We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch in a pretty village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Quarrymans Rest
Ranked #6 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
dorset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch in a pretty village”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Over an hours drive for us from where we were staying in Ilfracombe but we met friends there and it was worth the journey.
Atmosphere is friendly, beer/cider/wine/coffee excellent and the carvery was superb. I don't eat much meat but it looked so good I tried some and the beef was melt in the mouth, all four of us cleared our plates and would have liked room for pudding after seeing what other diners were served but we just too full up.
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormdancer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

For last umpteen years we have been meaning to try the Quarrymans. There is no particular reason why we didn't, it just didn't happen.
However, for the last 6years we have lived only 14 miles away and as it was our wedding anniversary we decided to take the dog for a long walk and complement this with a lunch at the Quarrymans. We are so pleased we did. The place was comfortable, clean and very peaceful. We had booked in advance and were shown our table with a smile - but decided to sit outside first in the small garden. It was no problem for the waiting staff, they were extremely accommodating.
The food was delightful and beautifully presented. We both had starters which were very tasty and the fish and chips were absolutely lovely. The desserts were so good they were sinful!!!
The beer was well kept and the glass of fizz was very nice indeed.
What more can I say? Visit this pub if you are in the area, Bampton is also very pretty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Me,my wife and brother and sister-in-law visited the Quarrymans Rest for a meal on the first night of our stay in Devon. The food was top class, so much so that we returned for our last night. The service is efficient and friendly and atmosphere relaxed. The portions are generous and quality of the food excellent. All four of us were in agreement that the experience was far superior to many 'city' restaurants that seem to believe in their own hype and put style over substance. Just wish it wasn't a 3/4 hour drive away otherwise we'd be their all the time!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Percy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South West
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Joined some friends to have a meal at the Quarrymans and must say that the menu choice, service and food was very good indeed, certainly worth seeking out if staying in the area. The decor of the pub has lots of character and the range of beers were excellent. We ate in the main bar area out of choice but more formal dining was available in adjacent room. Would certainly eat there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and should have made it more. Very attentive staff, even on a busy Saturday night and good choices on the menu. Food presentation superb, too. As far as the room goes, a large double with an equally large bath and shower room, plenty of everything in the room plus a fridge stuffed with extras if you wanted them. We will be back to this lovely unpoilt part of Devon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Unassuming from the outside, but the staff were very welcoming, excellent menus, totally delicious food (even the fancy scotch egg bar snack was yummy). Not one thing could be improved from our visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoveRhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to 'find a room at the Inn' and I can honestly say we had a fabulous stay and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The room was amazing and the breakfast superb. I would also like to mention that all of the staff were more than friendly and very helpful regarding everything.
Such an interesting pub and even the locals were welcoming which is no always found!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
0.2 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 8 in Bampton
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#2 of 8 in Bampton
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#4 of 8 in Bampton
38 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterrow
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarrymans Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarrymans Rest

Property: The Quarrymans Rest
Address: Briton Street | Bampton, Bampton EX16 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Quarryman's Rest - Pub Restaurant and Bed & Breakfast Our 250 year old pub offers a warm and friendly welcome to all in the lovely historic village of Bampton in Devon, surrounded by beautiful countryside and just 6 miles from Exmoor. The Quarryman's Rest is waiting for you every day, to enjoy the West Country hospitality. We are proud of our delicious freshly-prepared meals and the high standard of our B&B accommodation. Pay us a visit, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Quarrymans Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarrymans Rest Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing