We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely :)”
Review of The Bark House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bark House
Ranked #2 of 10 Bampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A perfect place for a quiet get away :) dinner superb! Breakfast amazing! It has a very homely atmosphere. The only thing I can say is that our TV is too small but I guess you really don't go there to just watch telly. Martin and Melanie are really friendly :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pina1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 188 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends. It was lovely and clean, warm and welcoming. Just across from the Bark House is a lovely orchard and a huge field which backs onto a Weir. The hosts were super-friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawumpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just come back from a 2 night stay here which was booked last minute. I won't go into great detail as it has all been said on previous reviews and we agree with most of this, good breakfast, nice room and lots of advice willingly given on local walks. The downside for us was not having a proper shower in the room, just one over the bath but as there is no shower curtain it is difficult not to get the floor very wet! Also, we had a packed lunch to take on our walk which I felt was overpriced at £7 each, this only contained a cheese sandwich, flapjack and an apple with a small bottle of mineral water. Other than that we did enjoy our brief stay and it is in a great location for walkers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked a night at the Bark house via laterooms.com and did not read any reviews as we were arriving late and leaving early I wasn't that fussed about where we stayed, however it was a wonderful surprise to arrive at the Bark house . Our room ( room no 1) was delightful and even had a window seat. Once we had dropped our bag we were invited to the lounge for a cup of tea which was served with a lovely slice of homemade cake . We had not booked for dinner so went out . We had a lovely nights sleep and breakfast was all locally sourced and tasty. Overall it was a lovely stay and I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samwadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April as we were on a long walking weekend celebrate my birthday.
The Bark House is quintessentially a small English hotel from a bygone era and the service and welcome you get reflects that. It is excellently located for exploring the beautiful Exmoor/mid Devon countryside. We did a walk directly from the Bark House no car required. Martin and Mel are walkers themselves so are a mind of information on the local area.
The Bark House has been fully refurbished downstairs after terrible flooding in December last year and the owners have worked hard at getting their business back on track.
We had room 1 Double bedroom with ensuite shower room - very clean, nice room with a window seat and a view to die for!!!!!
On arrival we were served tea and homemade ginger shortbread biscuits in the lounge which was a very nice touch.
We ate at the hotel on the night of my birthday. As others have said before, I would highly recommend the evening meal perfectly cooked and presented and couldn't fault any of it. The wine list is also quire extensive for a hotel of this size. The restaurant is also open to non guest and we met some interesting local characters during our stay.
The breakfasts was also excellent - plenty of choice and a wonderfully cooked breakfast of your choice.
Martin and Mel are very friendly and the hotel is dog friendly which is a bonus for lots of people. We do not have a dog and did not feel that our experience at the hotel was anyway impaired by the fact that there were a couple of dogs around.
This is a wonderful hidden gem in the Devonshire countryside and I would highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of taking a trip to Devon.

Room Tip: Room one has excellent views. if you choose not to eat at the hotel try The Swan in Bampton, most e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBondSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April.
The Bark House is in an excellent location just outside Bampton. It is in an ideal position for exploring the beautiful Exmoor countryside on foot, or cycle, and is also within driving distance of the North Devon coast.
The Bark House is a really attractive building, with the advantage of being fully refurbished downstairs after terrible flooding at Christmas (at least some good came of a terrible situation).
We were met at the car by Martin, who took our bags to our room. Double bedroom with ensuite shower room - very clean, nice room.
We were served tea and homemade biscuits in the lounge which was a very nice touch.
Friday evening we ate at the hotel. I would highly recommend the evening meal. You do need to book in advance as Martin gets all the food in fresh (which shows). I have to say that we both felt it was the best meal out we had eaten in a very long time - perfectly cooked and presented with wonderful flavours - couldn't fault any of it.
The breakfasts too were excellent - plenty of cereal/yoghurts/fresh fruit, and a beautifully cooked breakfast of your choice.
This hotel really does tick all the boxes - Martin and Mel are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, it has a lovely atmosphere with an open lounge where you can meet other guests and superb food. Add this to a stunning location in the heart of Devon and you can see why this is our second visit!
Really would highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of taking a trip to Devon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed before for a weekend break, but, to partly celebrate our early retirement, this time we came for a 3 night midweek stay. Having said goodbye to a car, we put our bikes on the train at Plymouth and cycled here from Tiverton Parkway station, along quiet country lanes - took just over 1 hour of gentle cycling. We'd managed to pick a week when Mel was away, but on arrival Martin greeted us and carried our panniers up to our room (nr 1), and leaving our bikes secure and dry in a utility area, we embarked on a wonderfully relaxing stay with great food throughout. Afternoon tea and cake in front of the fire was just what was required -the same applied on each day of our stay as we explored the beautiful Exmoor countryside by bike on dry but cold days.
The three course dinner was excellent value on each night, with a different choice of menu on each day, all home cooked to perfection. The wine list was varied and sensibly priced, and Martin managed to make us feel special each day, despite a number of other guests and a party of 6 for supper on one evening.
A hearty start to each day came courtesy of a choice of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast, and this meant we could cycle all day with only a coffee stop during our travels. Travelling by bike was very enjoyable, and having done other cycling holidays over a longer period, The Bark House was up there with the best in terms of hospitality, quality of food and value for money.
We can't wait to find another excuse to come and stay in 2013 - by bike of course !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bampton
19.1 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
650 reviews
23.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 10 in Bampton
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Quarrymans Rest
The Quarrymans Rest
#6 of 10 in Bampton
92 reviews
14.2 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#5 of 10 in Bampton
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bark House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bark House

Address: Oakfordbridge, Bampton EX16 9HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range: $108 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bark House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bark House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bark House Hotel Bampton
The Bark House Bampton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing