We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Bindon Bottom B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bindon Bottom B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here on a very hot summer's weekend and it was a remarkable lovely weekend. We left really wanting to go back. The beauty of West Lulworth is memorable and Bindon Bottom is a good base to see it. I cannot fault the weekend we had. The B&B was luxurious but not pretentious. The personal touches were noticed and were well thought out. The breakfast was excellent. Lisa and Clive who own the B & B were attentive but not obtrusive (which is often a hard balance) and were really lovely. I would definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
818
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After our last visit here 3 years ago, we decided to return back to the lovely village of Lulworth, and where else were we going to stay but here at Bindon Bottom?!!

Since our last stay, there was a change in name from Graybank to Bindon Bottom but there was certainly no change in quality of great service, friendliness and character.

We stayed again in the Keats rooms, which itself has had a makeover and was simply delightful. Now with a luxurious en-suite, but still keeping that lovely traditional feeling which is one of the things we love about Bindon Bottom. The whole renovation has been done with class and style.

The breakfast was of the same high class standard, and I even asked Clive if he could give my wife some pointers in the kitchen.

We were lucky again with the fantastic weather, and enjoyed great walks over to Durdle Door and also tried the Lulworth Boat Ride around to Durdle Door, which was great.

Again, the only sad part of the stay was having to say goodbye and leave the beauty of Bindon Bottom and Lulworth behind. I'm sure next time we won't leave it 3 years before booking our next stay.

Thanks Clive and Lisa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiano1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the first moment when Lisa welcomed us, we knew this was the right place. The attention to detail that she and Clive devote to their very special hideaway means that calling Bindon Bottom just a B&B is like calling the Royal Treorchy Male Voice Choir a bunch of singers. Wonderfully comfortable bed, superb breakfast and a great view (especially from Hardy, the room on the front on the first floor). I'm not going to repeat what other reviewers have said....yes, biscuits....yes, proper milk....yes, really nice-smelling toiletries....yes, locally sourced chipolatas and bacon for breakfast...and so on...I could go on, but, simply, book, go, be welcomed, be pampered, be grateful that people like Lisa and Clive exist to raise the bar for the British B&B.

Room Tip: Front of the property faces west so less sun in the morning - could be good if you're a late sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew51rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This has to be the most special B and B ever! It is set in a beautiful location near Lulworth Cove and Lisa's welcoming and warm manner comes across straight away. The room felt a wonderful clear, clean "space" with a beautiful view out the back, straight onto a gloriously green coastal footpath. The attention to detail was perfect! Fab power shower, heated towel rail, a fridge on the landing with milk in jugs (so much nicer than those tiny fiddly cartons of milk)..also good to put a bottle of wine in! Bottles of spring water. Beds so, so comfortable!Lovely cookies in a jar.....It is very professionally run, easy to book online, a welcoming text, a menu for next day's breakfast, which was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious! Interest was taken in where one was heading for the day, and little local tips of information given...Lisa has clearly done her homework on the area! The attention was personal, but not overly so...just right!

We left feeling totally cared for and rejuvenated! A true breath of fresh air! I would recommend this totally to anyone in need of care, a beautiful relaxing environment and good food!

We really could not wish for

Room Tip: They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyD4ncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from spending a week at Bindon Bottom and feel completely pampered and spoilt after our stay. Lisa and Clive have thought of everything for the comfort of their guests and their warmth and hospitality made our holiday just that little bit more special. The breakfasts (cooked by Clive) are delicious and plentiful and really set you up for the day whilst Lisa is always there to help with tips on where to eat, places to visit or good walks around the area. Bindon Bottom is a charming B & B and every time we walked through the front door we were greeted by the gorgeous smell of Lisa’s lovely scented candles – wonderful. Our room (Keats) was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the house, and we loved the countryside views from our window. We plan to visit Lisa and Clive for another relaxing break in the not too distant future and would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B & B to our friends and family.

Room Tip: As mentioned we had Keats room which was lovely because of the views but from what I saw, all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscany079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We can’t recommend this B&B enough. If you are visiting Lulworth or the surrounding area then you really should be staying here.

Booking was really easy (availability is shown on their website), and then the night before we were due to travel we received a text message confirming everything and wishing us a safe journey. A nice small touch, we felt, and in fact it’s the small touches that really make this place shine.

Lisa and Clive – the couple who run Biddon Bottom – were really friendly and approachable. Lisa greeted us upon arrival and showed us around and was on hand for queries/recommendations on what to see. Clive was our chief chef and cooked us up several wonderful breakfasts…more on that later.

We were in the Barnes room on the top floor which, whilst small, was perfect for our needs and still packed a double bed and shower room.
The room was spot-less, the shower-room looked new, towels were fluffy, and the whole room was obviously given a thorough clean during housekeeping visits whilst we were out and about.

As well as the expected tea and coffee facilities, there were some delicious biscuits and chocolates left in our room each day. Finally as an added bonus there was a box of ‘essentials’ too…things like plasters, shaving gel, sun-screen etc…just in case you’d forgotten to pack something.

The breakfast was amazing, with a wide choice of cereals on offer, or a full English fry-up, or poached/scrambled eggs on toast. There were vegan/vegetarian options on the menu too. I got the feeling that if you had a dietary requirement that Clive would do all he could to accommodate it! Everything was really tasty and well-presented, and we left the table each morning rather full, after over-indulging.

All in all, excellent and if we visit the area again, we’ll be staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just arrived home after spending a week at Bindon Bottom B + B. Lisa and Clive are two of the nicest people we have met, the minute you walk through the door of their beautiful home you are made welcome. We stayed in the lovely Hardy room but we would have happily taken any room available.Everything was faultless from delicious breakfasts, beautiful decor throughout, comfortable beds, spotless linen, gorgeous bathroom products and lovely treats left daily in our room.A very big thankyou to Lisa and Clive for being so kind and thoughtful when I wasn't feeling too good and also for the delicious packed lunch they provided for our journey home.We hope to visit again in the future and high recommend Bindon Bottom.(if you go you must have Clive's poached eggs).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreenandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
440 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
785 reviews
4.0 mi away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
68 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bindon Bottom B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bindon Bottom B&B

Property: Bindon Bottom B&B
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Graybank Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisa and Clive welcome you to Bindon Bottom. This charming Victorian country house built of Purbeck and local stone is our home, nestled into the bottom of Bindon Hill in the quintessential English village of West Lulworth, Dorset. We have five guest rooms at Bindon Bottom: Four double rooms and one twin room. We feel sure you'll have a very relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Because of our perfect location and our relaxed atmosphere, many guests settle into Bindon Bottom as their base to discover the magnificent World Heritage Jurassic Coast as well as the beautiful Dorset Countryside and the Isle of Purbeck. Each guest room offers: * An extremely comfortable bed made up with Organic & Pure Cotton bed linen, luxury duvets and divine pillows * Flat screen TV, with 'Free Sat' Channels & DVD player ~ And we have a new DVD Library. * Wi Fi Internet Access * A hospitality tray brimming with Organic/Fair Trade tea & herbal teas, coffee, hot chocolate, decaf tea & coffee, filtered bottled water, fresh local milk and a jar of local biscuits & snacks. * Fluffy Fair Trade/Organic cotton towels * Luxury Fair Trade/Organic bathrobes * Eco Hair dryer * A wind-up Eco Torch to get you to the pub and back in the dark (there are no street lights in the village) * Organic luxury toiletries including hand wash, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel/bath foam & lots more... * The Official Jurassic Coast Information & Guide Books * A guest folder filled with useful information and ideas on where to eat and what to do... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Bottom Bed And Breakfast
Bindon Bottom Hotel West Lulworth
Bindon Bottom B&B West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing