We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dandelion Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

Dandelion Cafe Bistro
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great food !! a must to visit , sit outside and watch the world go by.
Annette the young lady that services tables in the restaurant inside, is brilliant

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    20
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Erratic and unorganised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had lunch here today. Took a long time to be served at the bar where we had to place food orders. Whilst waiting we witnessed staff being very impatient and quite rude with other customers, particularly a foreign gentleman trying to place a large order. We waited a reasonably long time for our food to arrive, it was alright but a long way from impressive or memorable. Tables around us remained uncleared, people arrived, noticed the state the place was in and left without ordering. Many wanted cream teas but at just gone 2pm they'd sold out already. The restaurant looks nice and maybe this was an 'off day' in high season but we won't return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location and nice terrace / deck. Bizarre design inside. Food quite random - some naff, some OK. Not cheap. Service ranged from delightful to rude.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BathBunnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try somewhere else at Lulworth Cove”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had lunch here and was less than impressed. The 2 children's meals consisted of a couple of slices of ham, a fried egg and some chips and cost £6.95 each. A baguette special was £7.95, Risotto £8.95 and a large portion of sausage and mash £10.95 (2 sausages and lumpy mash when it arrived) a soda and lime £2.45, small sparkling water £2 and a J2O £2.20. Queried why sausage and mash was so expensive and was told that there should have been 3 sausages for £10.95 (blamed new chef for lack of sausages) and received a refund of £4 (the difference between large and small portions) so 1 sausage costs £4 ( maybe you get some peas and a bit more lumpy mash for the higher price but I doubt it). The children needed to go to the toilet and we were informed that the restaurant toilets were out of order and we would have to take them to the public toilets about 200 yards away (try explaining that to a two and half year old child that's desperate) guess it must have been the day for repairing things as a workman decided to use a grinder on a piece of concrete by the back door so all-in-all not a very good experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Like2travelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Starters were very overprised for what you got. Menu did not reflect what you received e.g. I ordered "brie wedges" and got a deep fried brie piece at almost 7 pound a pop, not worth it. My friend ordered "crushed potatoes " ,needless to say they were not crushed! Waited 20 mins for the bill after we asked. Staff seemed to have disappeared from the shop floor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmtmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dandelion Cafe Bistro also viewed

West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing