We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a recommend”

Who'd A Thought It Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Who'd A Thought It Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $115
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: What is there to say about The Who'd a Thought It? The building is a restored sixteenth century pub, no doubt the site of countless parties and celebrations over the centuries, and is now a luxurious Champagne bar, restaurant and hotel. At the Whody, you can expect to have a truly unique and memorable experience whether you join us for the night, a meal or just a drink. Our restaurant, run by Master Chef finalist Tobias Caira, offers Classical English dishes, carefully prepared with local ingredients, plenty of attention to detail and the characteristic Whody flair. As a hotel, we're chock full of character and charm - each suite boasts its own singular personality. Whether you're looking for classical romantic elegance or stylish contemporary themes, we can provide something you won't find anywhere else. No matter your preference, your room will be fitted with flat screen TVs, hot drink-making facilities and en suite bathrooms. Select rooms also offer four-poster beds, jacuzzi baths, hot tubs and complementary champagne from our outstandingly well-stocked stores.
Rochester, Kent, United Kingdon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely a recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Ate here on Sunday and was very impressed, good attentive service from the staff
Food was exceptionally good, all members of my party thoroughly enjoyed their choices.
I had Oysters followed by a Crab meat starter then Flat iron steak, with roasted cherry tomatoes, spinach, three times cooked chips. Washed down with a home made sticky toffee pudding.

Will definitely be back..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BStephens2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    15
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only went to the hotel to meet friends for lunch but will definitely bear it in mind for a weekend
break. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent.
The menu includes a two or three course lunch option for a very reasonable price and it was
really very good. Its quite a way from us but will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GASTRONOMIC DELIGHTS AT GRAFTY GREEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have just returned home having enjoyed an excellent lunch. The Chef needs to be congratulated on his accomplished cookery skills, we had venison which was both tender, tasty and cooked to perfection and fillet steak which again was prepared to a similar high standard. We decided on the cheese plate to end our meal and how refreshing it is to have these served 'well conditioned' including an imaginative choice of a 'Ewes' milk cheese - delicious. 10/10.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food Lively Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have discovered this restaurant which not the normal local pub grub. The menu is different and interesting, presentation superb and excellent value. Definitely recommend a visit, we have been at a weekend and during the week and each time the same great standard of food. The interior design may not be to everyone's taste but creates a great and buzzy atmosphere with friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been using this restaurant for some years ,mostly in the summer because of the beautiful terrace dining area and it has always been good . We went there this August bank holiday for lunch and once again the experience was excellent . The service faultless and the food as good as anything you would get in a first class West End restaurant .
Couldn't fault it and am looking forward to our next visit !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raimondo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Who'd A Thought It Restaurant also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
Egerton, Kent
 

Been to Who'd A Thought It Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing