We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Who'd A Thought It
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Dering Arms(Pluckley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
207
90
48
24
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
90
48
24
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathoystersbottle of champagnedvd playerthe pubamazing roomround bedportion sizelittle touchesfood was lovelybar areasky tvcooked to perfectionbirthday treatfour poster bedfollowing morningone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 427 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Booked for a one night stay with lunch and breakfast with Groupon.
The hotel is in a very quiet part of Kent off the beaten track but well signposted. Arrived at lunchtime and was shown to our room by Carly who said that our table was ready for lunch whenever we wanted. The room (Laurent Perrier room, all rooms maned after champagne) was spotlessly clean, light and fresh with sketches of undressed females on the walls. Large king bed and 42 inch tv in room, bathroom was also clean with a large jacuzzi bath, the only downside was that the handbasin was very small and no cold water, the tap was fixed in the off position.
We went for lunch which was limited as we were on a Groupon voucher, the lunch was a small portion but very tasty. We booked for dinner which was a much larger portion than lunch but was also excellent and served by Carly. When we went for breakfast the next morning surprise, surprise we were served by Carly. Breakfast was limited, no cereal or fruit juice offered but once again the full english breakfast was adequate and well cooked. When we checked out it was Carly again. On the whole it was a very pleasant stay and i would recommend anyone to try it

Room Tip: Laurent Perrier room,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this hotel through Infotel; their booking agents two weeks prior to our stay, We had our confirmation e mail from the booking agent, who took card details, but when we arrived for our planned stay we were told that we was not booked in, this was after waiting at Reception for a long time being ignored by members of staff. The booking agent was not available because it was a Saturday, and our room had been taken.
This was on the very day of our 30th Wedding anniversary!
We complained by email to both Infotel and the Hotel manager but have not had any communication from the Hotel manager and no explanation from their agent who sent one email to say that they were looking into it.
We were not impressed by the lack of interest from the staff and would not recommend booking through their website, or using any online booking agent, especially those who are not open for business at the weekends!
We cannot comment on the stay itself but the impression we are left with is that customer service is not a priority!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A very friendly staff helped to make our stay this last weekend at what was one of the more unusual almost "quirky" places we have stayed.

It is basically an old pub that has been extended with chalets a few yards away offering the accommodation. Our room was recently decorated and included flat screen TV, iPod docking station, very comfortable bed and a nice jacuzzi with a good size separate shower plus a small private patio at the rear. It was let down by paint spills from the recent decoration, a cracked bathroom tile, a wobbly coat stand that doubled for a wardrobe, and loose fittings on the wrought iron bed. If these had been sorted it would have been a very pleasant room. I must emphasise that it was spotlessly clean however.

The food we thought was very good indeed - my wife had a lovely lobster and crab linguine whilst I had the beef fillet. The wine list was pretty good and not surprisingly in view of the marketing a good choice of champagne and champagne cocktails. The restaurant was unusually decorated (but nicely) and the staff were very friendly. But keeping with the "nearly there" on the accommodation side, whilst the staff brought an ice bucket for the wine they never actually asked us to taste the wine or indeed pour any into our glasses!

Get these small little things sorted and it will graduate from what I have called "quirky" and "nearly there" to "different" and "spot on".

Room Tip: You can park your car right by the chalets which are only 70 yards or so from the main building
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a great night away for my wife and I. The staff were very friendly and we were shown to our room on arrival which we could park outside the room. The room was great nice and clean, very well equipt with a jacuzzi. The food was exellent both at dinner and breakfast and very good value for money. Can not find anything bad to say as our stay was prefect. Thanks to the staff at the Who'd thought it. We will be coming back for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gus017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

i must first of all what a lovely lovely stay we had! we was greeted by the wonderful staff at the bar and was shown to our room what was beautiful it was comfy had everything we needed and was very clean the bath was shining! then we went to have a look around the location which was lovely and we always meet the maids who were 2 very chatty lovely ladies! we had breakfast and dinner and i must say what lovely food it was amazing i could not fault this place at all and i will defo be coming back so thank you so very much everyone at the who'd a thought it!!! :-D

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews