We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Old Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Barn
Ranked #4 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked last minute and we were very lucky to get the last room. We only stayed for one night but had 2 days in the area. our room (1) was massive and a lovely big bathroom. Comfy bed and also had a big fridge. There is a small kitchen that is shared and has everything you need. They are also dog friendly and have a big garden. Sarah and her husband were very friendly and helpful
The breakfast was tasty and lots to choose from. All in all a wonderful place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
94
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Tonight is the last night of our stay and we're already thinking about when we can return. This B&B is immaculate and nicely decorated. Our room (2) has a lovely comfortable bed, good facilities and nice views across the fields. Breakfast is delicious with a good choice. I had Salmon and scrambled egg which was the best I've had anywhere. Sarah and the family work really hard and are really approachable if you need anything.

We had most of our evening meals at The Lulworth Cove Inn which was good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winniespy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Old Barn and we are already looking at dates when we can return. We were greeted like friends and made so so welcome. Our room was so roomy with a sofa and two arm chairs to sit in, all like the rest of the furnishing in keeping with the character of the Old Barn and not mass produced one size fits all furniture that you see in so many places. All the furniture is of a very high standard and quality and there are lots of lovely little touches around to add even more atmosphere and character to an already splendid place. The bed was huge and the bathroom was so spacious with the largest supply of towels I have ever seen anywhere I have stayed. The level of cleanliness is remarkable it is as if everything is brand new it is spotless there is a not a speck of dust, cobweb or grimy mark anywhere - even the places that very often get missed are gleaming. The welcome/information pack is informative and very well put together and covers everything you might need to know. The additional of a guest kitchen and lounge area is a nice bonus and a fridge in the room is also a useful and thoughtful touch. The breakfasts set you up for the day and there is such a wide choice of high quality cold buffet items all fresh and well presented and so eye catching that you are just spoilt for choice. The cooked breakfast again offers something for everyone - including a choice of 3 veggie sausages which I have never been offered before alongside a wide range of excellently cooked and again well presented other items that make up a super cooked breakfast. Again all the crockery and cutlery is fitting to the venue and not characterless pieces and it is great to see such a well laid out breakfast table with everything you could possibly need and more. Again the friendliness and willingness to do all they can to make sure you have everything you want at breakfast just shines through. Sarah and Mr & Mrs Lance are just such wonderful hosts and make you feel so special and cared for and it is wrench to leave. We cannot recommend the Old Barn enough on any level - everything is perfect from the hosts - the rooms - the facilities and the food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zetta321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had two excellent nights at the Old Barn. It was all you could wish for: very clean, very comfortable and and excellent breakfast. The hosts were also very friendly and helpful. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anti-HS2campaigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My sister and I had the delightful experience of spending a night at the Old Barn in West Lulworth. We were on a walking trip and this was our last stop. Wonderful hosts, very helpful with train details, and a most delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at The Old Barn. We stayed in Room 1 which was spacious, comfortable with a lovely lay out and spotlessly clean. There was a warm welcome from Sarah as well as our dog. Breakfast was very good and my difficult dietary needs were easily met, without fuss. Would i stay here again, most definitely Yes, as i feel it was one of the best B&B I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCollins64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend at The Old Barn and lovely Lulworth Cove. Very welcoming guest house that really deserves its Enjoy England 4 star rating. Very comfortable bed in a very well equipped and furnished room. Great breakfast with an amazing choice for such a small establishment. Lots of different fruits and cereals as well as great cooked food. Very dog friendly - guide dog Kasper loved the garden! Thanks again Anne and Steve

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annebingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
442 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
427 reviews
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
8.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Property: The Old Barn
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star family run B&B with Silver Award and Breakfast Award, set in beautiful Lulworth Cove area. Restaurants and pubs both in the village and at the cove which are a short walk away [approx 5 minutes]. Guests are encouraged to use our quiet gardens to relax in,or to access the coastal walks. All the beaches are a short distance away, with Lulworth Cove only 8 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel West Lulworth
The Old Barn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing