We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic big rooms, with refrigerator and nice clean bathroom. Excellent service. Owner even carried our suitcases.

Breakfast was big and tasted great, especially the fruits were delicious.

Nice views from the rooms.

An interesting area to visit.

We would definitely recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberthofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
65
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night while travelling to an open day at st David's university. The location was excellent, with stunning views of the local countryside. We arrived quite late and jane was more than accommodating ringing ahead to the local pub to advise and book us in. The room was very spacious, with excellent facilities. Breakfast was brilliant, I particularly liked the options of a large or smaller cooked breakfast and the quality of bacon and sausages was very evident. Jane and Richard were lovely with all guests, nothing was too much effort. Thanks for a lovely stay, and I'm sure we'll be back for a fuller break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 524janeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I visted Hay on Wye with my daughter last week for the literary festival and found this marvellous b&b at the very last minute. They could not have been kinder - welcoming us late in the evening and giving us the most comfortable, beautifully clean and nicely furnished room with lovely en-suite shower room. They gave us a very good breakfast in the morning and were generally friendly and attentive. I can recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed B&B here and were very pleased with the standard of accommodation. Our room was extremely comfortable with a lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was very good. Richard and Jane were superb hosts and couldn't do too much for us. The only minor ciritiscim we have is the sign at the end of the road being small and hard to see. All in all we would strongly recommend it either for a one night stay or a week;s holiday! John and Angie from Berkshire

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband & I had a wedding to go to at Caer Beris Manor in Builth Wells &were unable to get a room there but to be honest it turned out to be to our advantage as we booked in for one night at Pwligwilym B&B. What a gem! The proprieters Richard & Jane were the most hospitable, helpful couple you could ever, ever wish to meet. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. In fact when we arrived we were greeted with a smile & shown to our lovely room which was to be honest not sort of enormous with a gigantic king size bed ( the most comfortable bed I've slept on in years) The room was spotlessly clean & fully functional.....flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits too. We had a large wet room en suite, spotless. All in all probably the best Room we have stayed in & we have stayed in many places before. The views from the room were outstanding & the surrounding gardens were immaculately kept. as we were in a bit of a hurry to get to the wedding Richard kindly offered us a lift in his personnal car to the venue, save us getting a taxi! Also, later that day when I had to return to the room B&B for a few hours rest, Richar yet again gave us a lift back to the venue. Never before have a couple been so friendly & so completely helpful! Having had a wonderful nights sleep we were given a very hearty breakfast, with all the trimmings & again nothing was too much trouble for them.....always with a smile. In conclusion I have to say this is a wonderful, warm, welcoming place to stay....why would you ever need to stay anywhere else if you are visiting this area of the country? Answer : you wouldn't. So, a BIG Thankyou to Richard & Jane for making our little stay in Pwllgwylim Cottages & B& B, Builth Wells a weekend to remember........see you next time we're in the area........Sonia & David Demille.

Room Tip: Fantasic room, amazing views, wet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were a family of 4 adults and a child and had the most memorable experience at this absolutely beautiful picturesque B&B. Absolutely everything about the rooms, the service, the food and the hosts was perfect! 5 star hotels cannot even begin to compare!! We will defintely be returning as soon as we can!

Room Tip: The rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The family room was modern, spotlessly clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and generous. But the real gem about this B&B are the owners- friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cilmeri
1.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
10.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages

Property: Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Address: Pwllgwilym Llanafan Rd, Cilmeri, Builth Wells LD2 3NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > Cilmeri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cilmeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing