We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Toucan Cafe Bistro

Toucan Cafe Bistro
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Bampton
Price range: $3 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at the Toucan, a cosy Cafe with a true sense of tradition. We work hard to offer a selection of homemade food and snacks, incorporating local produce where we can so that you get a true flavour of our beautiful surrounding countryside.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Friendly staff and locals; good food; quirky and relaxed atmosphere. We only stopped for a light lunch passing through the area and hadn't previously known the town or the cafe. But a very pleasant and serendipitous find!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have visited Toucan on several occasions and each time it is a delight. Whether you fancy tea or coffee, scones or tea cake, the experience is brill. I do like the jams.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a very friendly welcome, the proprietor couldn't do enough for us, the sticky toffee pudding was the best ever. (I am an expert).The rest of the meal and wine was brilliant too, and all reasonably priced. I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheddar and Ham Toastie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Yum - very nice with a greek side salad for lunch. Nice locals to chat too and they didn't mind the fact that I rocked up in wellies.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ika_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Somerset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best cafe/bistro for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Toucan offers superb lunches at very reasonable prices. The cooking is incredibly good and the whole atmosphere is great. They also open for special occasions some evenings and the dinners are absolutely delicious. For good food and ambience you can't do better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterWestSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Toucan Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing