We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time is Even Better!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visit this area from our home in Florence....it is an easy train ride. We chose this hotel once again...this time in the fall and can honestly tell readers that if you love the outdoors, but not 'roughing' it...then this is the place for you! It is in the area of Bolzano/Bozen but only a 15 minute taxi once you arrive at the Bolzano train station. You can walk about the many wonderful trails here and they will drive you to the start and you can walk back and at the conclusion of the day you are rewarded with some of the most delicious menu selections you will ever find anywhere. All typical local cuisine, no less than 4 courses and on Sundays 5. Breakfasts are buffet, and dress is always relaxed and casual in a European fashion. This hotel is in Italy of course, but in the German speaking area here and it is their first language. We spoke no German whatsoever and they speak....Italian, English, French, etc. so that would never be a problem. I think if you are looking for something fun and different but with elegance and charm then this is the place. We went to Bolzano this morning for shopping and lunch...and in this regard the shopping is incredible! Like Florence, Berlin, Paris all rolled into one....and much lower prices than one would find certainly in any other Italian area. We were able to walk to the cable car in Bolzano and in 10 minutes were back here in the hotel. You must however be someone fond of the outdoors and like that kind of thing. The rooms are lovely with gorgeous views and you are about 3000 feet up with mountains in the view of over 9,000 feet. You are two hours via train from Innsbruck, Austria and as such it is a perfect stop along the way. In summer however, the rooms are NOT air-conditioned so if this is something you absolutely need, it is not here, the nights are cool and crisp and during the day there is always a breeze. Highly recommended! The husband and wife owners Renata and Hans are a beautiful couple with a child and they operate the hotel in a professional and highly capable manner. There are amazing staff here that seem to always have a smile and it is just wonderful to sit in the evening and dinner and watch from your assigned table with your name "Fam. "whatever"...and how flawlessly it all comes about to make a perfect stay. There is also a very fine spa for massages and pedicures, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a great week at this beautiful hotel. The location is superb, just a few km from Bolzano, but in a truly amazing environment, with a breathtaking view on the Rosengarten montain, and Bolzano and its lights just below it.... simply perfect.

Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace, and the quality of food is five star.

Rooms are OK, but of course it depends on how lucky you are in getting a room with view or just overlooking the car park....but, hey, you don't came to the Dolomites to spend time in your room, do you?

And the staff: helpful, kind, very welcoming.

We will come back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidecarural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

After long drive from Frankfurt Germany we booked into the hotel for 1 night but felt so relaxed here we stayed 3nights. Food,service,friendly staff and great room with magnificent view of the Dolomites made the stay one of the best we have had in Italy. Even though the hotel is in Jenesien above Bolzano it is easy to catch the cable car (5minute walk from hotel) to Bolzano where there is magnificent architecture and great shopping. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay through the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff at Schonblick Belvedere Hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ROBYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are based in Florence, Italy and as such view this as an easy alternative to Cinque Terre and in particular Monterossa. You can be here two ways easily: Eurostar from CAMPO DI MARTE train station....make sure you say that to the driver and not just the 'train station' which implies the main station Santa Maria Novella and takes 3 l/2 hours and one stop later from Bologna and in that case 3 hours later. You arrive in town and need to take a taxi up here which is 29 euros, but it is your option. There is the cable car but unless you are still in the backpacking days and do not mind walking about 2 km to the car you are obliged to take the taxi. On the other hand if you are with only the backpack, then it is an easy walk from the stop only 5 minutes to the hotel when arriving up there. Now the hotel, it is just wonderful. We are in Room 40l which has a private balcony overlooking the mountains and all of the town of Bolzano/Bozen below. There is virtually no English speaking guests here and really even though we are indeed in Italy....the spoken language is German ...albiet a very soft version of it. They are lovely here, staff, guests, really everyone you encounter are helpful in any way they can. Rooms are spotless, it is the food and not just the quality but the imagination and the traditional version of this area that make it shine. We are on half-board with a wonderful array of things for breakfast and a terrace overlooking the mountains and then the dinner!! Five or Six courses and salad buffet, just anything you could ever want...yet with a slant of this area and not really Italian dishes. There is no air conditioning and in this moment it is warm in the day, but always with a breeze and as soon as the sun drops it is almost cold and you need the duvets that are on each bed. There are walking and nordic tours free of charge and escorted almost every day; there is a spa, library and the prices are more than fair for the quality of what is rendered to each guest. We recommend this highly and it is too often overlooked because people do not know about it. Quiet, peacefulness, trails abound, easily marked, no tour groups of people and do not let the lack of English turn you from visiting, almost everyone speaks enough that it is never a problem. We are already planning another visit in the fall. For variety you can also break the trip into two. A few days up here and then a few days in the centre in Bolzano/Bozen for the wonderful variety of things ongoing down there. Tomorrow begins a jazz festival and the shops and restaurants are outstanding. You will love it here if you give it a try.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the town of Bolzano/Bozen
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very nice hotel, rooms were great, beds very comfortable. The view is one of the best in all of europe. Great walk to town, lots of history. Dinner was excellent, prices were reasonable. Service was good, but not real friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent a beautiful weekend at the Hotel Schoenblick Belvedere. It is situated in the little town of San Genesio, about 4 Km above the beautiful city of Bolzano. It is a great location, not just for the view but the amazing access to the city. You can take the little cable car situated only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and it will drop you off right in the city, without worrying about a place to park your car. (If you prefer to drive, the city center is only 10 minutes away.)

The hotel room was nice, with a clean shower and comfortable bed. We highly recommend booking the room facing the valley; ours was facing the entrance to the hotel and the view is not even close to what you have by facing the opposite way.

The hotel breakfast is served on the balcony and everything was really good. It had plenty of fresh squeezed juices, cereal, meats, fruit, tea and coffees. We had the chance to have dinner at the hotel restaurant; everything was really good, even though we found the prices to be a little high. Being situated in a small town with not much to offer, you are obviously drawn to have dinner there, which is what we actually did, two nights in a row. We didn't have the chance to use the hotel pool, the weather was always rainy but we did have a chance to use the hotel sauna and it was a great way to end a busy day visiting Bolzano. All in all, we'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Bolzano.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

What a great place to stay. Top class room, spacious and spotless with an awesome view. Cannot fault the food, ample and delicious. Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. View from the hotel was fantastic and only a few minutes walk to the cableway to get down to Bolzano/Bozen. Weather did not allow for much exploring, snow everywhere, but still had a great time visiting the area. Thank you to the lovely sisters and staff, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helix139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Genesio Atesino
0.8 mi away
Hotel Konig Laurin
Hotel Konig Laurin
#3 of 5 in San Genesio Atesino
58 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.5 mi away
Landgasthof zum Hirschen
Landgasthof zum Hirschen
#2 of 5 in San Genesio Atesino
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#5 of 26 in Bolzano
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
537 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#11 of 26 in Bolzano
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Localita Pichl 15, 39050 San Genesio Atesino, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Genesio Atesino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Genesio Atesino
Price Range: $202 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jenesien – doesn’t the mere name of this place have a fairy-tale sound to it, far away from everyday stress, and all the things you should or have to do? Up here, in the dreamy mountain village on the edge of the porphyritic rock plateau lies Hotel Belvedere. And, as if its location was not idyllic enough, this hotel with its 65-year history of family ownership, has climbed up a few more steps on the stairway to heaven. Since April 2016 this four-star superior accommodation can boast the addition of a new Infinity Pool with spectacular panoramic views that really are in ‘a class of their own’: from the Dolomites high up over the Bozen valley basin to the Mediterranean landscape of the vineyard slopes of the Uberetsch. In the new hotel wing, embedded in the hilltop below the garden, our guests can enjoy the enlarged spa and fitness area as well as the relaxation rooms and a number of delightful new suites. And for those who want to step down from this heavenly paradise and take a breath of city air, there is a cable car link between Jenesien and Bozen, which can take guests down to Bozen or bring them back up again in only eight minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing