We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, as always!”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crown Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Bransgore
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crown in Bransgore is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow, as always!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Had some fantastic Turbot tonight, cooked beautifully, the rest of my party had steaks,they said all of them were absolutely sublime, well seasoned and presented with care.
Linda looked after us tonight and her service is much to be admired.
Had a lovely pint of 'Summer Lightning',
Thanks for a great evening, see you soon!..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Subaka2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    103
    47
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly disappointing meal.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This pub has a good reputation in the area and I had previously enjoyed an excellent meal in another pub of the same chain. I was really looking forward to this meal but was very disappointed. We were a large group, who had pre-ordered our main courses and starters. Some starters arrived more quickly than others. My soup was barely warm, the same with the main course. No explanation was offered for the slow arrival of the food, some people in the group waited an hour for their meal after our arrival. There was clearly a problem getting meals out of the kitchen. Several of us did not bother to order a dessert or coffee.
This venue looks lovely and I would have been pleased to visit again had the food been hot and more promptly served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was it an off day?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had pre-booked and pre-ordered but the service was dismal and the food was luke warm, (we were too hungry to send it back) and it was frankly disappointing. No effort was made to try to placate us. I had visited this Restaurant many times before and always been pleased so what was wrong on Tuesday 28th may 2013 ? Considering it is half term you would expect better in a Tourist area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A favourite of ours but very busy”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I really like this pub/restaurant.... it was our holiday eating venue when we used to visit the New Forest from South London before finally deciding to move here. The only downside is that it does get very busy and they don't always have enough staff, as was the case last night. We prebooked a table but the service was very slow and it felt really chaotic so we cut our losses and left for somewhere quieter as it was our wedding anniversary. BUT there have been numerous other occasions where we have turned up without a booking and they have fitted us in and provided excellent service. The waiting staff work very hard and the menu is great, they just need more staff at times. We will be back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank chris128SouthCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went for lunch with friends, good food just by the eadge of the new forest, so you could make a nice day out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank ChristchurchRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Bransgore, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Bransgore, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
West Parley, Dorset
Sopley, Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing