We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Sage
Nearby Hotels
Hotel des Hauderes(Les Hauderes)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Cambuse(Les Collons)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
94
24
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
24
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaute routecharming hotelthe ownerdining roomsaladhalf boardsmall villagetop floorpublic roomsloved this hotelde lareading roomsteam roomlarge windowsday trekfantastic viewspotatoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 123 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Three of us stayed here while doing the Haute Walkers' Route from Chamonix to Zermatt. La Sage is a pretty, traditional Swiss village and the hotel provides a memorable experience. We shared a room (one double bed plus a rather soft single bed) with a large en-suite bathroom and a balcony (just right for drying socks) with stunning mountain views. Other public rooms included a billiard-room and an old-fashioned reading room that made us feel we were back in the 19th century. Dinner (included in our room price) was exceptional and breakfast very acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel on our Hute Route walking holiday, what a lovely hotel. Very friendly staff, welcoming, warm and hospitable. Lovely Turkish bath, great food and relaxation areas. Soft sheets and comfy beds, perfect!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank nnefamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Consistently disappointed by Swiss hotelling which so often lacks warmth and charm, I absolutely loved the Hôtel la Sage. This is what you imagine a hotel in Switzerland should be like. The building was built at the beginning of the 20th century, in the golden age of Swiss tourism. The dining room and the sitting room/reading room above it both have high ceilings and huge panoramic windows offering a superb view of the mountains and the Val d'Herens. There is much evidence of wood. The entire place feels romantic and cosy and a part of the landscape that surrounds it.

The owner is very friendly and will chat to you willingly in fluent French or English. She appears to have brought something of the sunshine of her native Mauritius with her.

Our room was cosy and comfortable, with an excellent bathroom that was decorated in splendid taste (rare). Only the rather cheap carpets undersell the establishment.

The food on offer is table d'hôte - ie, there is no choice. It was extremely good, but if you want choice, you will probably have to drive the 15 mins to Evolène. There was also an excellent and copious breakfast.

Expense-wise, the Hôtel la Sage is not cheap, but it is worth the money and I will definitely be returning. The place offers real charm which is surely what the traveller to Switzerland is looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gliddofglood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

A gem of a hotel, with warm cozy rooms, a large spacious common area for dining, a salon for reading and board games, a steam room, ping pong table, fooze ball table, and magnificent views of the valley and surrounding area. The staff is friendly, warm and accommodating, and the chef is fantastic. I enjoyed exploring the hotel and its amenities, and felt completely relaxed and at ease.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

After a full day of hiking we were greeted by the lovely hostess of Hotel de La Sage who made us feel very welcome. Our accomodations were excellent and we elected for the half-board. Dinner that evening was well prepared and served. It was one of the best we had while travelling. The breakfast in the morning was also very good. As the hotel options for La Sage are limited, we were a bit nervous prior to arriving. We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely common rooms in the hotel with fabulous views, as well as the billiard room, outdoor ping pong and sauna in the basement.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDKDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews