked (which would be perfect for dog owners) which was a bit noisy, but otherwise lovely to have garden access. Then they moved us to seaside suite which is a beautiful room. Lovely breakfast & dinners and very friendly helpful staff. We even made the mistake of eating at the dandelion one night and they made up for it when we returned upset, with desserts & coffees! Only 5min walk from beach. To be recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the Chocolate room just before the August bank holiday weekend. Was really looking forward to having a relaxing stay in a beautiful location. Which may be the case in other rooms, but don't go for Chocolate. Could hear the television from next door - unfortunately they were up late and rose early so it was almost constant noise. Ah well we said, let's retreat to the bathroom for a soak and a bit of peace and quiet. Lay in the bath and listened to the conversation going on in the room upstairs. They really need to have a look at their pipes - the noise was really loud. The weather was warm and surprisingly there isn't a window in the room, only a door. So you have the choice of propping the door open all night, or not getting any air. Very good breakfast.

Room Tip: don't stay in Chocolate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Starting with the positives of our (together with two dogs) three night stay, I would commend the cooked breakfast fare (and certainly recommend the 'full English!') and the chef on his dinner offerings, although personally I would like to have seen even more locally caught, fresh sea food on the menu. Again on a positive, the decor at this relatively 'compact', well located West Lulworth hotel is quite tasteful and reflects the fact that it only re-opened in March 2013, under new ownership and with the 'Limestone' name. Also, the young, new owners and the staff are generally very friendly and helpful, clearly trying hard to succeed in a challenging business! Now this would not be a 'healthy' review without a few negatives, some of which the owners could address but others potential guests need to be aware of but are not readily resolved. Firstly, in my view the hotel's website needs enhancing and more 'openess.' The picture of the front of the hotel is misleading and to me suggests the hotel sits in its own, good size grounds, whereas in fact it does not and has little to no grounds of its own. The reference in other reviews to a 'steep climb' from the very tight car parking area, which is adjacent to the main road through the village, reflects the fact that their are no grounds to the hotel and in fact the rooms at the back of the hotel face local resident housing and are certainly not recommended. My other complaint about the website is that there is no comprehesive description of the rooms, nor 'honest' and helpful photographs. Our room , 'Chocolate' (one of only two on the ground floor and available for those with dogs), was very small and dark and again, Im afraid not to be recommended. I therefore suggest you do check other reviews for room recommendations. Another issue with the two ground floor rooms, is their poximity to the bar (open as an 'honesty bar' to all hours), which, if occupied, presents a major sleeping challenge to the occupants of the ground floor rooms! Overall, the negatives of 'compactness' of the hotel and particulary our room, were offset by the good weather we experienced, in a good location, with good food on offer!

Room Tip: Front facing, upper floor rooms must be the choice but ask about the size and outlook of what you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff who show a genuine interest in meeting your needs and ensuring your stay is a good experience. Food for breakfast and dinner is very good by the resident French chef, who introduced himself after an evening meal. Conveniently located near beach and Durdle door.
Be warned about the steep walk up to the front door, but as others have said, you will get help with luggage.

Room Tip: Our room enjoyed a good room, front of house with a view. Another tip - do yourself a favour and di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
21.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
18.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Property: Limestone Hotel
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing