We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Toucan Cafe Bistro

Toucan Cafe Bistro
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Bampton
Price range: $3 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at the Toucan, a cosy Cafe with a true sense of tradition. We work hard to offer a selection of homemade food and snacks, incorporating local produce where we can so that you get a true flavour of our beautiful surrounding countryside.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here many times but have never reviewed Toucan's before. Every meal eaten here has been great, freshly cooked with local ingredients where possible. The service is always efficient and friendly. The prices are very reasonable. Make sure you book if you want to go in the evening especially if you want to go to one of their themed evenings.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely homely cooking”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed two specials from the lunchtime menu, a chicken & bacon casserole and a pork in mushroom sauce, which were both very tasty and could be described as lovely, homely cooking. There was no children's menu but they kindly adapted a gammon dish for our 3 year old by replacing the gammon with some ham and reducing the size of the portion so we cannot fault the service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TELFORD SHROPSHIRE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lifesaver!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just completed a cycle tour from Lands End to John O'Groats - 909 miles over 9 days . One of the hardest days due to the never-ending hills was our 2nd day in Devon . We were running later than usual for our much needed afternoon stop for tea and cakes and the lovely owners of this delightful cafe stayed open for the team. They then managed to satisfy 11 hungry cyclists with delicious homemade cakes,scones and jam and very good quality coffees and teas.Would definitely recommend this place . Thanks again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samemma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We've only tried this place for lunch to date, but were glad we did; the food is so good.....all home made ......and the lunch specials were excellently tasty. One of the best things about this place is the consistently friendly welcome and the genuine wish to please the customer. Prices are good value, and having just visited today...a drizzly Tuesday.....at least 5 tables were occupied in an otherwise very quiet Bampton. Folk obviously know about, and value this place.
Bampton also boasts a brilliant bakery, and a wonderful old fashioned butchers, so it all makes for an excellent couple of hours if you are ever free, and are wanting something which will not disappoint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosieaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Popped in for coffee and sampled the apricot flapjack which was delicious made by Julie I think.
We will return. Lovely ambience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Toucan Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing