We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Experience!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are based in Florence, Italy and as such view this as an easy alternative to Cinque Terre and in particular Monterossa. You can be here two ways easily: Eurostar from CAMPO DI MARTE train station....make sure you say that to the driver and not just the 'train station' which implies the main station Santa Maria Novella and takes 3 l/2 hours and one stop later from Bologna and in that case 3 hours later. You arrive in town and need to take a taxi up here which is 29 euros, but it is your option. There is the cable car but unless you are still in the backpacking days and do not mind walking about 2 km to the car you are obliged to take the taxi. On the other hand if you are with only the backpack, then it is an easy walk from the stop only 5 minutes to the hotel when arriving up there. Now the hotel, it is just wonderful. We are in Room 40l which has a private balcony overlooking the mountains and all of the town of Bolzano/Bozen below. There is virtually no English speaking guests here and really even though we are indeed in Italy....the spoken language is German ...albiet a very soft version of it. They are lovely here, staff, guests, really everyone you encounter are helpful in any way they can. Rooms are spotless, it is the food and not just the quality but the imagination and the traditional version of this area that make it shine. We are on half-board with a wonderful array of things for breakfast and a terrace overlooking the mountains and then the dinner!! Five or Six courses and salad buffet, just anything you could ever want...yet with a slant of this area and not really Italian dishes. There is no air conditioning and in this moment it is warm in the day, but always with a breeze and as soon as the sun drops it is almost cold and you need the duvets that are on each bed. There are walking and nordic tours free of charge and escorted almost every day; there is a spa, library and the prices are more than fair for the quality of what is rendered to each guest. We recommend this highly and it is too often overlooked because people do not know about it. Quiet, peacefulness, trails abound, easily marked, no tour groups of people and do not let the lack of English turn you from visiting, almost everyone speaks enough that it is never a problem. We are already planning another visit in the fall. For variety you can also break the trip into two. A few days up here and then a few days in the centre in Bolzano/Bozen for the wonderful variety of things ongoing down there. Tomorrow begins a jazz festival and the shops and restaurants are outstanding. You will love it here if you give it a try.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the town of Bolzano/Bozen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very nice hotel, rooms were great, beds very comfortable. The view is one of the best in all of europe. Great walk to town, lots of history. Dinner was excellent, prices were reasonable. Service was good, but not real friendly. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent a beautiful weekend at the Hotel Schoenblick Belvedere. It is situated in the little town of San Genesio, about 4 Km above the beautiful city of Bolzano. It is a great location, not just for the view but the amazing access to the city. You can take the little cable car situated only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and it will drop you off right in the city, without worrying about a place to park your car. (If you prefer to drive, the city center is only 10 minutes away.)

The hotel room was nice, with a clean shower and comfortable bed. We highly recommend booking the room facing the valley; ours was facing the entrance to the hotel and the view is not even close to what you have by facing the opposite way.

The hotel breakfast is served on the balcony and everything was really good. It had plenty of fresh squeezed juices, cereal, meats, fruit, tea and coffees. We had the chance to have dinner at the hotel restaurant; everything was really good, even though we found the prices to be a little high. Being situated in a small town with not much to offer, you are obviously drawn to have dinner there, which is what we actually did, two nights in a row. We didn't have the chance to use the hotel pool, the weather was always rainy but we did have a chance to use the hotel sauna and it was a great way to end a busy day visiting Bolzano. All in all, we'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Bolzano.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

What a great place to stay. Top class room, spacious and spotless with an awesome view. Cannot fault the food, ample and delicious. Staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. View from the hotel was fantastic and only a few minutes walk to the cableway to get down to Bolzano/Bozen. Weather did not allow for much exploring, snow everywhere, but still had a great time visiting the area. Thank you to the lovely sisters and staff, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helix139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The views were magnificent, the room was spacious and light, the meals were local Tyrolean and not too heavy and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The large deck and the adjacent bar, with in the background expansive views of the dolomites to the left and the town of Bolzano in the valley below, made an excellent pre-dinner drinks location. The half board option provided substantial buffet style breakfasts and maginficent 3 course dinners.

We felt slightly adventurous being the only native English-speakers at the hotel and again on the walk through Langfenn. But both experiences helped us appreciate the Tyolean culture we had journeyed into from the quintessential Italian culture of Lake Como.

The walk on the Salten Plateau suggested by the Hotel's english speaking hostess was so evocative. A misty morning stroll through the larch forests and farmland brought us to a small Gasthaus next to the church of St Jakob. Another real Tyolean experience - beer and meatballs and warmth.

While Langfenn was above the Hotel, below it accessible by cable car lay Runkelstein Castle on the river Talfer and the beautiful town of Bolzano.

Put all this together and it's no wonder we were very impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongPaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel went way beyond our expectations in beauty, atmosphere, food, and comfort. It has already been said by other reviews about its breath-taking views. I would add a few other experiences that may somewhat be unique. We were fortunate enough to discover a festival in the little village by the hotel in Jenesien. This little village which is about a 1km walk was just a lot of fun. German music, beer, food, and the local people made the evening very special. The staff, which was excellent by the way, pointed us to a wonderful hike in Alpe di Susi, about 45 minute drive from the hotel. What a place! I can only imagine what the skiing is like! I can only hope someday to return this hotel. For our first trip to Europe, our 3 days and 2 nights here will be remembered as the highlight of our trip. Bolzano can be very hot in the summer, but the elevation of this hotel is a nice getaway from the heat. Hotel staff.... "very well done, and good to see hard work pay off!".

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haymor_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The warm welcome from one of the sisters made our stay so guideful and full of ideas. The hotel is located on the top hill with a view on Bolzano, and is so easy in getting there, even with the shuttle of the hotel (for small amount). The great value for a comfi room, a very nice view, a good healthy breakfast buffet and a relaxing and good evening dinner... and not to forget the wellness between 3 and 7pm. Some of the renovated rooms had a wooden floor, still i like more a nice carpet which is more hotel like but it needs a daily cleaning and a good quality carpet. The alpina hotel had lots of enjoying sportive propositions. We enjoyed nice bikerides to the "Kaltersee" between the vineyards ... amaizing ! so good ! and the top of the bill was the guided tour of the youngest sister and "opa" in the mountains from 4am to see the sunrise in the snowy mountains. Wonderful feeling... and it was more than a "Spaziergang" ... a real pleasure and a good breakfast in the wooden "hut" around 8am. We will definitely come back, and maybe we can welcome you meanwhile in our B&B in Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Genesio Atesino
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
2 mi away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#6 of 26 in Bolzano
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landgasthof zum Hirschen
Landgasthof zum Hirschen
#2 of 5 in San Genesio Atesino
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Konig Laurin
Hotel Konig Laurin
#3 of 5 in San Genesio Atesino
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Localita Pichl 15, 39050 San Genesio Atesino, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Genesio Atesino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Genesio Atesino
Price Range: $200 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jenesien – doesn’t the mere name of this place have a fairy-tale sound to it, far away from everyday stress, and all the things you should or have to do? Up here, in the dreamy mountain village on the edge of the porphyritic rock plateau lies Hotel Belvedere. And, as if its location was not idyllic enough, this hotel with its 65-year history of family ownership, has climbed up a few more steps on the stairway to heaven. Since April 2016 this four-star superior accommodation can boast the addition of a new Infinity Pool with spectacular panoramic views that really are in ‘a class of their own’: from the Dolomites high up over the Bozen valley basin to the Mediterranean landscape of the vineyard slopes of the Uberetsch. In the new hotel wing, embedded in the hilltop below the garden, our guests can enjoy the enlarged spa and fitness area as well as the relaxation rooms and a number of delightful new suites. And for those who want to step down from this heavenly paradise and take a breath of city air, there is a cable car link between Jenesien and Bozen, which can take guests down to Bozen or bring them back up again in only eight minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing