We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit off a let down”
Review of Tewkesbury Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tewkesbury Cottage
Ranked #6 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit off a let down”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Positive.

Lovely location

Not so positive

Rather cramped bedroom (the double bed in our room filled most of the room)

Tariff (on website)
Twin or double £65
En-suit £70

We were charged £70 (one night) for our double room and I notice on your website that this is for an en-suit room (we had a room with a shared bathroom), so a bit of a cheeky overcharge.

I my opinion the shared bathroom needed a better clean and tidy up.

It would be useful at breakfast to have a list of the food content of the cooked breakfast prior to serving, thereby giving the customer the choice to exclude items if not required (it's a BIG cooked breakfast!).

I felt the awkwardness created by us not wanting to stay a second booked night* and the uncertainty about their cancellation policy also tainted our one night stay; however the agreement reached was at least amicable.

(* due to adverse weather conditions and the cancellation of coasteering session which was our primary reason for visiting Lulworth)

If Tewkesbury is fully booked the car parking is very tight!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick_harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Geoff, myself and Tilly our dog, stayed with Jackie & Bob for 6 nights at the beginning of June, 12 and had a very enjoyable, relaxed time. They could not be more welcoming and for Tilly our dog, who enjoyed her bacon each morning. The breakfast is brilliant if you like to have 'the works' to set you up for the day, and Jackie would do what ever you fancied that morning! We stayed in the blue double room and were lucky to not have to share the bathroom facilities as our stay was predominantly in the week. The room had T&C making facilities, hairdryer and a combi t.v. radio,DVD unit which we made good use of. Nothing was too much trouble and we would have no hesitation in recommending and also it's location is perfect if you like to do walking as many trails to get to from there, especially the Military Ranges (note think these are only open weekends and bank holidays so advise to plan accordingly as brilliant coastal walk - we went to Tyneham, a derelict village that was taken over for D-Day landings but the church there has been restored with lots of the history within).
Overall Jackie & Bob invite you into their lovely thatched cottage with open arms!

Room Tip: All four rooms of similar size though I believe the en-suite to be slightly bigger - the 3 I saw all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiKungTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at TC for three nights in May with our little Cocker Spaniel. We had the purple double ensuite room. The owners Jackie and Bob were just lovely, making the three of us very welcome! The B and B is a small, dog friendly one in a thatched cottage.
The room had everything we needed and was cosy with the beams, although my 6ft 2 husband did have to watch his head throughout the property!

Breakfast was lovely, and Jackie cooked it to our requirements, even the sausage for the dog!

We were all made to feel so welcome and would not hesitate in going back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Beautiful thatched cottage, in the quaint little village of West Lulworth. Very warm welcome by Jackie and Bob, our wonderful hosts. Only stayed 1 night, but felt that we had known Bob & Jackie much longer. Amazing breakfast.....great company....wish we had stayed longer. Lyn & Kevin, Australia

Room Tip: Have just read other reviews, and was surprised dogs stayed in the rooms. Don't let this put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Tewkesbury Cottage for two nights 11th and 12 May 2012. We ahd a fantastic time. The breakfast that Jackie provides is fantastic. We were able to walk for about 6 hours along the coast without the need to re-fuel. Jackie and Bob made us really welcome and our Lab/Husky cross could not wait to get down to breakfast every morning for his sausage. THe pub up the road is also very dog friendy and the food is typically great pub nosh. THey even have dog biscuits on the bar. We would certain recommend Tewksbury, Jackie, Bob and Lulworth if you want a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Stairs are a bit steep but in a period cottage what did we expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here with our little dog Abram and had a lovely time. Jackie and bob made us feel really welcome for the whole time we aere there. The breakfasts are HUGE and even Abram got a plate of sausages to set us all up for the day. We would advise anyone with a dog to stay here, they are REAL doggie people. Thank you Jackie and Bob for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just enjoyed a lovely weekend with Jackie and Bob in this wonderful cottage. We have never been made to feel so welcome as we did here, especially with our dog Flossie in tow, it was just like we were visiting old friends. The breakfasts are unbelievably good, and the rooms are clean, quaint and cosy. The cottage is within easy reach of the beach and the coastal path, and the local dog friendly pub is a 5 minute walk away. Remember to take a torch for the walk back at night. We all loved it, and are sure you will too. Really reluctant to share it as it truly is a great find. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
450 reviews
7.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,034 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
8.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
12.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tewkesbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tewkesbury Cottage

Property: Tewkesbury Cottage
Address: 28 Main Road | Dorset, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tewkesbury Cottage Hotel West Lulworth
Tewkesbury Cottage West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing