We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining in Lulworth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Lulworth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were delighted to find this lovely restaurant and enjoyed three delicious meals. The quality of the food was excellent and the hosts were most welcoming . This restaurant has only been open since March but thoroughly deserves to become a permanent destination for visitors to Lulworth who are looking for superb dining! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    66
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
305
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having lived in the village for thirty plus years, it is now a pleasure to have such a quality hotel and restaurant on our doorstep.
We went with two neighbours for a meal on the 14 August. The surroundings were very tasteful and elegant, the food was superb, the service was excellent and the owners and manager were a pleasure. Can't wait for our next visit, with this type of service and food it can only go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iandav1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying at a nearby B & B last week, when we went for a walk one afternoon and saw the Limestone Hotel. It looked interesting, so we sat outside for afternoon tea. While we were there, I went inside to look at the restaurant, and then booked up for dinner the following evening. I was glad I did. We had a drink beforehand in the bar where we chose our meals. I had a goats cheese tart for starters which was made with caramalised onions, then lovely sweet tomatoes and then melted goats cheese on top. It was delicious. The restaurant was full, which is unusual for a Wednesday night, but there were only about 12 tables. The owners were only young and hadn't been there long, but I know it will be successful if our meals were anything to go by!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_mayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Phoned and booked a one night stay for my husbands birthday.
Carpark a little tight for large vehicles, but once sorted, a lovely welcome, and was shown to our room, called The Boathouse.
Edward, don't forget to put a longer link between key and nametag, as too tight to easily open door!
5min walk to the Cove. Super location, if you want to be away from the crowds, but still close to everything.
Sat and had drinks overlooking the Village - a beautiful view.
Dinner was very good, and also Service. The scallops and lobster were super - just the medium rare steak, for us, a little too well done.
Breakfast was really first class - lovely food, and all served in a very relaxed atmosphere.
Infact, I think that was what we really liked about Limestone - the relaxed atmosphere...we were never hurried, and lets face it, we come away from the hustle and bustle for some peace.
Lovely hosts and staff, and a wonderful stay - we will definitely recommend, and hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: The Boathouse is a lovely bright room overlooking the garden. Comfortable split double bed. Good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked 3 nights through Booking.com arriving on a Sunday evening having booked in for Dinner. First impressions are very good - the hotel sits above the road and parking area and the owners (open since March 2013) have done the best they can with the parking arrangements - 10 rooms, 10 spaces. A bit tight and needs some forethought by the guests to ensure all fit nicely - a couple of ignoramuses during our stay. From the terrace you can see past the Church and across the valley giving just a hint that the sea might lie over the hill! A perfect spot for afternoon tea, cream tea or a pre/post dinner drink.
The hotel is well appointed and our room at least - The Boathouse - was really nice. Can't comment on the others but I suspect all very similar. Ours was a Superior Room - not sure what that means though as the room was small, with only hanging space for clothes, but definitely a nice aspect - so maybe that was it? Locking the door was a challenge without scraping stain off the door jamb or skin off knuckles - huge key fob and small gap between keyhole and door jamb!
We had a good welcome on arrival and staff and owners ( a multi-national bunch) were very friendly, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. Breakfasts were very good, we had a superb Dorset Cream Tea on the terrace, but the piece de resistance were the evening meals. The owner had "stolen" the two chefs from his last hotel, and boy can they cook! We missed one meal as we were out late and far sightseeing, but the choice, style and quality of the food was superb! I do not normally eat much fish but I had two fish starters and two fish mains over the two meals - all locally caught and landed down the road in the Cove - which by the way was only few minutes safe walk away. Although not fish (!) the desserts were also really tasty, and all accompanied by a good choice of wines from the reasonably priced to the special.
If you like walking then you can pick up the coast path east or west from the Cove - although check the times that the Army Range is open if you want to go east to Tyneham Village and the fossilised forest. The climb up to Durdle Door is best done before the Sun is too fierce and I recommend a Limestone full English Breakfast for energy.
I would stay here for the food alone, but anyway the hotel hits the spot from most angles. The current owners have uplifted it from a 5 bed B&B to a 10 bed Hotel and I guess that it is a bit on the small side. Although a couple of niggles in that respect it still gets 5 stars from me - 4.5 would be fairer but 4 would be too low. Should I get the chance to return to that part of Dorset, I would certainly check The Limestone first. Oh, and keep those chefs!

Room Tip: Take a Superior Room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cr4zyH4rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here between 8th and 12th July. Although our room was slightly smaller than expected with no view to talk of -it was absolutely spotless and luckily the weather was such that we didn't have to stay in for long . Breakfasts were excellent and the food in general was of a very high standard- in fact the best by a mile in the area. We did have a minor hiccough with the temperature of the water but we would like to thank the owners for their response and very kind gift . All the staff were very friendly .Wouldn't hesitate to come back but would definitely opt for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel .

Room Tip: Choose room facing the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmhawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this newly opened hotel for our wedding anniversary & had a great time. The hotel has been refurbished to a fresh & contempory feel. The owner & his French partner are very helpful & the breakfasts are great. I would also recommend eating in the restaurant in the evening too - delicious seasonal, locally produced food cooked by the french chef.
We used the hotel as a base to walk the beautiful coast line & it is ideally located for this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloucestershirediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
21.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Property: Limestone Hotel
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing