We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family room set up :)”
Review of The Old Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Barn
Ranked #4 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family room set up :)”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked for a long weekend over the May bank holiday...absolutely lovely. The family suite has its own internal entrance and behind this secure door is a double room, a twin with two singles and a family bathroom. This was perfect for us as it meant in the evenings we could leave the bedroom doors open allowing the light and TV noise to filter into the room where my daughter slept...she can't sleep if it too quiet. All the rooms have a homely charm that is fitting for the age of the building, and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast menu is diverse with a pancakes with syrup option for kids. I forgot to take the owners advise a pre book restaurants for evening meals in the cove so we had to drive to short distance but it really didn't worry us however if you want to stroll down to the cove to eat be sure to book a restaurant in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahjay1, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello Jane
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased the family unit worked out well for you. Please pass on to your daughter that Billy is eating a lot of dandelions and has put on weight! Regards Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    16
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
93
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for one night on Friday 5th April (usual is 2 nights minimum, however the owner was very accommodating when I made booking) was advised that the double room available (room 6) was small but this was not an issue as bed was fantastically comfortable and we didn't need a large room for one night and room was actually very comfortable size) Room and bathroom well decorated, clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent with a range of cereals and full fry up with perfect poached eggs :-).

We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to our friends and family...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahjay1, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello NJC
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate your positive comments about room 6 and that we mastered the poached eggs...on this occassion!!
Regards Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Old Barn over the long Easter weekend with our doggies and thoroughly enjoyed our min-break. Not only were we made to feel welcome, but our dogs were welcomed too which was the icing on the cake! Our room (# 1) was huge and the decor was impeccable, making it a lovely place to relax when we weren't exploring the local surroundings. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choice, good quality food and we weren't rushed to finish. We were so impressed with our first experience we're about to book another mini-break at the Old Barn.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a big room with a big bathroom. Decor is lovely and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A fabulous friendly place to stay with an excellent home cooked breakfast!! Very clean & a lovely refurbished bathroom in our room. Very dog friendly. Staff/owners were so helpful and nice but not opposing in any way. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 749KylieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable couple of nights at the old barn. We arrived earlier than planned, but the room was available straight away. A very good size room and comfy bed. Breakfasts were tasty and lots of options. Would make a good base for the surrounding area. Many thanks for the lift back up to wool too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andymagoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I usually stay in hotels but found all the hotels shut when we went to Lulworth Cove last weekend. Then we stumbled on this place and have been really impressed by the quality and service of this B&B. We were given a huge room (room 4) and really feel we got value for money. The room was warm, comfortable and really clean. The room had all the usual stuff but the owners have put fridges in the rooms which was great because we could have our drinks chilled. The breakfast was really good. I had salmon and scrambled egg which was perfect and better than I've had in any hotel, and my wife had the full breakfast which she said was superb.

This family have worked really hard to make the best of this place and are really nice people and we will certainly give the hotels a miss and go back there when we return to Lulworth.

Room Tip: Room 4 really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahjay1, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you would consider us again. It is very helpful to get your feedback to ensure that we continue to offer a good service.

Regards

Sarah Jackson
The Old Barn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've visited The Old Barn twice. It's quite simply my favourite place to stay, anywhere. The Old Barn is located in the heart of the charming village of West Lulworth, close to the village church and just around the corner the wonderful village shop. There's a gentle walk down to the Cove which takes you through some lovely Dorset countryside and once you get to the Coastal Path, you will be surrounded by the most breathtaking scenery in all of Britain. The hosts of The Old Barn are warm and very friendly (the previous review seems totally out of character with both my experience and the tone of reviews on this site - a wrong telephone number perhaps?). Pick any topic to discuss with the hosts, from the weather to the meaning of life and you will soon find yourself absorbed into the most engaging conversations. The breakfast is exceptional - both in its generosity and in it's quality and the rooms are of a very high quality with plush, comfy beds. The added bonus of the guest kitchen is a nice touch which means you can make up a late snack or a picnic at a time that suits you. You won't find a finer place to stay in the whole of Blighty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GotaGreatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahjay1, Owner at The Old Barn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your excellent review. It is heartening to know that we provided good service and comfort during your stay and that you would consider staying with us again.

Best wishes

Sarah Jackson
The Old Barn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
7.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn

Property: The Old Barn
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star family run B&B with Silver Award and Breakfast Award, set in beautiful Lulworth Cove area. Restaurants and pubs both in the village and at the cove which are a short walk away [approx 5 minutes]. Guests are encouraged to use our quiet gardens to relax in,or to access the coastal walks. All the beaches are a short distance away, with Lulworth Cove only 8 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel West Lulworth
The Old Barn West Lulworth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing