We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Quarrymans Rest
Ranked #6 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
Sunny South West
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Joined some friends to have a meal at the Quarrymans and must say that the menu choice, service and food was very good indeed, certainly worth seeking out if staying in the area. The decor of the pub has lots of character and the range of beers were excellent. We ate in the main bar area out of choice but more formal dining was available in adjacent room. Would certainly eat there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south coast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and should have made it more. Very attentive staff, even on a busy Saturday night and good choices on the menu. Food presentation superb, too. As far as the room goes, a large double with an equally large bath and shower room, plenty of everything in the room plus a fridge stuffed with extras if you wanted them. We will be back to this lovely unpoilt part of Devon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Unassuming from the outside, but the staff were very welcoming, excellent menus, totally delicious food (even the fancy scotch egg bar snack was yummy). Not one thing could be improved from our visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LoveRhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to 'find a room at the Inn' and I can honestly say we had a fabulous stay and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The room was amazing and the breakfast superb. I would also like to mention that all of the staff were more than friendly and very helpful regarding everything.
Such an interesting pub and even the locals were welcoming which is no always found!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I just had a lovely nights stay at The Quarrymans Rest - the food was just brilliant - Donna needs to be on Masterchef as her fishcakes were delicious! Very comfortable bed and the room was lovely. I stayed over for work on my own and they were really friendly and made me feel really welcome. My breakfast was really fantastic - proper food done well - and it really felt that it had been made with love and attention which makes it all the better. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stook_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had long been aware of the Quarryman's reputation for wonderful food and finally managed to get there for a mid-week lunch. The food was, quite simply, excellent - the slow-roasted pork was in a class of its own. The service was friendly and attentive and, together with the wonderful food, contributed to a memorable lunch experience. We will definitely be visiting again and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Quarryman's. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the Quarrymans over the weekend of 22 October 2011 when attending a wedding at nearby Huntsham Hall. Food was excellent and breakfast is a legend all of its own. Donna didn't bat an eyelid when a New Zealander we had only met the night before tipped up to watch the Rugby World Cup Final (no TV signal at the Hall!) and supplied him and his girlfriend with a full breakfast. Bedroom extremely comfortable and you could just about play a game of squash in the bathroom!
Thank you so much for making us so welcome and giving us a really enjoyable weekend.
Like General Macarthur, we shall return

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheQuarrymansRest, Owner at The Quarrymans Rest, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for kind words on tripadvisor . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
4.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waggoner
The Waggoner
#7 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#2 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#5 of 8 in Bampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarrymans Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarrymans Rest

Property: The Quarrymans Rest
Address: Briton Street | Bampton, Bampton EX16 9LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Quarryman's Rest - Pub Restaurant and Bed & Breakfast Our 250 year old pub offers a warm and friendly welcome to all in the lovely historic village of Bampton in Devon, surrounded by beautiful countryside and just 6 miles from Exmoor. The Quarryman's Rest is waiting for you every day, to enjoy the West Country hospitality. We are proud of our delicious freshly-prepared meals and the high standard of our B&B accommodation. Pay us a visit, you will be glad you did! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Quarrymans Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarrymans Rest Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing