We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of The Bark House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bark House
Ranked #2 of 8 Bampton B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent two nights here in July 2014 and were impressed with everything - the friendly welcome, the excellent walking tips and the fantastic breakfast. There are so many lovely spots in this part of Devon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegreenpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    20
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
122
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose The Bark House as place to stay as we were given a voucher as a Christmas present and we were not disappointed at all. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived and were given a hand with our luggage when we arrived. It was very easy to find and was in a stunning location. Very big car park, the room was really nice and had en suite bathroom, a TV, a tray with a good supply of mix of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms had just enough furniture in it, not so that it was overcrowded. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic and did a lovely mix of cereal and cooked breakfast that lasted you all day. We had trouble with the TV and we had it replaced straight away without any questions. I could not fault the hosts at all. They even booked us in for the 2nd night that we had on our voucher without any question and at such short notice. Although it was next to a main road and had traffic travelling down it all day, you didn't notice the traffic at all at night, even with the windows open. The view we had from the bedroom window was really lovely and was so fitting for the place we were staying. Looking forward o going back again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome and wonderful hospitality. We had afternoon tea and delicious cake in the orchard and a beautiful walk in the riverside meadows. Very comfortable room and plentiful full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We revisited for my birthday having had such a great time last year. We were greeted like old friends.

Once again Martin and Mel have excelled. The welcome, the food and the service. This place really is a hidden gem and should be you hotel of choice in Devon.

If you are foodies then stay in the Bark House for dinner, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room 1 at the side of the house with the window seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Herts. England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have just had a couple of nights staying in this quiet relaxing guest house. Very small and friendly this is an ideal place for a long weekend and there is no need to eat out the restaurant serves absolutely excellent food cooked to perfection well worth a visit and the wines are all good quality. We will return I am sure for another enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Only has a handful of rooms and they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 11-13 April 2014. Yet again an excellent welcome from Mel and Martin and we put in to room 6, which we haven't used before, and found it to be very spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean.
We bring our dogs here as a treat for them and they are made equally welcome but you would never know dogs have stayed as the carpets don't have a trace of hair etc. The field opposite is an excellent area for them to run around in and explore and even jump in to the river. It's only a relatively short drive to the coast, north or south, to visit the beaches and more exploration.
Breakfast here is excellent, local produce and cooked to perfection.
I would certainly recommend Bark House as a base to see what Devon and Somerset have to offer.

Room Tip: Room 6 - Spacious but only has a bath. Room 1 - Smaller but does have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamford69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at this b&b in April and had a really lovely stay. Our two dogs were welcome and also enjoyed being away with us. The room was quirky and very clean. The bed was very comfy and the food was to die for. Martin and Mel couldn't have been more friendly but knew when to give you space as well. Breakfast was served with local bacon and sausages. Toast with homemade marmalade and the prefect start to any day. Evening meals used local ingredients and filled the place with lovely smells to tempt you. We would certainly visit again without any hesitation.

Corinne and Neil Simpson

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 680CORINNE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
23.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
19.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
5.0 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tiverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
The Anchor Inn, Exebridge
#6 of 17 in Dulverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bark House

Property: The Bark House
Address: Oakfordbridge, Bampton EX16 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bark House Hotel Bampton
The Bark House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing