We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mid week treat in fabulous surroundings”

Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A mid week treat in fabulous surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

With weather to good to ignore, a diversion on the way home from work via Lulworth with the family was an excellent way to spend the evening... Food and drinks were great quality and good value and the staff 'lovely' as advertised on the recruitment poster.

The menu remains the same as all other Hall and Woodhouse pubs in the area which is only a problem if you are a vegetarian and have had both options regularly.

What a view down to the cove ... Don't think about a visit without googling and looking at the pictures first as it will make up your mind in a moment.

Helpful?
Thank IanPEtheridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    321
    101
    49
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great service, lovely food and drink. We were seated quickly, food was quick to arrive. No gripes at all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MummyPhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub restaurant in Lulworth Cove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had dinner for two on a swelteringly hot evening and sadly food was not being served on their lovely terrace, overlooking the Cove. But on the plus side, the ice-cold Badgers beer was delicious, the fish and chips (New Zealand hoki - why, when the pub is next to the sea?) very well cooked - an enormous portion with good chips and a salmon citrus salad generous and nicely served. The service was prompt, courteous and welcoming although they were very busy the night we went. All in all, a good choice for Lulworth Cove!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you haven't been to a H&W before (they're dotted around the west) this is one of the nicest I've been to. The first school holiday rush and the barstaff were unflustered at the onslaught of hungry and thirsty customers queuing out the door. A credit their food arrived after 30 minutes (after a significant queue for ordering) and they were incredibly polite and friendly, making banter with waiting customers. The food for an English tourist attraction was reasonably priced (we had 2 large baguettes with fries and salad and 2 ciders at it came to £17) and the location was lovely, a sprawling back terrace with an array of wildflowers.
It was a pleasure to visit and we'd definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

On the road just up form the Cove this is perfect for dinner before a stroll around the cove or short walk to many B&Bs in the area. And teh outdoor area is lovely for a summer evening meal.
We ended up going here 3 times in our weekend break. Food was good each time, steak was lovely, harissa chicken was real nice recommend that, lamb burger fair, fish platter I loved in the most part but fishcake could have been better, desserts were very good and very generous!
The service was superb, helpful friendly, efficient staff. One incident of particular mention; there's no cheeseboard on the menu which we quite fancied. The waiter saw we had put down the menus, and asked if he could help. We declined and said we were looking for a cheeseboard. No problem said he, offered us cheddar, stilton and goats cheese, and, with a nod from the manager, we had our cheeseboard in 5 minutes with a good selection of cheese, biscuits and pickles, all very tasty and spot on. Superb service!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIXOCLOCKTICKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant also viewed

West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
Chaldon Herring, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing