We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly pub, good food and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Quarrymans Rest
Ranked #6 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
Faro, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub, good food and accommodation”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great atmosphere, lovely food and location, and very good value. The owners are very accommodating and helpful - and very dog friendly, really enjoyed my stay even though it was only one night, shame I don't live closer, it would be a great 'local'

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

went in tonight, really busy with Christmas "do's" but owner still had time for a chat, interested in genuine feedback and was eager to explain what he is trying to achieve. His enthusiasm and passion shines through, the food was excellent despite the pressure on the kitchen, service seemed slow at times but then you realised that many items on the menu had been cooked from scratch not zapped in a microwave. The atmosphere was bubbly but not excessive. Really hope that this becomes one of the most successful pubs in the area as it deserves to be. Ignore any negative comments that are older than 8 weeks as I believe this is when the current owners took over

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarianpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been using the Quarrymans for a few years now and very pleased with the new owners, they took ownership 6 weeks ago, and turned it back to a great traditional pub. Bampton has been wanting this for a while, it now has a fantastic welcoming environment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were inbrampton seeing old friends and booked at the quarymans rest. We were unsure from a couple of recent reviews but believe it is not under new ownership. We had a 2 night stay, the room was clean and very comfortable. Food was good and worth a visit purely for the sunday roast!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Been meaning to go here since the new management took over and glad we did.
Massive plate full of meat and potatoes along with large side dishes with vegetables and cauliflower cheese. Delicious too.

We also opted for dessert- huge I mean huge desserts these are, homemade and delicious.

Three ales when we visited, tried two, very good indeed.

Music on but not too loud, and after all that grub a welcome seat in the sofa was bliss.

Will visit again, would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stereoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed locally to Bampton whilst on holiday for a week during mid July.We are not strangers to the area as we have spent previous holidays locally and have now dined at the Quarrymans both under previous management and current management. My wife and I dined twice at the Quarrymans Rest during the week and found the new owner friendly as were the staff, the food was very good, served in good time and great value for money. It was hard not to draw comparisons between past and present but under the new management it fared extremely well.The locals made us welcome so the overall memory is one of an excellent hostelry with good food and we will be sure to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for dinner on Saturday night for dinner. The bar was busy with local people but they made room for us at the bar and we had an enjoyable per-dinner drink. The bar staff were very friendly and looked after us well. Dinner was served shortly afterwards. Great waitress made us feel very welcome. We all enjoyed our meals with the curry and the lamb cutlets getting top marks. In addition they had a live entertainment which was an additional bonus and finished off the evening very well. Overall, a super Saturday night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
0.2 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 8 in Bampton
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#2 of 8 in Bampton
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#4 of 8 in Bampton
38 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterrow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarrymans Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarrymans Rest

Property: The Quarrymans Rest
Address: Briton Street | Bampton, Bampton EX16 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Quarryman's Rest - Pub Restaurant and Bed & Breakfast Our 250 year old pub offers a warm and friendly welcome to all in the lovely historic village of Bampton in Devon, surrounded by beautiful countryside and just 6 miles from Exmoor. The Quarryman's Rest is waiting for you every day, to enjoy the West Country hospitality. We are proud of our delicious freshly-prepared meals and the high standard of our B&B accommodation. Pay us a visit, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Quarrymans Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarrymans Rest Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing