We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and beautiful setting”
Review of Limestone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limestone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Limestone: the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, it is in an excellent location with lovely views and the service was fab. The food is also well above expectation for a B&B, with the salmon and brioche being particularly good! Our favourite thing about it was the bar, which is really cosy with a lovely open fire so after a drink at the local pub it was great to come back to our own space and play a few board games etc in the warm. We will definitely be heading back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boathouse, which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnellaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words!

The team and I were very pleased to read your review. Our cosy bar would not be the same without the log fire and I am pleased to hear you found our games trunk.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone Hotel in the future.

Best wishes,

Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just stayed one night in Lulworth but this was a great choice. The hotel has recently been redecorated and our room (The Writer's Room) was light, airy and full of character will a great view of the countryside. Each room has a theme and I imagine all are equally good with their own individual character. Accommodation in Lulworth is either nearer the Cove or further into the heart of the village, which is where The Limestone is, which means it's only a short walk to the local pub (The Castle) serving lots of real ales and ciders. It also means it's away from the main throng of tourists but still just a short walk to the Cove and Visitor Center. A full cooked breakfast was available and there was also croissants, nice jams, toast, cheese, juices etc on offer. We ate at the pub in the evening but there was a tempting dinner menu and a bar at the hotel. If I return to Lulworth I would stay here again and definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cake_yum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Limestone Hotel. Your excellent review enables others to make an informed decision when looking for accommodation in the Dorset countryside.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just a week after it opened and are delighted to say the new young owners have decorated it beautifully and are already offering excellent service. There is a choice of very comfortable, clean and relaxing rooms, a nice cosy bar with a real coal fire and excellent quality food. It sounds too good to be true but the chef actually walks down to all Lulworth Cove each morning to buy the fresh fish for his 'catch of the day' dish. They even served huge fresh oysters and scallops while we were there. So, if you are just planning a short break or a romantic weekend and want a good quality hotel in a lovely setting then give this a try. And, on the last morning we woke up to see the village blanketed in snow - perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your fantastic and informative review!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Limestone. We have just spent many months undergoing a major refurbishment program and it is wonderful to hear we are not the only ones pleased with the outcome.

The snow was an unexpected surprise and we got some great photos. Please do come and visit us again in the summer when you can take advantage of the beautiful beaches here.

Kind regards,

Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely little hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for the young management team. Our room (the Boathouse) was very comfortable, the evening meals in the restaurant excellent and breakfasts a treat. Our room was a superior one with a wonderfully comfortable super king bed and ensuite bath/shower. Beautifully quiet. (Room rating below based on our room as we did not view others). Would have liked to stay longer and definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Phone to discuss your requirements - the staff will do their very best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

Your feedback is really appreciated and is motivation for the whole team here at Limestone Hotel.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Limestone hotel in the near future.

Best wishes,


Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just spent two nights at this lovely hotel which has been extensively refurbished.The new owners Edward & Darcia were extremely welcoming. As it was our anniversary a card and flowers were in the room upon our arrival. We stayed in the Garden Suite which is decorated to a high standard. The food was excellent and service was very efficient and personal. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful trip advisor review!

Congratulations once again! It was a pleasure to host you for your anniversary and I am extremely pleased to hear you had such a good time.

Our restaurant has only just opened and it is fantastic to receive such feedback so early on. We are continuously making changes to enhance the dining experience so please do visit us again soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Called in to see the newly refurbished hotel to see for myseklf as have heard alot about it, very welcoming lovely people towards me and my family. Sat in the lovely bar area with its warm roaring fire which my children loved and felt so cosy and relaxed like we were in there home. Ordered Dorset Apple Cake and Lemon Drizzle Cake both were gorgeous yum with clotted cream and a lovely pot of tea devine x Thankyou for making my family welcome as you probaly dont get too many little ones there

Loved the quirky decorations around the hotel and we were shown around the rooms they are perfect in every way and its an ideal place for even just a night to get away and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere good food & drink and be around such friendly people. Next time I want to come back for a romantic stay - hint hint to my husband .

I wish them all the luck in the world and everyone should come here I cant praise it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annaroseink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

I am so pleased you had a wonderful relaxing afternoon at Limestone. Our main aim is to offer a welcoming hotel with personal service, it is very rewarding to hear such feedback.

I am also extremely pleased you liked the newly refurbished bedrooms. All 10 of our rooms have a different theme and as you stated, many quirky features to make them that little bit more special!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone hotel when your husbands treats you to that well deserved romantic night away.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just spent a night at this lovely boutique type of hotel which has recently re-opened under new management. It has a great position set up a hill with lovely views. There is a short climb up from the carpark which might be a problem for people with limited mobility but there is a path as well as steps so a case on wheels can be pulled up without too much difficulty. The friendly young couple running it have really gone to town with the decor and furnishings and our room was excellent -we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel was not busy. The bed was really comfy with crisp white sheets and good quality pillows. There is a cosy small bar with an open fire. The evening meal was excellent, fresh fish is sourced daily from the local harbour. We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We were given the coice of a ground floor top floor suite -both lovely. We did not see the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJW2901, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor!

We have spent many months working extremely hard extensively refurbishing the hotel. Your kind comments make all the hard work worth it and are really appreciated.

I am also very pleased to hear you had a nice meal in our restaurant. We are very lucky to have such fresh seafood on our doorstep and we take advantage of it as much as possible. Please rest assured I will pass your comments onto our chef who I know will be delighted to hear.

Your informative review allows other to make an informed decision when looking for a relaxing break on the Jurassic coast.

Once again, thank you for your 5 star review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Limestone Hotel.

Best wishes,

Edward Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
975 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
489 reviews
21.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
634 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
18.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limestone Hotel

Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Gatton House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Lulworth
Price Range: $142 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Dorset hills, this stylish country house is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty on the Jurassic coastline.Limestone at Lulworth is a uniquely designed, characteristic hotel. The combination of traditional furnishings tastefully enhanced with a modern influence, creates an authentic English, country house feel with a touch of luxury. Combined with the relaxed, homely atmosphere makes this the perfect place for a well-deserved break.Just a short walk away from Lulworth cove and a brisk hike over the hill to Durdle door, listed by “Visit Britain” as one of the top 10 natural wonders of the UK, Limestone hotel is a perfect base to explore this quintessential part of England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Limestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatton House Hotel West Lulworth
Limestone Hotel West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing