We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel Gruner Baum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gruner Baum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glorenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Just spent a night there and that place...well I love it.
Location is in the main square of the small beautiful village.
The building is ancient but 21st century renewed with wood/glass basis.
Rooms are very clean and warm, space with beautiful furniture and big complete bathroom.
Ask for dinner there...12 euros for complete meal and you can ask for additional meals!
Breakfast is delicious and quantity are generous.
Do not miss absolutely...romantic and charming...with super friendly staff!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gruner Baum
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

The hotel Gruner Baum is situated in the heart of Glurns overlooking the central square. The hotel is tastefully furbished, clean and the rooms are spacious. The service is friendly and efficient and the location is superb. To top it the restaurant also had excellent food and wine. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

A great little hotel that is the centre of what must be the social activity of the Tyrol. Always busy with people travelling to eat and drink in the restaurant, providing a good atmosphere to relax in. Rooms are 'designer' and of high quality, but the bathrooms are not fully screened from the room....so know your partner well!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thissystemisapain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

I have stayed here frequently over the past few years, most recently at the beginning of Feb 08. I was compelled to write an updated review because i noticed a terrible review which has the complete opposite feedback to me. Obviously, the visitors who didn't enjoy there stay are welcome to their view. I know this region very well and have stayed in many hotels in the region (and generally!) - i typically stay in the best of hotels. The Gruner Baum is a wonderful place. It is a fabulous style - combining the traditional aspects of the stunning building with a very contemporary and clean refurbishment. Rooms are bright, clean and modern - all different which is great for a frequent visitor. the hotel has a restaurant upstairs for guests only - this is a fixed menu restaurant, typically 4 courses with a choice for the main course - the owner is always happy to do you something different (like my favourite, wiener schnitzel!) if you don't like the choice. the food is fantastic, both quality and value. the spinach gnocchi is fabulous as is the fresh trout - i have eaten here so many times and with consistently high quality i find critiscms hard to understand. there is also a small "library" area where you can have an apertif before dinner. downstairs in the public area is a bar, restaurant and kids ice cream palour - i have actually had the owner kindly open the ice cream palour just for us! the bar is typical local style and the public restaurant has a full al a carte menu. breakfast is the usual bread, yoghurts etc but there are always fresh eggs and ham/cheese on offer. the hotel is in the town square of this small walled "city". it is a busy little town but this is local life, not tourist traffic. this area has real life, it has a community not just a tourist/holiday set. the owner is charming and always happy to help. me, my friends and my family will continue to use this hotel as our base in the region - i cannot recommend it highly enough!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed in this hotel in September 2007 and the room was spacious and very modern and clean. However the manager was not very friendly or helpful. We had 3 hangers in the wardrobe - is that enough for anyone, and had to ask for extra ones. The town is very pretty but noisy and busy as traffic is allowed through the narrow streets, and you get cars and big tourist buses all day long. The hotel is on the main street through the town so you get a lot of noise and you have to keep the windows closed. The hotel is supposed to have air conditioning, but we couldn't get it to work at all during out stay. The main problem with staying at Glorenza and why we would never stay there again is the food at the hotel was dire, absolutely awful and very poor value. Do not eat at the hotel it is expensive and rubbish. After trying one evening meal at the hotel and leaving it, it was disgusting, the next night we decided to try to eat in a restaurant in Glorenza, but there aren't any! We were astounded that such a pretty tourist town has nowhere to eat! In the end we ate out in a strange little eaterie full of people from the hotel who were also trying to find somewhere, anywhere else to eat apart from the hotel! It had local colour that's for sure, with local men in their work clothes (farmers?) drinking and having a great time at the bar. The food was very basic - steak and chips/ lots of plain stews, and very good value, but don't dress up - dress down if anything, and don't expect great food. Overall I would definately visit Glorenza but don't stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daisy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank angel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glorenza
1.0 mi away
Bio Hotel Panorama
Bio Hotel Panorama
#6 of 12 in Malles Venosta
57 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Traube
Hotel Restaurant Traube
#2 of 4 in Stelvio
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Garden Park Hotel
Garden Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Prato allo Stelvio
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Alte Muhle
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#4 of 12 in Malles Venosta
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Saldur Small Active Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruner Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruner Baum

Address: Stadtplatz 7, 39020 Glorenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Glorenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glorenza
Price Range: $123 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gruner Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing